We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (451)
Filter reviews
451 results
Traveller rating
306
92
37
7
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
306
92
37
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews junior suite narrow streets medieval village haut de cagnes beautiful room the hotel staff beautiful hotel stunning views mobility issues small cars double shower old world charm picasso suite hotel restaurant lower town runs every minutes loved this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 451 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2018 via mobile

Château was stunning and in a lovely location, our suite was spotlessly clean and breakfast was gorgeous and plenty of choice. The staff on arrival however appeared very disinterested in us and having made a point of sending an email to ask us what time we would be arriving and offering to collect us from the train station, then failed to do so. My husband rang and informed reception that we would be arriving within 15 minutes but reception staff said phone again when you are there! Having done this , reception then went on to say wait another 20 minutes and finally after waiting the best part of an hour we got a taxi to hotel. Staff then said a member of staff did go to station to collect us but couldn’t see us!!!!!! Why then didn’t they phone as they had our contact details.? Very disappointing start to the holiday but it did improve as the week progressed.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank L5222JWjamieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clément L, Responsable réception at Chateau Le Cagnard, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

Dear Mr and Mrs Harvey,

we thank you for your very nice feedback.

It's a real pleasure that you did appreciate the lovely and historic location of the hotel. The medieval area makes you feel in a golden parenthesis in calm and quietude. This area is very suitable to enjoy an amazing breakfast or dinner on the terrace.

The cleaning staff pays a lot of attention to provide you a shining room and this is always a satisfaction when this one is pointed out.

First impression is very important and we do apologize for the misunderstanding and the bad organization during your arrival. We keep your positive words and would be very glad to make your next stay better from the first day of this one...

Best regards,
LESUR Clément

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

I found This hotel online and fell in love with the photos, we wanted to stay close to Antibes but be out of the town so the location seemed perfect.

Upon checking in the staff seemed rather uptight and not too friendly, I’d like to think this was the language barrier as we only speak English.

We booked a junior suite with a sea view and the room seemed dark but at least we had a balcony, although the seating area was so uncomfortable it couldn’t be used.

The linen was brilliant, we had robes and got fresh towels with housekeeping.
The bathroom was a great size and we had a separate bath, shower and two sinks.

We were well aware that we couldn’t park at the hotel and we’re assured we could always get a lift to our car. One evening we came down at 7pm and asked to be taken, the receptionist informed us that she had called the driver twice and couldn’t get hold of him, we then asked how long the wait would be and she said she couldn’t say and offered no help. She said we had to walk although it had been raining and offered an umbrella. This was very frustrating as we were assured we could always get a lift before 9:30pm.

For breakfast we had a great view and there was many choices in the buffet, but no English breakfast tea.
No hot options just buffet which we didn’t think was clear when we booked.

From photos of people drinking in the hotel we assumed we could get drinks throughout the day, but this wasn’t the case, no bar and the restaurant is only open for dinner.

The chocolate bar in the minibar had been eaten and the packet left, we found this on arrival and told reception, they said it would be sorted but it wasn’t.

Overall the hotel lacked a good atmosphere, we wouldn’t return due to the lacking service, especially when the room is €400 per night.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 678tillyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clément L, Responsable réception at Chateau Le Cagnard, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Dear Madame,

thank you again for choosing Château le Cagnard for your stay.

Regarding your arrival, we do apologize about the inconvenient at the welcome desk. We will keep your advice and we do our best to improve and avoid any kind of misunderstanding.

As regards the room issue, we have 28 rooms all different , you had a Junior Suite with sea view and balcony. We always try to make our guests happy and we are really sorry, you couldn't enjoy your stay as you wished. If you will come back, please advise us in advance and we will make your experience unforgettable.

For the issue with the shuttle service, we do offer the pick up from the parking’s, but we need to give the priority at the arrivals. Our driver cannot answer when he drives and sometimes it is not easy for us to get in touch with him. However it was not our intention to cause you any kind of trable and we will do our best to get better on this point as well.

All the staff really appreciated your good advice regarding the different points you mentioned. We would be very glad to welcoming you back in the next future and showing you that we can do better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018 via mobile

We spent three nights at Le Cagnard and were very impressed with the beauty of Hautes de Cagnes and the stunning area around the medieval castle. The hotel is very highly priced and part of the Small Luxury Hotels collection, which made us expect not only impeccable service but also those little touches that sometimes make an experience special.

The service was certainly very good, all staff are friendly and helpful at all times - they have to be - to make up for the inconvenient location of the hotel. Due to the setting in a medieval area, it is not possible to take any car larger than the smallest models up to the hotel. Guests are asked to pick one of a few public spaces around town and then call reception to pick them up. Whenever there are events nearby though, these parking lots are all full and it can take a very long time to actually find a place for your car. Our recommendation for the hotel would be to rent a large enough guest parking somewhere downtown to spare guests the lengthy search...

Our room, we had opted for a luxury suite, was nicely furnished. The sea view pictures on the website are cleverly photographed, we had to stand on the far end of our balcony to see the ocean... The bathroom was in definite need of an update and there was nearly no water pressure in the shower. Walls in the castle are quite thin which let‘s you take part in all activities in the halls and neighboring rooms, no place for light sleepers.

Breakfast was good and sufficient, however not incredibly creative or surprising.
In summary, Hautes de Cagnes is certainly worth a visit, but value for money at Le Cagnard is a bit questionable.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank Ubucerius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clément L, Responsable réception at Chateau Le Cagnard, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Dear Ubucerius,

we thank you for your very interesting feedback.

As you explained, the hotel is a a part of Small Luxury Hotels collections which is a mark of high standards quality. The medieval location of the area makes the atmosphere very historic and unique. To access this one, we do offer you to all of our guests a valet service from the different parking lots located in the Haut de Cagnes area to the hotel. This service offer you the opportunity to enjoy the picturesque area as a spectator of this one. Within the coming months, some big improvements will occure regarding the location of the reception area to provide you a better experience, for the car park especially...

As you detailled, all our luxury suite have a sea view and terrace or balcony, however all our 28 rooms are different. If you request a different room for your next visit, the experience would be different that the first one.

All the staff really appreciated your comment about and would be very glad to welcome you back in the future to show you the different coming improvements.

Best regards,
LESUR Clément

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2018 via mobile

After reading all those great reviews and being so in love with all the photos I must say I’m pretty disappointed after our stay.
First of all, the hotel itself is very pretty just as you can see on the pictures. Especially the lobby and restaurant with its terrace is wonderful.
On our arrival our friendly driver gave us a warm welcome.
As soon as we arrived at the lobby, its been a rather polite welcome, not much interest payed to us. We booked a superior room. We got the one for disabled guests, which is supposed to be (as the receptionist states) the best one in this category. Still, i was a Little disappointed when it comes to size and comfort. No place to really put your luggage. Good thing about it is the balcony. The other superior rooms don’t have one it seems. Our room was directly underneath the restaurant terrace. You could here any chair moving around quite noisily. Also you can hear the restaurants guest when sitting on your balcony.
On our first day, we came back around 2pm and our room wasn’t cleaned yet. We told the reception we will rest for an hour and then leave again until 4pm. It’s been a really hot day so not that cool that you can’t get a rest in the afternoon cause you room is not ready yet... when we came back at 4pm, they just opened our room door to start cleaning... we went to the lobby but the receptionist wasn’t really interested. She said sorry while already looking back at her computer doing something different. The manager noticed though, gave us his apology and offered a glass of champagne. We were able to go back in our room around 4:45pm.
Also, when it comes to cleaning, they didn’t change our glasses and left some of our garbage. Sorry but for a four star hotel... nope... not cool service.
We didn’t have breakfast here (25€ p.P)
We tried the restaurant in our first night. The location, terrace and it’s view is wonderful.
Service also very polite and food great. But if you are hungry, please eat beforehand as portions are very very small. This seasons menu also had a lot of jelly features, you gotta like that too... service forgot a few things and had to be reminded. All not such a big deal but regarding the standard this hotel and restaurants wants to be you do notice these things.
May be, our start here wasn’t the best and I wish it was cause it’s such a pretty place. But unfortunately we won’t come back. Sorry.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank josefinedw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clément L, Responsable réception at Chateau Le Cagnard, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Dear Josefine,

we thank you for your interesting feedback and do regret that you didn't have the appreciatiton you were excpecting.
The hotel is standing in a medieval and historic are and all the rooms are different and unique. There is 5 different categories of rooms and the main different between them is their size or their exposition.
Regarding the cleaning service, there is no specific time for this service. The maids usually do it in the early afternoon if the rooms are vacant. When we have a specific information in advance regarding the time of this one, we are very pleased to do it for you. We suggest you in the future to provide the information when you leave in the morning to make sure the room is the ready if you come back very early.
Please note that your review is something we really care about and we would have been very pleased to welcome you back and show you the next change we are planing to have in the coming weeks.
Best regards,
LESUR Clément

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018

The hotel ordered us a taxi which was spot on and waiting to help with the cases when we arrived was stephen.we walked down the little cobble street and from then on I knew I was in love with this little village. The hotel staff were all amazing helping where ever they could . The welcome was so friendly .couldnt fault the room with the lovely views.The meal in the evening was wonderful and the attention to detail was not un noticed . What can I say about the chateau is it is by far the most loveliest place we have stayed as the character of the building was steeped in history . Iv looked at this chateau for a while and couldn't be more happier we choose it. We would love to go again and hope if any offers come available we would defiantly be going. Thankyou for a truly memorable stay.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 396jenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews