We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Italian Villa in the South of France”
Review of La Locandiera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Locandiera
Ranked #3 of 11 Cagnes-sur-Mer B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We spent a wonderful weekend in this Charming Villa. The rooms are beautifully appointed with all the details only a woman would think of. Daneila the owner is gracious and kind and we loved the dog Irma! Breakfast is much better than most hotels - fresh squeezed OJ, fresh croissants, yogurt, fruit and great coffee. If you are lucky you can get a little Italian Music in the background. The rooms upstairs overlook a charming seaport and you are just minutes from a selection of great restaurants and beach spots. After 12 years of summer weekends in Nice, we are now going back to Cagnes sur Mer and to La Locandiera. Can't wait til next summer.

Room Tip: The room downstairs is large and has the best bathroom and opens to the garden but a little noisy in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

Just back from 4 nights at this beautiful villa celebrating my sister's 60th birthday staying in the gorgeous Mare room with its balcony and panoramic views, and lovely large bathroom. Daniela is the perfect hostess, she opens up her beautiful home and makes it such a relaxing place to stay. Beautiful breakfasts on the veranda, and Daniela bakes her own Croissants and jams - delicious. Perfect location to explore the area by bus or train, it was so easy to visit Monaco, Villefranche, Nice, Cannes and Antibes. Cagnes-sur-Mer is an unspoilt oasis with many restaurants within easy reach - it does have a pebble beach so beach shoes recommended - but it would be hard to find a nicer place to stay on the Cote d'Azur. We had a memorable stay at the La Locandiera and would highly recommend to anyone. Daniela is a special lady and she was even kind enough to take me to the airport! I cannot wait to return with my husband next year. Thank you Daniela for making my sister's birthday so memorable.

Room Tip: Mare room with its balcony is worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Burkett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We where there for 5 nights 3 couples for R&R and touring the area, and it was just great, Daniela the owner was more then friendly, she was welcoming and helpful in every question and request that we had. And the location is super perfect, ill recommend this place to all my friends who travel to this area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mosaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We spent two nights with Daniela at La Locandiera the first week of July. My husband and I stayed in the Mare and our three daughters were downstairs in the Eucalipto. We had read all of the wonderful reviews before booking so my expectations were high and I will say that we were not disappointed in any way! Daniela is warm and welcoming, the perfect hostess. She is there if you need her but certainly doesn't intrude on your space and time in any way. Her home is lovely with everything very clean and nicely decorated. Our room, the Mare was fantastic with the large terrace overlooking the small fishing harbor and the ocean. I couldn't stop taking photos! The beds and bathrooms were perfectly outfitted and we did not want for anything at all. The girls were also quite comfortable with a large double bed and a rolling bed that could be stored during the day. Their room opened right onto a downstairs patio and terrace. A delicious breakfast with fresh squeezed orange juice was served on the lovely terrace each morning. Our meal at La Bourride,the restaurant right down from the hotel was outstanding with personalized service from the owner and his son. The beach is a two minute walk and there are shops and restaurants all within walking distance of the hotel which is perfectly located. There are many excursions you can do from this area and we could have probably stayed for a couple of weeks enjoying Cannes, Nice, nearby castles, villages and museums, but our time was short so we mainly just enjoyed la Locandiera and the area nearby. We hope to return someday and spend more time exploring this beautiful area of France!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SusanTravels_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We have just arrived back from 4 nights at la locandiera. It was fantastic our room was amazing, breakfast was perfect sitting outside in the warm sun, it was as good as all the reviews say. We are already trying to arrange dates to go back again as soon as possible. What a lovely lady, so helpful, and how beautiful she has made the place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minniejayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We spent a lovely 4 nights at this fantastic B & B on the French Riviera only about 10 minutes by train from Nice. We knew we were on to a good thing from Daniela's great welcome and our room was delightful looking out over the little fishing harbour in this pleasant town. Breakfast was an absolute delight on the beautiful terrace, very relaxing!
Unfortunately the weather changed after a couple of days and it was cold and rainy, unheard of in the south of France in May. On the day we left, it was pouring with rain and Daniela very kindly gave us a lift to the station. She is a lovely hostess and her house is great! Would definitely highly recommend this B & B.
Just a warning - don't be sucked into buying a 10 journey bus pass recommended by the tourist bureau which is meant to be cheaper - we were only able to use this once, every other bus driver refused to let us use it!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013 via mobile

Daniela is so gracious and lovely and her home is too. Some B&Bs are businesses but this is her lovely home and she is veery present to help and chat if you want to. We loved the location, right on the fishing harboe and beach and quiet, good for long walks but a short hop by car or train or bus to Nice, Cannes, Antibes etc etc. Breakfast is plentiful with fresh orange juice etc etc. Rooms are very comfortable with tea trays and small refrig. Excellent restaurant next door, La Bourride - we went twice as it waas so good. We decided to bring in pizza one night along with some other guests and Daniela set the table beautifully with fresh linens. Beautiful property and lovely Daniea. Highly recommended! Great value too!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oli h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cagnes-sur-Mer hotels
0.6 mi away
La Villa des Oliviers
La Villa des Oliviers
#6 of 15 in Cagnes-sur-Mer
127 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Chantilly
Le Chantilly
#3 of 15 in Cagnes-sur-Mer
319 reviews
1.5 mi away
Chateau Le Cagnard
Chateau Le Cagnard
#2 of 15 in Cagnes-sur-Mer
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nemea Residence Le Lido
Nemea Residence Le Lido
#12 of 15 in Cagnes-sur-Mer
280 reviews
0.9 mi away
Motel Ascot
Motel Ascot
#9 of 11 in Cagnes-sur-Mer
8 reviews
2.1 mi away
Villa Antoline
Villa Antoline
#1 of 11 in Cagnes-sur-Mer
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Locandiera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Locandiera

Address: 9 rue Capitaine de Fregate H Vial, 06800 Cagnes-sur-Mer, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cagnes-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Cagnes-sur-Mer
Price Range: £81 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com and HotelsClick so you can book your La Locandiera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing