We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a difference!”
Review of Claremont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Claremont Hotel
Ranked #112 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I stayed here for one night. Having read the reviews (after I booked!) I was terrified of even stepping into the place. However, what a difference!! They have just reopened and refurbished the whole hotel, actually still refurbishing when I arrived but this was quickly explained to me and I was told it was only on the upper floors and that I would not be disturbed. And I wasn't.

I chose to stay in their Standard double room with a shower and the toilet outside the room. It turned out the toilet was right next door so it felt like my own anyway. Everything was new. Hall and room Carpets, Shower, Basin and curtains. New wallpaper on one wall, freshly painted on the others. Even the windows and shutters had a fresh coat of paint. Tasteful new lighting too. The bedding was fresh and clean and also tastefully done. Even the shared toilet was new with fresh tiling and floor. I had a balcony in my room too!

They also have a lovely lounge area on the main floor, with comfy sofas and free wifi, which worked perfectly in my room.

Forget all the reviews you have read. The Claremont is now a NEW hotel and for the price and location it cannot be beaten! I absolutely recommend the Claremont Hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2010

Ok this hotel is in a great location, but that is really where it ends. I know it is only a 2 Star hotel, but this is definitely a minus 2 Star. I don't mind basic by any means, but this place was an absolute joke (and it actually made us laugh - after we decided to stay elsewhere!). The poor guy on reception was actually embarrassed to be working there, and he did his best, but the place was filthy beyond belief. He said the cleaner hadn't shown up so he had to do the best he could by himself - in fact I think the cleaner has never shown up. The room we were given had a balcony, however the balcony door didn't even shut and it was side by side with another balcony, so security was literally out the window! I could go on and on, but take my word for it - please don't stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brendaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Manager at Claremont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

I am so sorry to hear of your terrible experience. The hotel has been closed since December 2010 and has now reopened. We have totally refurbished the hotel, public areas and bedrooms.

We have new management and staff in place and can assure you the Claremont Hotel now practices the highest standards and customer satisfaction is our absolute priority.

We welcome you to the NEW Claremont Hotel - Cannes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2010

I tell you, stay away from this hotel!
When I checked in the hotel, I was informed that the room was not ready. I left my luggages at their storeroom. By the time I got in that evening, I was given a room key and when I went it, there was someone occupying the room! The reception had given my room to another person! I was left with no room and it was 10 o'clock at night and during a conference when ALL hotel rooms are fully booked! I had to go to Juan Les Pins to get a room that night.
The hotel was so unprofessional! How can they do double booking? The worst thing is, until now, they havent reimbursed me my deposit that I paid earlier!
Ph ya, when I was there briefly while waiting for my non-existent room, I noticed that the reception was filthy and dark. The reaction I saw from the faces of people who stayed there enough to show how run down and filthy this hotel is. One guest was so unhappy as his room was 'not good' he said.
I DONT recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anne_Mohd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Manager at Claremont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

I am so sorry to hear of your terrible experience. The hotel has been closed since December 2010 and has now reopened. We have totally refurbished the hotel, public areas and bedrooms.

We have new management and staff in place and can assure you the Claremont Hotel now practices the highest standards and customer satisfaction is our absolute priority.

We welcome you to the NEW Claremont Hotel - Cannes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2010

I will start by saying, great location between the station and Rue D'Antibes.....then the decor in the room we stayed in had been well thought out with nice antique details, it all went downhill from there.
Are sheets and pillow cases were dirty we were told they were not dirty just stained, they were replaced by more stained sheets, the bath mat was in shreds, still other guests clothes under the bed, fan had no cover on the front, bed side table had been used as an ashtray and not cleaned, the communal area were very grotty a McDonalds bag sat on the landing for a day, then we left perhaps it is still there?
I would have preferred cheaper furnishings and a clean environment. The staff didn't speak Franch or English and our vietnamese was not upto scratch. I know it is not the Martinez, but cleanliness is not expensive!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gypsyclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Manager at Claremont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

I am so sorry to hear of your terrible experience. The hotel has been closed since December 2010 and has now reopened. We have totally refurbished the hotel, public areas and bedrooms.

We have new management and staff in place and can assure you the Claremont Hotel now practices the highest standards and customer satisfaction is our absolute priority.

We welcome you to the NEW Claremont Hotel - Cannes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2010

right by the train station, five minutes from the beach - couldn't have had a better location! We were on a strict budget, and for Cannes thats hard, but the Claremont really provided! For an en suite, 90 Euros wasn't bad, and off peak the price are lowered. Rooms were clean, the staff were friendly and English speaking and thats all you can ask for! Apparently there has been a change of management and so the hotel is on its way up. Would come here again!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank filmbuffLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurélien T, Directeur général at Claremont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Hello,

I wanted to inform visitors to this site and former guests, their discontent has been heard. The hotel closed its doors a few months time to change the direction of the hotel and the entire team of staff, but also to be able to do heavy work.
I find the old photos, and it is true that there was a great need for change.
We knew were going to ancient architecture and modern decor, and our team will be happy to welcome new passengers within a week.

The finishes of the hotels are not completely finished, but the pictures will show you recently published an overview of the changes made.

See you soon for your next stay in Cannes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2014
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank HungerMuzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
4  Thank Men_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
582 reviews
0.4 mi away
JW Marriott Cannes
JW Marriott Cannes
#16 of 126 in Cannes
933 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Bastide De L'Oliveraie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claremont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claremont Hotel

Address: 13 rue du 24 Aout, 06400 Cannes, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Price Range: £26 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Claremont Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming hotel, recently renovated, that blends ancient architecture and modern decoration.Quoted in the city center in the heart of a pedestrian area, surrounded by shops and restaurants. You will be a 30 second walk from all transport (bus, train, taxi) and 3 minutes, from the famous steps of the Palais des Festivals, La Croisette, and its private and public beaches ..Ideal for all, we have rooms for small budget from € 29, but also an apartment with a large bathroom and a kitchen . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Stayforlong S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Claremont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing