We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the best”
Review of Villa Garbo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Villa Garbo
Ranked #19 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
“Best of the best”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We arrived by car after a week stayed in Tuscany and we spent another week in Cannes at the beginning of July accommodated by Villa Garbo. We like very much the Côte d'Azur/ French Riviera and we trusted in the reviews available on TripAdvisor but I was a bit afraid about what will be my wife’s opinion about this hotel because not too many pictures are available on the Internet about the rooms. Nomaza, a beautiful kind lady warmly welcomed us and showed the hotel facilities and told the availabilities in detailed (rooms, parking place, breakfast, happy hours, etc.). They have around 10 rooms, every of them are large enough, clean, comfortable and well equipped. On the top 3rd floor there are even bigger deluxe rooms available for bigger companies/families. We had accommodated on the 2nd floor and I was glad, because my daughter had a separate room equipped with TV, the bathroom was modern, huge and clean, so my wife was even were very happy. The Owners and the staff members are always there for your service, every question or problem you have they solve it right soon. The hotel is very close to the beach (3-5 minutes by walk), and the promotion offered us 2 beach seat + umbrella on the private beach called La Mandala which was included in the room price. So every member of the staff was very helpful and the service is absolutely fantastic. The price per value ratio is really very good if you choose Villa Garbo.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_Dongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    18
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
47
72
1
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

For the stay in Cannes, I had originally booked JW Marriott because of the brand and location. I am so glad we chose Villa Garbo over JW. JW would not have half of the facilities and amenities that Villa provided (see below).

This stay was an impeccable one. I actually had the original booking in their sister hotel, Cavendish, but I was contacted in advance by the owners who offered to move us to a newer hotel, Villa Garbo.

This is an all-suites hotel, with 11 suites, located in an old building. The location is very good -7 minute walk from the train station (up the hill, so require some physical effort with luggage), 5 minutes to Bld. Croisette, and 2 minutes to a big grocery store, called Casino.

The check-in was easy - everything was ready for our arrival. It is truly a very personalized service.

The room was a bedroom + living room, very spacious (50 sq m). The room had all the amenities, and even more, one would expect from a 5 star hotel. Tea and coffee facilities, a big refrigerator, a kitchenette, with a bar table and stools, separate bathroom and toilet. There is really nothing to complain about the room, The housekeeping was very good - we axed for the room to be cleaned before noon and this was always respected.

The only small downside of the room was a view to a busy road, but there was no noise in the room, when the window and doors are closed.

The breakfast was certainly one of the best we have ever had. Fresh croissants and bread, omlettes made to order, small selection of meats. It is not an American breakfast with huge selection, but what we had was totally sufficient to a healthy (and tasty) start of the day.

We had a beach package, which meant we had a free access to the Mandala beach on the Croisette, with towels and sunshade provided. It is a nice private beach with great service and food. Strongly recommended.

I need to mention the staff - everyone in the hotel was very friendly, smiling and really doing their best. The owners were regularly in the hotel and we had a nice chat with them. Everyone spoke very good English (and probably other languages too).

All in all, we had a wonderful stay, without any complaints.

BIG Thanks to everyone in the hotel who made our stay so enjoyable. Highly recommended, both for couples and bigger families.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank airwav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Stayed during ILTM. The hotel actually opened just for the five days of the show. Location is at the start of Rue d'Antibes so nor far from the Croisette and the convention centre. Rooms are pricey for what they offer but a relatively good value during ILTM. Breakfast was great and we looked forward to every morning. Fresh, simple and very French! Service is pleasant and light.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zpd2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia, DF
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

The Villa Garbo Hotel welcomed us with open arms. They gave us support in all our needs.
The meeting room is quiet, the happy hour it is relaxing and the breakfast is delicious.
The service is personalized and special.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThaisDiDario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Great hotel with friendly staff. Boutique feeling lobby with good size rooms. Super clean. Good location close to the beach within walking distance of the Palais. Very private!
I highly recommend for your next trip to Cannes!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre, RS
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2013

The Villa Garbo has been a great place to stay during our participation to MIPIM 2013. The hotel's personal has been helpful and really attending our needs.
One of the best breakfast to start a long day! And a free drink to relax after a long day!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Cannot recommend Villa Garbo enough. The rooms are clean, fashionable, modern and very spacious. The staff is professional, discreet and proactive. The breakfasts and appertifs are just on point. The owners of Villa Garbo are personable, warm and welcoming. The only thing wrong with Villa garbo is that there isn't one in every city.

I booked the Villa on behalf of my company for a large incentive weekend (17 people) and it was- perfect.

I couldn't recommend Villa Garbo enough. It is stylish, clean, spacious and in perfect proximity to all of Cannes' sites.

Cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: As organiser of our incentive trip; I have seen every single room- from studio to duplex, every room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
0.5 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.7 mi away
Hotel  Le Cavendish
Hotel Le Cavendish
#2 of 126 in Cannes
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
520 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Provence
Hotel de Provence
#1 of 126 in Cannes
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Garbo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Garbo

Property: Villa Garbo
Address: 62 boulevard D Alsace, 06400 Cannes, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Garbo 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine an apartment with luxury hospitality services located two steps away from La Croisette ... Here is the concept of Villa Garbo. Behind its facade dating back 1884, Villa Garbo offers its guests a small world of authentic luxury in an elegant, contemporary and convivial setting. The 11 apartments - suites make up an intimate cocoon of technology and design. Exclusive concept of luxury Hotel Residence in Cannes, Villa Garbo has become a major charm getaway ... Whether as a couple, family or for busine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Fastbooking, ACCOR, Prestigia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Garbo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing