We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Tulip Cannes Hotel De Paris
Ranked #82 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Israel
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awful experience”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We were SO disappointed in this hotel. We arrived late and maybe that explains why we got put in an absolutely dreadful room. Room 167 - STAY AWAY. I can put up with a lot of things but we were immediately overtaken by the smell! Rancid! Also the double bed was tiny and there was barely any room to move around the bed or place our suitcases. The room was under a low roof- sort of like a Harry Potter under the stair closet. The pitiful sized balcony literally sat in between dirty, moldy roof shingles of the rooms nearby. Also we had no remote control for the TV and when we called reception we were told a remote control was not possible. After one night we asked to move to a different room (on the first day they said it wasn't possible). Ironically they DOWNGRADED us (the first room was a "superior" room - HA LOL) and it was barely tolerable compared to the first. At least there was no smell. The bed was bigger but the street noise was unbearable and the walls were so thin i heard noise all night long from the hallway.
Oh, and i forgot to mention how cheap the hotel is: they don't even light the hallways during the night - there is just a tiny emergency light. I never saw anything like it. Parking is expensive (25 euro a day), though I suppose I knew that ahead of time. Also, using pool towels costs 4 euro and if you wet it and replace it it is another 4 euro! Overall we had an awful experience. In their defense, they DID change the room after one night and left us some sample perfumes as a consolation gift, I suppose. Also the bathroom and sheets were clean. But the decor was run-down with old, broken tiles and yellowing plastic accessories in the bathroom. I would never recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Audrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandrine L, Manager at Golden Tulip Cannes Hotel De Paris, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear Client ,

I truly believe that this is a genuine misunderstanding. Sir. Know that you paid a standard room at 130 euros for 2 nights. We've changed you immediately in another room to get you superior room. But you have not been satisfied. We have a establishment with all necessary standard and we are making great work every year. All rooms have flat screen latest models on the market equipped with their remote. The equipment is checked daily by our our housekeeper and our service technician. and it is wrong to think and say we do not have the basic equipment. We have standards of cleanliness and quality reviewed and audited annually by the Golden Tulip chain. We were 3 times the best in europe.
I can not let some people say false things about our hotel.
The terasses are clean and have a view of all Cannes. And I assure you that there is no bad smell on the 4th floor, fully renovated 2 years ago.

There really is a big misunderstanding because picines towels are charged 4 euros for once. You can change as much as you want without repaying the 4 euros!
Regarding parking, no one is forcing customers to stay in our parking. You have the choice between public city parking or finding some places in the street.


We are good professionals from several decade, and I am very disappointed to read untrue comments . In regards of the work of every one in this hotel, we won't let such comment let it go like this.

Sandrine L
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    70
    45
    19
    20
See reviews for
34
83
8
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Great hotel. Within a short walk of the town and the beach, excellent access to railway station etc. Rather close to a main road, but it didn't bother us at all. Good suggestions of places to go, and an excellent deal with a good private beach (Rado Plage).
Really enjoyed it. Staff were great, pool is lovely. Wifi reception not great, and disappointed to be charged extra for that.
Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgoldman77
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We were forced to reside after this hotel after finding accommodations at a hotel around the corner unacceptable. This place was more expensive, but a little quieter, cleaner, and more prepared to accept tourists. The lobby reeks of perfume upon first entry. The management is in constant negotiation over the price of the room, the cost of the Internet (15 Euros per device per day!), the cost of parking, etc. This makes the stay unpleasant, as one is often thinking of how to protect oneself from getting ripped off. The bathroom needs an upgrade; the room was smallish, ok as far as it went. Fortunately the management allowed us to leave without penalty when personal situation forced us to end our trip short.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hgoldman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I stayed at the golden Tulip as I was on a shoot around the Cannes Film Festival.
I know that it is high season and that part of France tend to skew prices to make lots of money on visiting tourists.

This place, however, goes beyond imagination to rip people off.
We payed over 430 Euros a night to get a room that was barely bigger than a double bed, with a 2 star hotel style toilet and a balcony that could barely fit one person in it.

To top it all up, it was by the side of an extremely busy road.
The photos on the site and brochure look good, as the building does look nice externally, but once you're in, you notice how bad it is.

I do travel a lot for business and pleasure, and I do know that hotels in France tend to be a rip off - but this one has far exceed my expectations in being one of the worst I've ever been to.

Avoid if you can.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christiano007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandrine L, Responsable relations publiques at Golden Tulip Cannes Hotel De Paris, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Dear Sir,
We are a 4 star hotel located in the heart of the city of Cannes. We have undertaken work for our total renovation of 50 rooms and bathrooms to make our hotel an exceptional and amaising "boutique hotel."
Our work will be completed in 2016.
We are more than sorry if you were not satisfyed with the unrenovated part of our establishment. We will put very soon the 1st pictures of the renovation.
We hope that you will take some time to look at the new pictures and we hope that you will change your mind afterwards.
We are waiting forward to accommodate you again in the new part of the hotel. We will completed this work only in 2016. our best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cannes hotels

Warsaw
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The hotel is located near Cannes centre, however you have to cross a boulevard going toward uptown. There is a big Casino supermarche close to the hotel. The biggest disadvantage are small and rooms (at least I had one of those which is discouraging for over 200€ per night). Also the internet you have to pay additionally (rate per day) as well as breakfest so that was a good choice for business trip.

Room Tip: There is a nice garden with swiming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ola K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandrine L, Responsable commercial at Golden Tulip Cannes Hotel De Paris, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Google Translation
Cher Monsieur, Chère Madame,

Nous sommes vraiment désolés que nos chambres n'étaient pas selon vos attentes et à votre gout. Nous avons entrepris cette année 2013 d'énormes travaux de refontes de nos 50 chambres et salles de bain qui vont être dans un style très contemporain. Ces travaux prendront fin en 2016; Je vous invite personnellement à me recontacter afin de passer un séjour extraordinaire et inoubliable avec nous dans notre nouvel hôtel.
J'espère pouvoir vous satifaire très prochainement au Golden Tulip Hôtel de Paris Cannes.

Bien à vous,
Sandrine L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

I pre-booked my room and pre-paid. When I arrived I was greated by an unfriendly front desk guy who excplained the hotel was full and they are putting me up in an apartment and didn't understand why I had a problem with that. I was moved back to the hotel the 2nd night per my request which turned out to be a big mistake as the hotel rooms are tiny, don't smell very fresh and simply not good. Also my room was ajdecent to the elevator pier which was very noisy at night.

Breakfast is OK but not what one would ecpect in Southern France.

The lady front desk people were much friendlier.

The location is pretty good!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m747p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonsberg, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 8 days in august 2012. We drove by it late at night after driving the coast and arriving in Cannes way to late to get a place to sleep. The hotel looked closed, we probably just could have rang the bell haha. Instead we drove to Grasse hoping to find somewhere to sleep. Not a chance. We parked the car by the road in a nice-looking area and tried to get some sleep around 6 o´clock in the morning. Slept for two-three hours, woke up in an over-heated car, thirsty and feeling like hell :)

Well, enough of that. We drove back to the hotel hoping for a room. Lucky us, we got one and we even got a place to park the car. Yes, we had to pay for that. We are used to pay for everything. We are from Norway haha, so we were just extremly happy we could have the car placed safe since we had all or stuff for three weeks vacation in it :)

The room wasn´t available until two o´clock. We were hungry, thirsty and tired. They told us we could stay in the garden-area behind the hotel. Oh my god, we felt like we arrived in heaven. A beautiful little area with a swimming pool. We were served food and something cold to drink and almost fell asleep in the chairs back there. Paradise....

We were not planning to stay here for more than one night. It became 8. We felt so at home in this hotel. We stayed in three different rooms, the best one on top with balcony. We just loved coming "home" at night after dinner in town, bringing a glass of wine upstairs and spending some time at the balcony on a nice warm summer night. We loved coming home after a day at the beach, sit down in the garden area, have an omelette and something cold to drink before going to our room for a shower. We loved coming "home" from our trips around the french coast being met by lovely staff asking how our day was. We loved the walks from the hotel to the beach-area and back home. Kind of gave us the opportunity to get to know Cannes more. Walking around here, there and everywhere :)

We loved the staff. Friendly, service-minded and always doing their best to make us feel great everyone of them!

The hotel is placed close to a road and the railway. It didn´t bother us. We closed the door at night (then we didn´t hear a sound), turned on the aircondition (thank god for that) and slept like babies in a bit too small bed. Forced us to stay close ;) The rooms vary, but they are all very tidy and clean. The bathrooms are not high-standard - but we don´t spend much time in bath-rooms anyway. Clean, clean towels and everything is just fine :)

Breakfast, non of us very fond of (can´t blame the hotel for that) had everything you could ask for. It did cost extra.

We really hope to see you again some day! Thanks to all of you at Hotel Tulip for making our stay such a wonderful one. Thanks for making us feel like home.

Mr and Mrs Omelette :)

Jørn and Hilde

Room Tip: We would have chosen the one on top with balcony. Loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 682Hilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.1 mi away
Cezanne Hotel
Cezanne Hotel
#26 of 126 in Cannes
311 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Cannes Riviera & Spa
0.3 mi away
Eden Hotel & Spa
Eden Hotel & Spa
#27 of 126 in Cannes
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cannes Montfleury
Novotel Cannes Montfleury
#56 of 126 in Cannes
764 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarion Suites Cannes Croisette
1.8 mi away
Hotel Chateau De La Tour
Hotel Chateau De La Tour
#22 of 126 in Cannes
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Cannes Hotel De Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Cannes Hotel De Paris

Property: Golden Tulip Cannes Hotel De Paris
Address: 34, boulevard d'Alsace, 06400 Cannes, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#41 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Cannes Hotel De Paris 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 4 star Mediterranean-style Hotel located 7 minutes walk away from la Croisette Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Golden Tulip Cannes Hotel De Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Cannes
Cannes Golden Tulip
Tulip Paris Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing