We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay!”
Review of Villa Garbo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Villa Garbo
Ranked #18 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We had a great experience staying at Villa Garbo. When traveling we like to stay in high end boutique hotels and Villa Garbo did not disappoint. Our room and the overall facility was fantastic. Breakfast daily and incredibly helpful and friendly management and staff. The hotel owner and manager truly seemed to care that we made the most of our time in Cannes and helped with everything from directions to translation to shopping! our room was fabulous with a great balcony where we ate breakfast every morning. The bathroom was beautiful and offered an oversized tub and rain shower. Location is also very good. Not right on the busy La Croisette but within 2 blocks of the beach, shopping and very close to Le Suquet.

Stayed: March 2012
3  Thank Kera A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
There are newer reviews for Villa Garbo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2012

We chose this hotel after an extensive review of hotels in the area. We stayed for a couple of nights and were very pleased with our choice. It is a beautiful hotel, the charming facade having been preserved when the hotel was rebuilt. Our room (a junior suite) was spacious & well appointed; the bathroom included a fast hairdryer, very nice towels, dressing gowns & slippers. The only thing missing was a full-length mirror.

We parked in a side street next to the hotel which was fine for that night as the parking meter finished at 7pm and we were planning to be away within the first two hours of the next day's charging period. However, it was much more relaxing to park the car on site (this is limited so pre-booking is advised) the next day, well worth the 25 Euros to avoid the hassle!

The welcome given to us on arrival was excellent and after unpacking & showering we were ready to enjoy an aperitif. The hotel offers its guests complimentary drinks between 6pm and 8pm and we found their rose and white wines very pleasant.

The hotel has no restaurant but serves a buffet breakfast in the foyer and we were given a number of restaurant recommendations for dinner. We only had two evenings and tried two different restaurants, L'Affable and L'Antidote, both serving superb food.

The hotel was just across from the Rue d'Antibes, the principal shopping area and a short walk to La Croisette. Even though it was close to the railway line, the hotel was a haven of peace and we heard absolutely nothing.

We were told on arrival that we might experience problems with the iPad and the wifi, however, both the iPad and iPhone worked perfectly using the hotel's complimentary wifi.

I would recommend this hotel as an excellent base for exploring Cannes.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SPPHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Very friendly and welcoming. Great room, Apartment really, well soundproofed against the traffic noise outside. Great restaurant recommendations. we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NoelCJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We liked Villa Garbo and Nicolas, the concierge, was always extremely helpful and answered all of our questions! they recommended things to do and were always available.

It is a great boutique hotel in a very good location. However, suites are expensive and more suitable if you go with a family. as friend, my friend and I realized that we didn't need a suite and we could have saved some money.

breakfast was served and it was included and it was EXCELLENT. sometimes we were upset because wi-fi was not working and the internet in the business center was not working either. that was important for us because we needed to check the internet.

overall good experience.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SOFIA1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

What an amazing boutique hotel. Elegant, Modern and friendly all in one.
From the Owner, Guy (A true gentleman who was so helpful) to Nicolas (the restaurant expert! He knows so much about where to go) to Valerie (always laughing but so helpful) to Gypsy (amazing help in the mornings and always elegant) and finally Mario (the inventive genius who made us feel safe) all the staff are a breath of fresh air and bend over backwards to help. Rooms are spacious, quiet and beautifully decorated. Large bathroom with bath and full size shower (Suite 130).

Close to La Croisette, close to the beach, calming and thoroughly enjoyable. Didn't want to leave.
A 20 minute walk from the old town, but well worth the walk to some great restaurants.

In summary, we will without doubt be going back to stay at this hotel. It's now on our list of top 10 favourites. It was a calm oasis that we needed after our wedding and would be more than happy to tell our friends, STAY AT THIS HOTEL!!!!

Merci to all at Villa Garbo for making the first leg of our honeymoon, so so special.

Room Tip: Room 330 has a whole rooftop terrace to itself, but obviously would cost the most.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jimmymmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

We are happy!
1. Highly professional team.
2. Good location.
3. Spacious room.
4. Very good climate control everywhere inside.
5. Very clean.
6. Small and romantic.

Everything was above our expectation.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndreyKuznetsov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

It was my first stay there, and from the time we walked in to the time we left we were treated brilliantly. Nicolas and tthe other managers on duty (sorry forgot the names) were fantastic and sorted out tables at the nicest places to eat, and made sure that we lacked no comfort
I will be back there as the location is perfect ...shopping , places to eat and the sea a few minutes walk away. The only downside....no pool, and when it is hot , well you would like to take a dip :-)

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zappa1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
0.5 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.6 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel  Le Cavendish
Hotel Le Cavendish
#2 of 126 in Cannes
798 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
0.2 mi away
Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Garbo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Garbo

Address: 62 boulevard D Alsace, 06400 Cannes, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Price Range: £142 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Garbo 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine an apartment with luxury hospitality services located two steps away from La Croisette ... Here is the concept of Villa Garbo. Behind its facade dating back 1884, Villa Garbo offers its guests a small world of authentic luxury in an elegant, contemporary and convivial setting. The 11 apartments - suites make up an intimate cocoon of technology and design. Exclusive concept of luxury Hotel Residence in Cannes, Villa Garbo has become a major charm getaway ... Whether as a couple, family or for busine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Garbo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing