We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lucky stop!”
Review of Le Voilier

Le Voilier
Ranked #53 of 821 Restaurants in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$50
Cuisines: European, Seafood
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
sussex
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“lucky stop!”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

After researching many restaurants before our short stop in cannes we ended up doing what many travellers recommend not to do and randomly pick out a restaurant that looks ok ! However , after a mornings shopping in the fabulous Rue D'Antibes we were soaked through and needed somewhere fairly quick and out of the rain. We were heading to Vesuvio restaurant but came across Le Voilier...we were not disappointed. We both chose a pasta and a bottle of Rose [ despite the weather!!]. The gambas pasta was one of the most enjoyable that my wife and I had ever eaten. the service was quick and efficient and it wasn't too expensive. We returned the next day for a late lunch [ as we were told its open all day] only to find it much busier and service less efficient.The menu was a 'snack menu' and despite being ok there was no Gambas !! the waiter wasn't particularlybothered and seemed a bit hassled...the sun was out !! we would go back but before 2.30pm

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jandbSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    158
    67
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Whitte-le-woods
Level Contributor
70 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great location and friendly staff”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We visited le Voilier several times for lunch during MIPIM. Ideally located on the Croisette. The staff offer great service even during conference periods when they are rushed off their feet. Food was lovely and a great place for lunch and people watching!

Helpful?
Thank Kirsty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good food - but pricey”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We found ourselves in Le Voilier as most other restaurants were closed on a cold Sunday in January.
The welcome was warm, the service excellent and the food very good.
We had two main courses only ( one was a set menu with a glass of wine and coffee included) and two coffees, the bill coming to over euros 60 - which for one course was expensive, albeit very tasty.
They do offer a 'plat du jour' menu which was good value but alas was 'sold out' when I asked for it.
Caveau 30 up the road could offer 2 x 3 course meals (without wine or coffee) for a lot less money.
But it made a change and the food and service were excellent.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ronald1350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannes, France
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“unacceptable staff!!”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Before going to the Voilier, I thought I will spend a good time in an amazing place but that was not my experience!! The staff is really bad!! Nobody said hello or goodbye, the waiter throw the menu on our table, he kept the money back without our permission and put a "reservation" paper on our table to oblige us to leave. I never saw it before!! When I pay 2.70€ for a coffee, I am waiting for a really good service!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Emilie06110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Croisette with good food and not expensive”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We liked the food a lot, with goose liver, lobster salad as starters and scallop risotto or Tournedos Rossini as main coarse. Desserts were also to our liking !

Very attentive service even on a busy night as New Years Eve, which is not very usual. And best of all the restaurant is moderately priced with this excellent location.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mikael_Helsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Voilier also viewed

Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Le Voilier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing