We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (442)
Filter reviews
442 results
Traveller rating
299
90
37
7
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
299
90
37
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnarrow streetsjunior suitemedieval villagehaut de cagnesbeautiful roombeautiful hotelfairy talethe hotel staffstunning viewsmobility issuessmall carsrestaurant terraceold world charmpicasso suitenespresso machinelower townloved this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 442 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2017

We spent a week at this charming yet luxurious hotel in September. Our room was Mosse which is reached by its own private stairway. Great sized room with balcony affording both mountain and sea views. Cagnes Sur Mer is ideally placed for exploring the surrounding areas, St. Paul de Vence by bus and Cannes, Antibes and Monaco on the very efficient train system. Extremely friendly and efficient staff in all areas and having the shuttle car was a real bonus for being picked up and taken to the station. Beautiful medieval surroundings. Would definitely go back

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank davis94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017

We stayed for five nights in this charming hotel set in the narrow cobbled streets of Haut Cagnes.
The staff were very pleasant and nothing too much trouble. Our accomodation was first class, we had read how comfortable the beds were, and yes, they were dreamy! Everything was just as promised but nothing prepared us for the splendid building itself. Despite it being November we were able to breakfast out on the terrace with spectacular views. In the summer the highly decorated ceiling of the dining room opens up...this was very kindly demonstrated. As the streets are so narrow it is not advisable to drive to the door of the hotel, one is requested to phone reception once we had parked our hire car. We did just that an in minutes a delightful driver arrived to scoop us and our luggage up and drive us up the hill. We found we enjoyed the stroll to the car when we wanted to explore. However, if that is not for you then there is the free shuttle bus that runs every fifteen minutes.

Dining in the hotel is a gastronomic feast but there are several eateries in the square just above the hotel and hundreds in Cagnes sur Mer offering more simple fare.

It was so peaceful too, which we loved, the hotel being far removed from the hustle and bustle of the lower town. We very much hope to return, it is such an easy escape being about fifteen minutes from Nice Airport.

Room Tip: The website did not allow me to rate cleanliness etc...EVERYTHING was of the highest standard.
Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017

We were impressed with our Junior Suite (Fujita) and the helpful friendly staff, including Stephane who meets clients at the nearest car park to ferry them (quite fast!) back to the hotel. The restaurant is also worth a visit to enjoy the splendid views and cuisine in a genuine and unspoilt medieval village perched on the hilltop (near the Grimaldi Castle).

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

We booked the 4 nights for 3 deal and were frankly disappointed in the room which bore no relation to the pictures and promises on the website . In hindsight we should have reacted to the quizzical look and question “ is this room ok “ and said no. A relatively quiet hotel but with awful pillows and an odd smell . Not a patch on Château Eza . Do not go if you don’t like walking ! The high point ? Stefan the driver .The low point ? The restaurant .

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clément L, Responsable réception at Chateau Le Cagnard, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Dear Mr Richard,
we want to thank you first for your feedbacks regarding your stay in Château Le Cagnard****.
The hotel has 28 rooms and every single one is a different one regarding the size, the disposal and the views available from there. We do regret that you didn't appreciate the one that you had during your stay. However we would have been very pleased to provide you a different one, that would have more respect your expectations.
As compared with the Château Eza, the Château Le Cagnard**** has a lot of similitude, from the medieval location to the unique atmosphere in that one. The Haut de Cagnes area is also a very central one if you want to discover all the nice places around like Antibes, Saint-Paul de Vence, Tourettes sur loup, Nice, Monaco or Cannes...
We would be very honnoured to welcome you back and make your stay and your restaurant experience as special as it should be in Château Le Cagnard****.
Best regards,
LESUR Clément

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017

One night stay in a suite with family. Fantastic view from the suite terrace. Decoration and ambience was great throughout the hotel. Service was 1st class. Dinner in the evening overlooking the coast and the ocean. Everything at this hotel is high class, but there is no swimming pool! Location is fantastic in the centre of the medieval old town. Be sure to make a walk there and have a drink or meal at the lovely city square. If you arrive by car be aware that access is really tight! You will get into serious trouble with anything larger than a small car!

Room Tip: a suite with a terrace is recommended
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N0ggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews