We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of Villa Garbo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Villa Garbo
Ranked #18 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Have to have a rave about Villa Garbo, Cannes!
Quite apart from the gorgeous décor, location to La Croisette, the real bonus is the friendly, helpful staff ; Val, Louisa and Nomaza who were a delight.
The owner provides ‘Drinks on the terrace” which made for a fun evening, every evening with an open bar and nibblies 6-8pm each night. The atmosphere was friendly and lively and made this a great place to stay. Highly recommended.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank jan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

We have just experienced the best week in Cannes and what made it so special was our hotel - "Villa Garbo". The service was second to none, all staff go out of their way to make your stay a special one. The staff made us feel extremely comfortable, this is more than just a place to stay it's almost as if you're staying with friends. Interiors are modern and elegant our room was spacious and had 2 balconies to to watch the hustle and bustle. Location is just a 5 minute walk to La Croisette and main shopping areas - perfect! You receive personalised service with staff taking note of your individual needs (they even remembered how we liked our coffee!). The owner made a special point of greeting us one morning over breakfast which we thought was a special touch. One of the benefits of being based in Cannes is that you can take day trips out (using the trains, or boats) to places like Monte Carlo, St. Tropez etc. And after a long day out travelling nothing better to come back to your hotel and enjoy complimentary drinks and snacks for an hour or 2 to recharge and then head out to the many amazing restaurants for dinner which are all nearby the fantastic Villa Garbo! Strongly recommend this Hotel and would definately come back again. Special thank you to Valerie, Nomasa, Louisa and all the other staff - you looked after us so well and made our stay so special, one we will never forget!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sbsb2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Both my husband and I cannot recommend Villa Garbo enough! We are used to staying in top hotels and Villa Garbo is now one of our absolute favorites anywhere in the world. We stayed for 6 days, and from the minute we arrived, we were incredibly happy with it. The design of the hotel is fabulous. From your first step, everything is stylish and well done -- and so well maintained. We had a one-bedroom suite which was beautifully decorated and so comfortable. The hotel's location is also perfect -- just an easy 5 minute walk to the beach and across the street from where one of the two main shopping streets begins. And the staff... I really can't say enough about how wonderful they all are. Each and every person went above and beyond to help us arrange every aspect of our wonderful stay. They were so genuinely sweet and kind, and so incredibly helpful, attentive, and gracious -- it made all the difference. We were treated so incredibly well by them -- other hotels (even five star ones) should come and take lessons. For instance, on our final day, we used the downstairs spa area to change after the beach before our flight, since we had already checked out of our room. The staff was so accomodating -- giving us extra towels to shower with, and making sure we had everything we needed. Overall, this is one of the best hotel experiences we have ever had and we cannot recommend it enough !!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JG20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I was delightfully blown away by my recent experience at Villa Garbo. It's not only intimate in size, but most importantly intimate in service. The staff went above and beyond to anticipate & exceed all of our expectations while we were there and were so genuinely and enormously helpful & friendly in every way. Everyone was extremely attentive, overly accommodating, graciously warm & inviting,...... I've worked in a luxury hotel property in NYC for many, many years and know full well what its like to provide five star service and all at Villa Garbo - including the ever present wonderful owner - did just that. It is perfectly situated steps from the coast and right on the cusp of all to see and do. With every hope and desire fulfilled, I highly recommend this exceptionally fine property.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AETscherne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

My family and I stayed in the duplex apartment in Villa Garbo for a few days this August. We had the most fantastic time: it is the perfect location, the breakfast is absolutely delicious, the room could not have been more perfect (a large suite with 2 bedrooms), and the staff are the friendliest I have known. We usually stay in the Carlton and can honestly say we will no longer be going there since we have found Villa Garbo. In fact, we are so happy with the service we received we have already booked our stay for next August! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

It was one of the best hotels we stayed in during our honeymoon trip across Côte d'Azur. We spent there three nights. They welcomed us with a bottle of champagne. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms are well decorated and stylish. Location is comfortable to access the city despite it is not on the sea coast. Check their happy hour offer - drinks are free after return from the beach.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vytautas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We just came back from a spectacular getaway to the French Riviera, and truly one of the highlights was our five night stay at Villa Garbo. When they call it a "suite" hotel, that does not do it justice, as it is really more of a modern, spacious apartment than a hotel suite. The location makes a trip to the various private beaches of Cannes a quick walk from the hotel, and you are not more than a 10-15 minute walk from most of the shopping and restaurants of the main seaside area of Cannes. When inside Villa Garbo, you will experience gracious and attentive service from the entire staff, from the charming owner to the manager and beyond, making you feel incredibly welcome throughout your visit. And the breakfasts provide a generous assortment of the best and freshest foods to start your day, a meal that we genuinely looked forward to and savored every day we were there. This is the first time in many years of traveling that I felt strongly enough to write a review on any website, and I enthusiastically do it now for a hotel that is very special.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel  Le Cavendish
Hotel Le Cavendish
#2 of 126 in Cannes
811 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Canberra
Hotel Le Canberra
#10 of 126 in Cannes
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Renoir
Hotel Renoir
#16 of 126 in Cannes
445 reviews
0.6 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
553 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Cannes Croisette Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Garbo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Garbo

Address: 62 boulevard D Alsace, 06400 Cannes, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Price Range: £116 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Garbo 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine an apartment with luxury hospitality services located two steps away from La Croisette ... Here is the concept of Villa Garbo. Behind its facade dating back 1884, Villa Garbo offers its guests a small world of authentic luxury in an elegant, contemporary and convivial setting. The 11 apartments - suites make up an intimate cocoon of technology and design. Exclusive concept of luxury Hotel Residence in Cannes, Villa Garbo has become a major charm getaway ... Whether as a couple, family or for busine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Booking.com, ACCOR, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Garbo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing