We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Seafood in Cannes”
Review of Astoux et Brun

Astoux et Brun
Ranked #18 of 821 Restaurants in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Seafood in Cannes”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

While on business in Cannes, our customers recommended Astoux et Brun for a seafood dinner and four colleagues and I were not disappointed. The offerings were fresh and plentiful - the menu provided almost too many options plus there are daily specials. Three of our group opted for the prix fixe option (popular in Cannes) which included three courses. I went with a salad and a dish of spot prawns & fresh root vegetables with seafood bisque. The salad was a huge portion of mesclun greens, which was only OK - the dressing lacked flavor, but the greens were very fresh. There were three very large, fresh & tender prawns which tasted delicious with the veggies & bisque - and lots of crusty French bread for sopping! My colleagues meals selections included first courses of fresh large shrimp & oysters and a salmon tartare, which they all enjoyed. The main course everyone selected was fresh sea bass, which smelled heavenly and everyone said was delicious. We also enjoyed a couple bottles of hearty, red wine from Provence and for dessert, a flaky, not-too-sweet fresh apple tart with salted caramel ice cream. Our server, Dominique was friendly and funny - trying patiently to teach me some French phrases and insisting that I send him a postcard from Seattle. Some reviewers complained of cramped seating, but we found the seating comfortable, the atmosphere friendly, good service and delicious food at a great value under 40€ apiece for the food plus 40€ for the wine.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    558
    513
    113
    49
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Sea food as it should be”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Very delicious food, great selection of sea food. We took oysters and langoustines-both we're perfect. Followed by wine, cheese and creme caramel, it all coasted 77euros. It's popular place, so better to reserve a table or you'll be asked to wait for 15-20 minutes.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shakespy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Arrogant attitude if you are not French”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Very arrogant attitude from the person who supposed to accompany you to your table. If you don't speak French to him do not count on good table and quick service. Tonight by the time we arrived to the restaurant our table was already given to the other people despite that our kids were already there and even ordered food. No explanations, no excuses. Walk down the same street and you will see better restaurants with by far better service with seafood from the same suppliers. There are not so many sea food suppliers locally.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best "Plateau de Fruit de Mer" ever”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Fruits de mer at its best. The freshest ingredients ever. Typical French service...
Will be back for sure

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridel, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great and fresh seafood”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Very busy restaurant, the setting is a bit rough (but authentic as next to the harbour), but the quality of the food is outstanding (therefor I give it 5 stars). We had Coquilles St Jacques as a starter and then a sole meunière, which was very big and the dish of the day, a Filet StPierre. The sole was probably the best one I ever had. The prices were a bit high, though, but given the size of the fishes, they were justified. The service was very pleasant too, although the place is extremely busy. No reservations accepted, so be there on time!
I would definetely come back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pierchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Astoux et Brun also viewed

Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Astoux et Brun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing