We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Careful - lack of hygiene”

L'assiette provencale
Ranked #10 of 821 Restaurants in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Provencale Cuisine
coimbra
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Careful - lack of hygiene”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I am still in shock because of what I saw. First appearances were good, nice place, next to the port, friendly staff, and good food until I saw some stuff that really disgusted me. I was seated next to an area where they prep entrees and desserts. One of the waiters sneezed to his hand and imediatly grabbed some bread with the befouled hand and then served it to someone. Later I saw another waitress tasting ice cream and using the same spoon to put the ice cream into a plate! Along this, she used her hands to touch every single component of the desserts and then touch money, etc. and didnt washed them at all. I was completely shocked with this lack of hygiene. I really hope the kitchen is cleaner, because if they do this kind of things in front of the clients, I can only imagine what is going on the background...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank maria r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    447
    343
    49
    17
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“You can do better”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Couldn't help the feeling that this restaurant relies on its position by the marina (and the noise of the passing traffic!) to justify its prices. Whilst the food was no more expensive than other meals we have had here in Cannes, the menu was less adventurous, cuisine less accomplished and the service far less friendly than we have experienced elsewhere. I would also agree that the wine selection was very expensive by comparison.

Look a little harder and you will find significantly better value.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank RNKBenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
227 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

What a great place. Right across from the harbor, delicious food, friendly service. Quality price is right too. Went there twice in one week and will go again

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rosan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent presentation and excellent taste ... Defenitly to try”
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

Excellent we loved it!
Desserts are a must try and the set course menu is a gr8 option
You get to try an appetizer a main dish and a dessert at a very fair price !

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rytasili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great address”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Great food and very nice people. With a little bit more AC inside it would have been perfect. We had tuna tartare, petits farcies, king prawns, and strawberries pie. Everything was delicious, nicely presented and very tasty.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank delaplj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'assiette provencale also viewed

Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to L'assiette provencale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing