We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly VILE! Avoid,Avoid,Avoid!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Escale

Escale
Ranked #557 of 799 Restaurants in Cannes
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Truly VILE! Avoid,Avoid,Avoid!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

After ten days of lovely dining experiences in France at all price levels, this place stands out simply because it was truly awful! Arrived at 11.45 and there were only two tables taken, we were shown to a table and given menu's as the place began to slowly fill. Observing the many staff, they just seemed to be running round doing not a lot of anything as though lunchtime had come as a surprise! After an eternal wait and having to ask again, our order of just 3 pizza's was taken, then we waited and waited and waited whilst enduring the chain smoking group next to us. After nearly an HOUR the look on my face must have told the waiter something and he went to check the kitchen. After a further wait, the pizza's arrived. Two were the 'Cannibale' which I can only describe as cold mince meat on a pizza base....bleurgh!!!! and they have the nerve to charge €15+ each for this muck! We paid and left. Whilst all this was going on the numerous staff just ran around doing nothing or simply ignored people. Go to this place at your peril or you want to waste your life waiting for truly awful food and worse service or better advice is either get a sandwich from the stall near the ferry or better still bring a picnic!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chadders1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    49
    37
    18
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Never go there!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

The staff is absolutely rude and inattentive. Bad food. Not worth the money. Don't go there! The second restaurant on the isle might be a better choice.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hungos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great ending to our island tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

Im so surprised to see so many bad reviews here. I thought this restaurant was one of the top best in Cannes! Generous portions, food very tasty, came super fast, and service was not bad.

I had the Pizza Tuna, as i am an addict, and actually thought it was so tasty maybe the best i ever had! (And im not exaggerating)

I highly recommend it (both the island and the restaurant) :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank N-E-86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

Had lunch here today which was better than expected for a restaurant with a captive audience. We both choose salads which were well served & tasty - & a generous portion. The dishes being served to other diners also looked good - so was surprised to see so many bad reviews here - although I note ours is the first one this year - may be it is under new management? Service was good & location/view beautiful. OK a tad pricey but again with the monopoly this is to be expected.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antibes, France
1 review
“never go there!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

rubbish! staff is absolutely rough and louts, the food is hideous!!!!

they take a booked but dont do it - if you will come - no promise you could get a table!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natalia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Escale also viewed

Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Escale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing