We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, easy menu, fun service”
Review of Le Maschou

Le Maschou
Ranked #122 of 821 Restaurants in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$63 - US$63
Cuisines: French
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent food, easy menu, fun service”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Food - excellent, though the veggie basket was overwhelming. Loved the toasted bread and since there were three of us, we ordered all three mains and got to share. Each one - lamb, steak, chicken - were outstanding.

Service - we hilariously got a table after there were two last minute no shows. The maitre d was funny about it after yelling at someone on the phone.

Atmosphere - super charming, if cramped!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raj R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    25
    11
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Always outstanding ”
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

There is a special place in the city of Cannes, France, which is simply outstanding. After 50 years, 30 of them owned by Alain Viotti and now managed by his son Emmanuel, Le Maschou is one of the finest restaurants in the world and the best in Cannes. From the large basket of fresh veggies, oven-toasted fresh bread, the finest in beef, lamb and chicken and a wonderful selection of wines, the Viottis have maintained this treasure which only gets better with age. Twice a year we visit and this trip added a bonus - two nights over two weeks. I can't say enough for the excellent cuisine, super staff and the personal attention to detail by Alain and Emmanuel. And, oh yes, they toasted our 25th wedding anniversary with my wife and I in style. Here's to another great 50 years of Le Maschou!

Helpful?
1 Thank SanBernTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Even better than expected!”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Having heard about this restaurant from some family who had previously visited, it was even better! Such a gorgeous cosy retaurant with lovely lighting. Young, attentive and such very pleasant staff. Menu apparently the same for many years. Great idea, keep it simple and of the highest standard. Choice of chicken, beef or lamb and all cooked to perfection. Superb deserts. Artisan bread so delicious. Vegetable basket beautifully presented.
Only downside was a tad noisy and a tad warm for whoever sits at the end of the table closest to the grill. However, would love to return one day.
Thank you for 2 great evenings while visiting Cannes.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gabnraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Romantic and delicious”
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

Romantic candle lit crowded lair on a small side street, limited menu so simple food choices and quite rustic- from fresh wood burning grill charred bread to basket of fresh vegetables served as the salad. Our meet was perfectly cooked and seasoned. Dessert also fulfilled their requisite large portions with a heaping of the most wonderful chocolate mousse. Yum!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Shocked at how good some people find it!”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I've just come home after eating at le maschou full and feeling like I've been duped. The "formule" is as follows
A glass of sangria served as you sit down (were we in Cadiz or Cannes?)
Fantastic bread and a bowl of sort of blue cheese sauce that was confusing .. Was it for the bread, the basket of raw vegetables or the jacket potato, a one size fits all sauce
Jambon (from the supermarket) et melon whose pieces were minuscule served underneath the Parma ham
Then we were transported to a harvest festival wicker basket of raw vegetables, avocados, boiled eggs ... confusing and unnecessary, did they want to fill us up before our steak?
The steak however was fantastic
What also didn't work at all was how cramped we were. The meal is on the expensive side we couldn't finish any dish so the waste is frightful and we were so cramped it was claustrophobic. We had to put the bread basket on the banquette seat so as to make room for the "crudités" and the backs of the diners at the table our side were practically in our food.
To be given a rose at the end as we were leaving felt more like the final part of this nifty formula as opposed to the charming touch that it was claiming to be.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank elainesgorgeous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Maschou also viewed

Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Le Maschou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing