We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need”
Review of JW Marriott Cannes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott Cannes
Ranked #16 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Service at reception was polite and helpful
Bedroom was as expected, we had been given the pool view because of a financial mix up at the time of booking, which helped take away my fustration, this allowed us to have a lovely breakfast on the balcony - Room 427. Friends of mine were in other parts of the hotel, opposite the road/construction which was not so nice. The chairs on the balcony need to be changed, they are not worn out but after about half an hour you notice how uncomfortable they are! Powerful shower and comfortable beds. Unless you speak French the TV is pretty much useless, except for BBC world news. Room was cleaned well everyday, no problems whatsoever.

Food is so expensive in the hotel 25 euros per head for breakfast is ridiculous, we went to the local supermarket and bought stuff. Tea is 5.50 euros for one sachet not even a full pot!

Pool was freezing and not very clean but if you just want to lay out in the sun then you won't care.

Car parking was easy.

All in all a decent stay, yes I would go back for the weekend, probably not any longer.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (904)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

548 - 554 of 904 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2011

We got a spectacularly good deal here (thanks Amex!) for a five day 'fly and flop'. There is some truth in most of the other reviews - if you're looking for a sparkly, properly five star, top of the range Marriott with the highest standards of service and every possible whim granted, you may be disappointed here. Our check in was slow and grumpy (Saturday night and within minutes of dealing with us, our receptionist was out of uniform and off down the Croisette - clearly we were slowing her up from a night out), breakfast and evening service struggles at busy times and the Concierge was distinctly unbothered about our enquiries about whether the hotel has a private beach (it doesn't). But hey, the sun shone for five days without interruption, you're in the centre of one of the most glamorous places on earth, you learn quickly that everything is staggeringly expensive and if you're going to have anything like a good time, you just have to stop converting euros into pounds and just go with the flow. Don't worry about the rooftop pool being only slightly larger than your average padding pool - enjoy the extraordinary view and watch the super yachts come in. What matter that the gym only has two exercise bikes - get outside, stroll down the Croisette and watch them prepare one of the beaches for some fabulously glamorous private party. Make the most of the location, get the best deal you can and just enjoy,

Room Tip: Not really worth paying extra for a sea view room. The size is the same and they're considerably...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryMH41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

In writing this review, I can't really think of anything that stood out and I was there a week ago. Breakfast was o-k. Not much to report back. Just standard fare. You'd have to flag the waitress down to get eggs or omelets. There's a Sixt car rental place practically next to the reception so that was very convenient for renting a car and exploring the French Rivera. Staff was o-k. As a platinum guest, you get free breakfast and free internet as well as a welcome gift. We went up to the deck and the pool was tiny. There is a great view of the city from the roof top deck but I wouldn't stay at the hotel for sun and definitely not for the pool.

I wouldn't consider this hotel a 5 star hotel that I just want to lounge at the entire day. The price is not worth what you receive in return. In terms of location, there's shopping around and that's pretty much it. If you're looking for activities to do, you can well, just walk around, enjoy the breeze and look at the dinner menus.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank aiyagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I moved from a small 4 star nearby boutique hotel to this property once the room rates dropped, following the conclusion of the Cannes Boat Show, as I wanted a full service 5 star hotel for my last few days in Cannes. I wish I had never moved. This is definitely not a property that measures up to JW Marriott standards. The interior of the lobby and hallways is tacky and worn and the beds in the rooms are lacking support and uncomfortable. The entire hotel needs a facelift! I was very dissappointed. Much better value can be found in Cannes.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank globegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

This is an okay hotel in a great location, but it definitely lacks the qualities you expect from a JW Marriott. The drink and snack prices are outrageous, which is why you never see anybody sitting in the lobby or drinking/eating by the pool.

The rooftop pool has fantastic views of Cannes and the bay, but the area needs to be spruced up and the whirlpools repaired.

The hotel looks and feels a bit tacky for the Croisette and Marriott. It is supposed to have a sleek onyx and silver theme, but it seems more like black plastic and silver plastic.

The rooms are very nice, but the television did not work for four out of five days we were there, and a light switch was broken too. The rooms and lobbies are decorated with huge photo posters of film stars, and these looked great.

The breakfast buffet was mediocre. I arrived here from the Paris Marriott Champs-Elysees - that hotel knows how to do breakfast. They should take the JW away from Cannes and give it to the Champs-Elysees.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

This is certainly not upto Marriott standard by any means. The service is poor and the rooms are of a fair standard. We stay is April just before the film festival and as far as the hotel was concerned teh film festival wa simporant and we were not. The room was on the top floor and they were building on the roof from early morning till late at night.When we complained we were told sorry and they could not move us .
I have stayed at other hotels in Cannes at this time and never had a problem, would not go back here again and did not like the hotels methord in dealing with a problem

Room Tip: not when hotel in busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stephen1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

I'm spending my last night here on a three-night stay for a conference which is conveniently being held in the hotel. This has been very helpful, as the meeting was held in the theatre in the lower levels of the hotel, and meeting rooms on level 1.
This used to be called the Hotel Stephanie, and has been recently renovated. The brown decor is quite warm, but some parts of the hotel are still looking a little tired.
The hotel is right on the Cannes Croisette, so strolling along the promenade is very pleasant in the evenings, with many pedestrian streets with shops and cafes/restaurants just behind the hotel. Walking about 15 minutes towards the castle though is more interesting for dinner in the Old Town section.

The hotel lifts are terrible. Sometimes only one works. Some of the buttons don't light up, and they are SLOW. With lots of people going up and down from the conference, it was often faster to walk the stairs. The rooftop terrace is very pleasant, but should offer more shade.
Beds are comfortable, bathroom is good (shower is excellent with large shower rose, and also handheld hose) but internet connection is expensive. 44 Euro for 3 days is ridiculous, when you can get free wifi in London hotels.

In summary, expensive for what you got. It is on the Croisette, so I suppose I should have expected that.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank kittycat888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
553 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Cannes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Cannes

Address: 50 Boulevard de la Croisette, 06414 Cannes, France (Formerly Palais Stephanié)
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#30 Business Hotel in Cannes
#41 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price Range: £116 - £512 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Cannes 5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the Mediterranean Sea and the Southern Alps, JW Marriott Cannes boasts an incomparable cultural and artistic heritage. The hotel is located on the former site of the Palais des Festivals, placing it at the heart of a city that steps into the spotlight once a year, when shining stars and international events come together for a film festival that has made Cannes the annual showcase for French elegance. Among its many unique features, JW Marriott Cannes is the only luxury hotel on the Croisette to have its own auditorium seating up to 820 guests. It also offers 16 newly renovated multi-functional and totally flexible conference rooms (including 10 new rooms on the 1st floor). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Cannes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Cannes Hotel Cannes
Palais Stephanie Hotel Cannes
Cannes Palais Stephanie Hotel
Sofitel Cannes
Cannes Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing