We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cannes stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Colette

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Colette
Ranked #34 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cannes stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Had a very good stay at this Hotel, it is ideally situated with walking distance.
Staff were excellent always smiling and even searching the web for us to give directions on how to get to St Tropaz. Manager was very friendly as well.
Breakfast room was nice and Airy and good selection , with excellent service.
The only issue the bedroom small had to climb over partner to get out of bed.
Haridas

Room Tip: Ask for a bigger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haridasamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie G, Propriétaire at Hotel Colette, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Haridas,

Thank you for your comment left on the web site.
We are very pleased to read your satisfaction.

Waiting to welcome you again and let you discover new rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    149
    55
    22
    18
See reviews for
50
181
20
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We arrived as a group late in the evening to check in to find that one of our group members did not have a room despite booking it a month before arrival! The hotel were not accomodating at all in this very stressful situation as no contact was made prior to arrival to warn that our group would be seperated to another hotel! The hotel staff could not understand why we felt this customer service was unacceptable which exasperated the situation, plus the fact that the "reason" why there was no room available changed once we probed the staff. This shows a lack of professionalism and arrogance for a 4* Hotel.
Despite this bad start to our stay, we make special reference to the very kind and generous night reception staff! He was accomodating to us and very helpful! If it wasn't for him, the entire experience at this hotel would have been a nightmare. We all travel to Cannes for work regularly and will NEVER stay here again, nor will recommend the hotel to friends or colleagues. There are many other places to stay in Cannes that are better value!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lolo0908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie G, Directeur général at Hotel Colette, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comment on Tripadvisor and let us apologize again for the inconvenience you experienced with your booking,
We do understand your frustration and disappointment and we confirm that unfortunately we could not inform you earlier as we had the incident late that day. We strived to fix it until last minute but due to holiday time in France we could not manage to get the corresponding technician to intervene. This is the reason why we finally decided to secure a room in a close similar 4* hotel.
We realize that this exceptional situation does not cope with what you could expect when checking in a hotel and if we have the chance to get your indulgence do not hesitate to contact me directly for your upcoming stays in Cannes.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

This renovated small hotel is very clean , pleasant and has a great location close to the main venues and not far from the beach , great and efficient staff and excellent service I will be surely back here .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie G, Propriétaire at Hotel Colette, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Amit B,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comment on the website.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the charm of our “boutique Hotel”, its location, its warm and refined atmosphere. It is with a great pleasure that we welcome you again.

With our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

The staff at hotel Colette are extremely pleasant and the hotel itself is decent but is in no way luxurious. For being in Cannes the price is right and the rooms are clean and although small are decorated as nicely as possible. If you are passing through or staying a few days then this hotel is great, a longer stay and you may consider somewhere else.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank amanjeanwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie G, Propriétaire at Hotel Colette, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Client,

Thank you for taking the time to let your feelings on the web site.
Waiting to welcome you again and let you discover new rooms.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

I received nothing but great service from all of the staff at this hotel. My room was really pleasant and very big. The bathroom was clean and good. Breakfast was really good with a wide choice of fresh fruits and continental breakfast.

Room Tip: Close to the station and Cannes centre within walking distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CulinaryDelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
344 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

First things first, we were guests of my husband’s hosts, who booked us this hotel, which means we were not paying for it and I have no idea how much they paid – probably a lot as this was high season and MipCom. Had we been able to, we would have upgraded to a bigger room as this hotel has the tiniest rooms I have ever seen.
We arrived early but our room was ready, so top marks for the hotel. Nothing was mentioned about having to pay a supplement for me – but this is the tenth, maybe fifteenth time I have accompanied my husband to Cannes and I know our hosts always book a double room with breakfast included. So we trotted upstairs to the room (my husband in the lift with our luggage, me up the stairs as there was no room for two). However, as soon as we saw the room, we asked if they could find us another. We were here for five nights, with one of us working from the room and this room (218) was the smallest I’ve ever seen, with the diminutive double bed pushed against the wall (not good as my husband will admit, he is not sylph-like). It also smelled of smoke. The shower was minuscule. The dark-haired female receptionist was not particularly helpful and asked us to wait until her manager arrived- he was expected at 1.30 pm but had ‘phoned to say he was late so we went out for lunch. He turned out to be more helpful when we came back and showed us two others rooms on the second floor (not upgrades, mind, just the same category of room but with a different configuration). We chose one of them. It was the same size as the first one but the bathroom was a tad bigger and the bed was not against the wall, phew, although there was barely any room to swing a cat, let alone set up a computer, work and walk around without hitting the TV. However, we soon discovered the AC was not working so off we went again, moving all our stuff to the same room one floor above (with a balcony).
There is a strange lack of consistency in design in this hotel: the second room we occupied had a towel rail by the sink (very useful as you can’t swing a cat in the bathroom either). The third floor room didn’t. The second floor room’s bathroom was freshly tiled throughout, the third floor had new wall tiles but cracked floor tiles and scratches/finger marks on the inside/outside of the bathroom door (which, incidentally, barely cleared the bed when opened). My flannel was taken away on day 1, never to be seen again (I bought a new one, no big deal) and there was some inconsistency about replenishing toiletries (we had almost no shower gel left and I had to ask for some more). The first room had some chocolates on the pillow as a welcome gesture but we never saw any chocolates again (that’s fine, better for the figure but a bit strange).
Back to the bathroom and amenities, this is what it says on Expedia for a standard double room, which, I believe is what we had been given:
This room overlooks the city or courtyard. Premium bedding, Egyptian cotton linens, and blackout drapes/curtains invite a good night's sleep. The private bathroom has a shower/tub combination with a handheld showerhead, as well as bathrobes and slippers.
We certainly did not see a shower/bath combination, we just had a shower (and some issues with air locks which meant the sink tap and shower kept spluttering, going from hot to lukewarm for a second). Nor did we have slippers and as to a bathrobe, it was nowhere to be seen either. The bathroom is so small, why do they need to add a useless, large ceramic dish in it (no way can you sit on it), especially as any breakages will cost you dear, the list in the welcome pack is pretty daunting (£40 for a glass, hellooooo)?
As there is no window to the shower room, it gets very steamed up – if you’re the second person in the bathroom, don’t expect to be able to put on your make up or shave for a while.
The towels were adequate but rather small (very narrow, they will barely cover your bum and I’m only 5ft 4 and a bit).
The breakfast was OK (juice, yoghurt, fruit salad, scrambled eggs and bacon, bread and mini-pastries, coffee from a machine) but pricey at €12 per person (try and negotiate a B&B rate if possible or simply go to one of the numerous cafes nearby where you can have a croissant and a coffee for a few Euros). I wonderered why it was not possible to keep the coffee machine going all day and leave paper cups by the side, so guests could help themselves throughout the day? This would be a nice touch, although there was water and juice available at reception if you wanted some but ongoing coffee is always a great addition to a hotel’s offering.
It’s sometimes noisy around the station late at night (I was woken up by noise at least three out of the five nights we spent there, shouting and screaming three floors below our room) so a room on the other side would probably have been quieter. It was, as a rule, too noisy to keep the window open and the AC was also too noisy to keep on all night so you were either too hot or bothered by outside noise.
Good linen but the bed was lumpy and the pillows so soft they were pretty much useless.
The lift is extremely small and claustrophobic. It is also so much in use that it’s rare to for it to arrive quickly at your floor – taking the stairs was usually quicker. I am not sure that a wheelchair would fit in the lift and the very narrow landing between the stairs and the lift door would make it very difficult to manoeuvre.
Free Wifi is a must these days and we will not go to a hotel which does not provide it as we both need it for work. The hotel Colette Wifi was fairly fast when we arrived but slowed down dramatically as the hotel became fuller, especially in the late afternoon.
We were prepared to overlook all of this because of the convenient location and helpfulness of the manager. However, our surprise and annoyance when we were asked to pay €30 per night extra for my stay in the room (and breakfast) knew no bounds. The same dark-haired, unhelpful girl had the gall to tell us that we’d been upgraded! At no stage had we been advised of this but, with our taxi waiting and a flight to catch, there was no way we had time to call our hosts and remedy the situation. So my husband got out his credit card and paid the £150 for the privilege of my staying in a one-person minuscule room, with a tiny shower, no space to work and a cup of coffee, a yoghurt and a couple of mini-pastries in the morning. Never ever will we come back to this hotel and we have already asked our hosts NOT to book us there again. Over the years, we have stayed in so many hotels in Cannes, from the Montaigne to the Majestic, the Cannes Riviera to the Resideal Premium, where the price is always per room, not per person, and this has, truly, been the worst hotel we’ve stayed at.
Is this a ‘Boutique hotel’? God no, nowhere near. I’ve stayed in boutique hotels in South Africa and the US and they are luxurious and well appointed with superb staff and facilities. This is, basically, a three-star hotel tarted up to look trendy but with tiny rooms, tiny showers and at an inflated price. The manager was fairly helpful when it came to changing rooms (although, the second time, this was due to a fault with the AC) and the location is very convenient but apart from that, and in view of the lack of information about the supplement and the terribly small rooms, we will not come back ever.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank caratania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibettan, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Colette, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We are astonished and sad to read your feedback on your stay at the Hotel Colette.
Be sure that we are taking all your comments into consideration in order to improve our service.

First of all, we would like to inform you that the rate and category of your room were negotiated with your husband's hosts. They should have told you that extra fees would apply for any extra guest, and we are sorry they did not.
Be aware that during fare periods, rooms are booked for business by the events managers at negotiated rates and are usually for a single occupancy. Our smallest room are indeed often attributed in these cases.
Since we were fullybooked when you stayed at the hotel and a standard room was booked under your name, it was really difficult to propose you a room that exactly matched with your expectations by upgrading you.

Anyway, we sorry that there was such a misunderstanding which made you feel trapped when you had to pay extra fees at check out.

Regarding the Hotel Colette, it was renovated according to the standards of a 4* hotel in France.
Comfort, design and size of each room and bathroom fit perfectly with those criterium.
Most of our guests enjoy this atypical and cosy atmosphere because they feel like home. You may prefer more traditional hotels.

Regarding the smoke smell, our hotel is totally smoke free. Guests who smoke in the room have to pay a penalty to entirely refresh the room. Given that your room had a balcony, we can suppose that the previous guest had a smoke on the balcony and that the smell went inside, but you should have informed us, we would have refresh it immediately.

Moreover, when you stayed at the hotel, your room was just equipped with new AC, our staff was not familiar with at that time and could not solcve your problem. Please apologize us about this inconvenience.

When were also surprised by what you wrote about your flannel which disappeared. You should have told us during your stay, for sure, we would have investigated.

Regarding our breakfast, our guests have always been satisfied with our buffet breakfast that offers only fresh and quality food for 12€.
We do not keep the coffee machine freely at disposal during the day but propose a bar menu that you can enjoy 24/7.

Once again, be sure that every single day, we do our best to satisfy our guests and to meet their expectations.
We are very sorry that your stay with us was not at your convenience but sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome your again to make you change your mind about our hotel.

We remain at your disposal.

Best regards,
Isabelle Bettan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Very convenient location. Short Walking distance to "La Croisette", the old hardor, restaurants and all public transportation.
The room and bathroom recently renovated felt new. Very clean. Facing a street yet quiet.
The American and Continental breakfast was well worth it.
The staff was friendly and accommodating.
Having stayed in 4 star hotels in 3 European countries prior to arriving in Cannes, we were not disappointed. We recommend Hotel Colette

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Renoir
Hotel Renoir
#10 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cannes Gallia
Hotel Cannes Gallia
#30 of 126 in Cannes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Simone
Hotel Simone
#37 of 126 in Cannes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Canberra
Hotel Le Canberra
#7 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#27 of 126 in Cannes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Suites Cannes Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colette

Property: Hotel Colette
Address: 5 Place de la Gare, 06400 Cannes, France
Region: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Cannes
#27 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Colette 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW Opening April 18th 2011Located in Cannes city center, in the heart of the shopping area of the rue Antibes, and five minutes walk from La Croisette beach, the new hotel Colette is the ideal place of your business or leisure stays on the French RIviera.With its 48 air-conditioned rooms, fully renovated, this 3 stars hotel offers you all necessary services to make your stay in Cannes as easy as pleasant : free wifi high speed internet access, flat screen televisions equipped with 50. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Colette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Cannes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing