We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lazy break August 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Novotel Cannes Montfleury
Ranked #40 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Yateley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lazy break August 2013”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Booked last minute break through BA holidays and arrived on 31st July for 7 nights. Knew the hotel had a pool but due to past experience at other Novotel hotels didn't expect too much - so very happily surprised to find that this hotel is a real gem. Located about fifteen minute downhill walk from La Croisette and the sea, our rooms were well furnished with a balcony overlooking the pool area (think it was called a garden view), excellent pool with tons of sunbeds - probably because they cost 9 euros per day per bed which is excessive but did mean that we could stroll down whenever we wanted and be sure of three beds together. We dined in the restaurant twice and found the food to be great quality. The gym is a bit basic but has two running machines, two cycles and assorted other equipment. There is also a steam room and sauna and massage available. WIFI is free throughout the hotel but is dodgy away from reception area and keeps loosing connection. There is also a free shuttle to and from the town centre which we used frequently and was very useful. Should mention the building work taking place next to the hotel which generated a lot of noise but we hardly noticed it after a while. Would definitely go again and would look forward to doing so!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric R, General Manager at Novotel Cannes Montfleury, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
First of all, we appreciate the time you took to relate your stay with us at the Novotel Cannes Montfleury.

It was a real pleasure to read your impressions about the location, our hotel and its facilities we provide. Your comments are really important to us.

I confirm that the acces to the pool is free as well as the garden area around it. We charge the sunbeds like all the hotels in Cannes. The rates for sunbeds are 9€ for a day and 5 € for half a day.

Concerning free WIFI : be sure that we passed this comment to our technical service to avoid this matter in the future. The connection should work throughout the whole hotel without the loss of connection.

For information : the construction works next to our hotel are finished by the end of the year 2013.

We are delighted that the Novotel Cannes Montfleury lived up to your expectations and hope to welcome you again soon!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    312
    139
    65
    30
See reviews for
186
251
34
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

LOCATION / HOW TO GET THERE
It’s a little outside centrum, but Cannes is quite small, so only 15-20 minutes’ walk to the main eria. If you use a TomTom, it’s quite incorrect, so take care.. Easier to find the Montfleury eria.

ROOMS
We are a family of 4, kids 14+15 yo. Stayed 5 nights. Rooms OK, standard Novotel, acceptable with the sofa made as a bed for 2 kids. They did complain of the sleep quality though..
Clean, lots of towels etc. as you can respect from Novotel.

FACILITIES:
OK pool, not very large, but very deep. So if you bring small children (under 12), they will not be able to stand anywhere in the pool, expect the stairs.
The kids pool’s a joke. And also to pay Euro 9.00 for a sun bed as a guest, even if this is Cannes..! (If half a day you pay 5.00) Towels are free (if Accor member, as I am?). Nice café at the pool, also a wery good restaurant for lunch. (Menu as other Novotel in this part of France).
The standard Novotel PC/X-Box in reception for the young ones. Free underground parking.
Free MiniBus to centre.

SERVICE:
Welcoming. Understaffed during breakfast, but got a lot better when the more effective restaurant manager came back to work! (Fun to see how much this business is all about people!)
Lots of new staff, lost a lot of plates, glasses etc. in the floor all the time. Quite amusing.
And also quite cute; when I asked a young new waiter for more coffee cups at the coffee-machine, since the tray was empty, he came back a couple of minutes later with one (1) cup,
instead of a tray with cups. I’ve sat down in the meantime, another guest have of course taken the cup. When I asked again, he came back with (still) 1 cup..!

SUGGESTIONS FOR IMPROVEMENTS:
At breakfast, there was not one single vegetable, like tomatoes, cucumber etc., which is nice to have. (Novotel Monte Carlo had a lot, stayed there a week later).

TIPS:
If you want to take the complimentary mini-bus to downtown Cannes, it’s smart to book a time early in the day, could be fully booked at your preferred time in the evening.
Save your money for a sun-chair. The lawn just outside the pool is free of charge and more comfortable!

CONCLUSION:
OK, but not as nice as other Novotels I’ve stayed in. A good choice if with (young) children.

Room Tip: If you have a room with "mountain view", ask for a high floor. (Not mutch view there eithe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gunnargutten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric R, General Manager at Novotel Cannes Montfleury, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you for taking time to relate your stay at the Novotel Cannes Montfleury and I hope you enjoyed your visit in Cannes.

We welcome all constructive criticism, as it helps us to get better.

Concerning location, Novotel Cannes Montfleury is the only hotel proposing a free parking in Cannes and we are at only 10 minutes by walk from the city center and its beaches. Moreover, we have a free shuttle that brings our guest to “La Croisette” in less then 6 minutes.

I’m pleased to read you enjoyed our facilities within our hotel. Our outdoor swimming pool and kids pool are free, as well as the garden area. We charge sunbeds during July and August, like all the other hotels providing sunbeds in Cannes. Family facilities includes babysitting/child services on request, a children’s play area (video games, library,..) and balanced menus. Also good to know is that children under the age of 16, who were mentioned at reservation, are accommodated for free and their buffet breakfasts taken with their parents or grandparents are free as well.

We have passed on the remarks to our restaurant manager concerning service in order to strengthen their team training, and the large choice that we can consider to extend with vegetables. Our american buffet consists of a various amount of hot drinks, orange juices, different sorts of breads, pastries :brioches, croissants and ‘pains au chocolat’ freshly baked every morning at the hotel, fruits, sausages, bacon, eggs, waffles, and so on. And this all you can eat.

We appreciate the time you took to share your opinion and we hope to welcome you soon again for your next visit in Cannes!

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 weeks and as time went on it became apparent management needs to deal with the many inadequecies of this hotel. On the plus side the location is good and the free shuttle to town is a definite plus. The free parking and free wifi are also beneficial. The wifi is "iffy" at best and cuts out frequently. The "dining room" and I say that loosely is a large room with no decor or ambience and most unappealing. It's a shame because after a long day it would be nice to have a dining room you would want to be in. The outside space is very attractive but the hot weather makes eating outside not possible all the time .The staff works hard and when asked about the poor dining space or any othe problem they all respond "I know" as if they have heard it before but they are not in a position to rectify anything. Our key to our room needed to be reprogrammed on a daily basis, the bathtub is very unsafe- slippery without anything to make it more secure, the pool charge is 9 euro a day to sit at the pooling a lounge chair but if you want to swim and not sit its free, there is no elevator to the pool so one must walk down a large flight of marble steps and my husband fell going down. The manager means well but seems impotent to make any changes. Also be cautioned they allow dogs to stay here and I felt like I was in a vets office at breakfast where hotel guests fed their dogs from the buffet. Go someplace else if you have a choice.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank G S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric R, General Manager at Novotel Cannes Montfleury, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you for answering our questionnaire. I appreciate the time you took to share the difficulties you encountered during your stay.

Although i’m delighted to read that you enjoyed our free shuttle service, undeground parking lot and WIFI, i’m dissapointed to learn that there were several aspects that influenced your stay negatively.

We have taken your comments concerning the restaurant decoration/style and its service into account. We are striving to improve and offer our guests a more efficient service in busy times like these.
We transferred your remarks about the room to the housekeeping and our technical service. One of the most common reasons of room key-cards who stop fonctionating, is when you hold it next to an electronic device like a cell phone, it will demagnetise.

The pool is free of charge as well as the garden area around it. Our guests are not obliged to take sunbeds. If so, we charge 9 € for the day and 5 € for half a day. Please ask reception for assistance to bring you down to level -1 with the elevator for acces to the pool and restaurant.

Rest assured that the comfort and the satisfaction of our guests are our first preoccupation.

We do hope that, despite these issues, we will be able to welcome you again at the Novotel Cannes Montfleury,

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

This hotel is just terrible. Staff (just women) at the reception are very arrogant..it seems like they do not care if the guest feel satisfied or not. The guest must do all kind of reservations..from the sunbed to the shuttle, the sunbed you must pay 9 Eur (that should be written somewhere before you book hotel). Elevator didn't work. The hotel is located in the hill, in the night is not nice walking there. The room is the only thing that is ok, but the corridors are horrible. This hotel is not a 4 star hotel..this is low 3 star hotel and is not worth the money you pay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunnyOS2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric R, Directeur général at Novotel Cannes Montfleury, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We value the opinions of our customers and we truly apologize that we did not meet your expectations.

Most of our staff has been working with us for a long time. We keep regular and happy co-workers who are professional and willing to always do their best. We have however hired several trainees and new co-workers due to the level of occupancy. Even though all information might take time to be gathered to everyone, we acknowledge these weaknesses, but learning and training takes time if one wants to do it properly.
Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. We have addressed the arrogance issue, and spoken with the reception staff in question.

We recommend our guests to make reservations for the shuttle and sunbeds in advance to avoid disappointment. The access to the pool and the garden area are free of charge. The guests are not obliged to book a sunbed. Concerning rates for sunbeds, we charge 9 € per day (8 a.m until 7 p.m) or 5 € for half a day during July and August, like all the hotels in Cannes.

Due to a technical issue, the elevator did not work properly. From the moment we report this, a technical service (24/24) is on the way to fix this matter.

Concerning location, Novotel Cannes Montfleury is the only hotel proposing a free parking in Cannes and we are at only 10 minutes by walk from the beach. Moreover, we have a free shuttle that brings our guest to La Croisette in less than 6 minutes.

Your statement about the decoration and style of the corridors was taken into account and will be incorporated into the next investment program for the renovation of the hotel.

Please rest assured that the comfort and the satisfaction of our guests are our first preoccupation. We thank you for your understanding and for helping us to improve the quality of our service.

I hope that you will give us a second chance to show our willing to satisfy you.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cannes hotels

London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Each year in June we stay at the Novotel Cannes Montfleury - some years we return again in September. Always for 4 - 6 night stay. We feel this is a "little gem"!! Superb location in a quiet resudential area of Cannes and yet within a short walk or taxi ride to the lively Port and main hotel area of Cannes. Staff are friendly - lovely pool and breakfast.
We look forward already to our 11th visit!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusanKarmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric R, Directeur général at Novotel Cannes Montfleury, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us at the Novotel Cannes Montfleury and I’m thrilled to read that it was a success.

I confirm that we are located at only 10 min by walk from the beach and our free shuttle service will bring you in less than 6 minutes to the Palais des Festivals. Also, a free underground parking lot is at your disposal.

All your kind comments with regards to our staff are highly appreciated and I gladly transfer them to our team.

We are looking forward to accommodate you for your 11th visit and many more to come!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

We have just came back from a South France trip and stayed in this hotel for 5 nights.
The worst 4star I have ever seen in my life !
We booked a double room and on arrival we realised there are only twin rooms availabe in the hotel and they Sticking them together and sel it as double ! There wre 5 Cm gap between the beds.
Half of the receptionists do not speak and understand English so if you dont speak frnech you wil be in trouble.
You will be charged for the Swimming Pool for 10 Euro!! How embarresing is that for a 4* hotel.
the AC was not working in my room (essential in the heat of July) and we could not change the room as the hotel was full.
Overall, very unhappy with my first experience with NOvotel and will not ever make this mistake again.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a real double bed not 2 singles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunGirl2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric R, Directeur général at Novotel Cannes Montfleury, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
First of all, thank you for sharing the aspects that influenced your stay with us at the Novotel Cannes Montfleury.
I’m very sorry to hear that these issues affected your satisfaction negatively.

Our rooms are equipped with twin beds (2 separate beds or 2 beds made up as 1 bed), or with double queen size beds.
Our reception team consists of employees of all different nationalities. Unfortunately, the person who was at your disposal didn’t ask her team for assistance.

The access to the pool and garden area is free. Concerning rates for sunbeds, we charge 9 € per day (8 a.m until 7 p.m) or 5 € for half a day during July and August, like most of the hotels in Cannes.

I’m sorry to read that our technical service was not able to repair the air-conditioning as soon as possible and that we were not able to offer you another room due to our disponibility during that period. Be sure that this will be followed up in order to prevent this matter from occurring again.

I do hope that, despite your first experience, you will give us a second chance to welcome you again as a client of Novotel.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.8 mi away
Novotel Suites Cannes Centre
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Cannes Riviera & Spa
0.3 mi away
Cezanne Hotel
Cezanne Hotel
#23 of 126 in Cannes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Clarion Suites Cannes Croisette
0.1 mi away
La Bastide De L'Oliveraie
2.2 mi away
Hotel Chateau De La Tour
Hotel Chateau De La Tour
#18 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Cannes Montfleury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cannes Montfleury

Property: Novotel Cannes Montfleury
Address: 25 avenue Beausejour, 06400 Cannes, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Cannes
#31 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cannes Montfleury 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The traditional juxtaposed with the modern ! In the heart of this legendary town, located in a peaceful park just ten minutes on foot from the Croisette and close to the town centre and the beaches, you will find the Novotel Cannes Montfleury. A four star hotel which offers you a harmonious interior decor and a warm welcome.Discover the calm atmosphere of our 182 bedrooms. Remove the stress of worrying about organising your professional business events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Cannes Montfleury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cannes Montfleury Hotel Cannes
Accor Cannes Montfleury
Cannes Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing