We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”
Review of Chez David

Chez David
Ranked #10 of 242 Restaurants in Cagnes-sur-Mer
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$35
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Restaurant Chez David represente l'art culinaire Provencal. Les produit sont frais ,la cuisine soignee, la carte est reduite 4 entrees, 5 plats, 5 desserts.1 seul menus a 25 euro : entree , plat , dessert 1 formule le midi a 12,5 euro du Lundi au Vendredi : 3 plats au choix et un cafe Gourmand compose de 3 desserts maison. La carte change toutes les semaines et suis le cours des saisons.L'equipe chez david vous accueilles midi et soir du mardi au Dimanche midi / fermer le dimanche soir . Cette cuisine faite "maison" du debut a la fin, sans pretention, saura surprendre vos papilles.
Antibes, France
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Such a wonderful find, a quaint and cozy restaurant with the friendliest staff and owner (David). I just recently moved to Antibes from New York. Being so far away from home, friendly faces and fantastic food just made me feel so welcomed. The menu is simple, but every course is made with exquisite flavors. A MUST try!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaCU2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    169
    31
    31
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Une vraie trouvaille / a real gem”
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Friends recommended we try this new restaurant and we were not disappointed. We visted twice during our week's stay in a nearby resort. Absolutely delicious food, friendly staff - delightful chef/owner David brought out our main courses in person - and the prices are extremely good given the fantastic quality of the dishes. Well worth a visit. We'll definitely return.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CHW21171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“David is AMAZING”
Reviewed 6 November 2012

What a place! Nothing more to say that this is by far the BEST place in Cagnes.
Very creative cooking at a fraction of what you would otherwise pay near the seafront.
Go now!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank galexis505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“An absolute must!!”
Reviewed 3 November 2012

This is a new restaurant offering an amazing experience for a fraction of the cost of other less worthy restaurants. We were recommended to visit this great restaurant in Cagnes, we made the trip and we were totally amazed at the quality of all the dishes on offer, the owner David is great and really personable and the staff are attentive and knowledgable. The menu has a brief description but when your meal arrives it is inventive, cooked to perfection and full of fresh, complex, beautiful flavours and ingredients. Please believe me this is one restaurant that is really worth the trip to find. It is really good value most mains are €10-12 and incredibally delicious, the desserts are equally as good and the drinks are also reasonably priced, this is not a typical Cote D'Azur place, it is a real 'cut above'.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FredandOllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“exceedingly good burger”
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Stumbled across this little place on tripadvisopr. It was a few towns away from where we were staying but WELL worth the trip. It's an intimate, quiet restaurant with very friendly staff and plenty of atmosphere. The Burger Provence for 12 euro was an absolute bargain! Very creative, I've never had a burger quite like it. The meat was cooked exactly to specification. The accompanying chips were thick and cooked to perfection. David the chef came to our table to introduce himself, very friendly and happy to share some of his culinary secrets. We'll be back next year so keep the burger on the menu!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RMB187234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chez David also viewed

Cagnes-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cagnes-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cagnes-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cagnes-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Chez David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing