We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel. Perfect location”
Review of JW Marriott Cannes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Cannes
Ranked #16 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I E-mailed the hotel to let them know it was our 30 wedding anniversary. The hotel upgraded our room, made us a cake and gave us a free bottle of wine. This made our trip. The hotel looks as though its been refurbished as everything looks new. The food was fab. Staff very helpful and friendly. I would stay here again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy196263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CecileP06, Assistante marketing & commerciale at JW Marriott Cannes, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear Wendy196263,

Thank you very much for your lovely review about the JW Marriott Cannes.
We were very glad to find out that you overall enjoyed your stay at the hotel and we were able make it a little bit more special!

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back when you will be next in Cannes

Kindest regards from the team of the JW Marriott Cannes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (904)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

400 - 406 of 904 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

I really love this hotel, located directly across from the beach with super-nice rooms and a gorgeous rooftop view near the small swimming pool. My room was beautiful and nicely furnished with a "sliver" view of the beach (admittedly I had to press my face to the window, but hey - I saw the beach!) the walls were covered with beautiful leather panels and large B&W photos of stars from film festivals. The bed was very comfy and staff was extremely friendly and attentive.

Although this is a great hotel, it does need some improvements to make it even better. One complaint - common in too many hotels - is the poor layout of the bathroom, with a narrow area for the toilet, with a shower on one side and small glass panel on the other (serving no detectable purpose) which just cramped the opening. The TP dispenser is mounted too far back on the wall, making it difficult to reach. The bathroom looked great and had both a makeup mirror and hair dryer mounted on the wall. Although both were useful, they could have been mounted in more convenient locations, e.g., the dryer cord barely stretched enough to be able to look in the mirror when using it and the mirror was awkward to use only because of how it was mounted. Better design of the bathroom would make it more comfortable and user-friendly, which could be done without a major remodel (just remove the useless glass panel and relocate the TP fixture, hair dryer and mirror).

The other issue I have with this and all high-end hotels is the charge for using the Internet. If the Fairfield Inn, Hampton Inn and budget hotels can offer free wifi - why don't the better hotels? Tis is ridiculous when paying nearly $400 per night for a room. Why provide a nice desk and workspace only to tack-on an up charge to use the Internet? This is as archaic as charging for local phone calls.

I didn't eat at the hotel, but was very disappointed that the bar would not provide our group 4 wine glasses so that we could share a bottle of wine purchased from a local wine store. The bar was already closing when we came in and wanted to have a glass of wine in the lobby before retiring. The server refused because "other customers might bring their own wine rather than order from the bar." Really?! This was pretty cheap and is contrary to what I've experienced at other Marriott properties. We ended up getting glasses out of our rooms and enjoying our wine on the rooftop patio under the stars.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DuckieDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CecileP06, Assistante marketing & commerciale at JW Marriott Cannes, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear Debra B,

Thank you for sharing your experience about your recent stay at the JW Marriott Cannes. It is always with great pleasure to receive positive comments and please be rest assured that I have already passed them onto the department heads to further share them with the rest of their team.

Regarding the internet, please note that all Marriott Hotels in Europe offer complimentary internet in the hotel lobby. Regarding the prices for the in-room internet, kindly note that we offer average prices with other 5 star hotels in Cannes and in Europe.

In regards to the comments you shared that you were refused 4 glasses to drink the wine you brought from a local store at the hotel bar, please note that like in any other bar or restaurant, the consumption is to be purchased at the place. We were very happy though to find out that the glasses were provided to you and you were able to enjoy your wine in private.

Thank you once again for your review and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel so that we may have the opportunity to make your next stay with us an excellent one.

Best regards from the team at the JW Marriott Cannes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Very good Hotel in Cannes, beautiful rooms but a bit small (Superior room), the staff in reception and Lobby very attentive and all the facilities are very good right by the beach and restaurants.
Would definitely come back to this hotel

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beatriztrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CecileP06, Assistante marketing & commerciale at JW Marriott Cannes, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear Beatriztrips,

It is very encouraging to hear such kind words regarding our service and the hotel overall. We will make sure to pass these comments on to our entire team.

We hope you enjoyed your visit in Cannes and look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards from the team at the JW Marriott Cannes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We just spent 4 nights and it's definately got the best location in Cannes. We were a quick walk from fantastic shopping and lots of great cafes. The rooms are nicely appointed. We had great service from the staff. The rooftop pool area while large with fantastic views had a surprisingly small pool, but it was still nice. The breakfast was honestly just average but filling. We did notice a lack of tipping which was a little surprising. Def check out the Cotton Club on Thursday and Saturday nights for great live entertainment. We ate at Le Beija-Flor twice during our stay the food was incredible and the staff exceptional!

Room Tip: we were in room 312 which provided partial water views and I liked that you have a long hallway in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMJ324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CecileP06, Assitante marketing & commerciale at JW Marriott Cannes, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear DMJ324,
Thank you very much for your lovely review about the JW Marriott Cannes.

We were very glad to find out that you were pleased with our level of service, the location and the hotel rooms and that you overall enjoyed your stay at the hotel.
Regarding your comments about the breakfast, please be advised that our Director of Food and Beverage have been informed accordingly.

Once again we thank you for your time and we sincerely hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back when you will be next in Cannes.

Kindest regards from the team of the JW Marriott Cannes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We had a lovely 6 night stay at the hotel. The staff were great and we were very happy with the hotel. Breakfast was good and left us full each morning. The rooftop pool offered a great view of Cannes and there were plenty of sunbeds to pick from. Swimming pool is not huge but there were never more then 1 or 2 people in there so suited us fine. I can imagine in June/July it being a lot more busy. The lobby offered free internet but we also managed to pick it up in our rooms on the 2nd floor. The location is great and central to everything. On a seperate note we all loved the smell of the place as you entered the lobby. We later found out you could buy the spray from the front desk.

Room Tip: Try and get a sea facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunny-singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

JW was a nice hotel with the best location in Cannes.I really enjoy it. The staff was not ver friendly.For everything you have to reserve.the beach was 20 euro per person because they had an agreement with the hotel because the real price were 35 euro per person.the hotel was like a new one."

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sofjana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

The service in the hotel is great, all staff are super friendly and very helpful.

The finish in the hotel lobby areas is luxurious.

The position is central for everything Cannes has to offer.

Corridors for bedrooms etc need more cleaning and on a three night stay our coffee and shampoo etc were never topped up correctly.

The swimming pool area would be very small if busy in the height of summer.

Unfortunately the staff in the restaurant for breakfast are very slow and not in control.

More attention to detail required.

The price is expensive, but not unexpected for the level of hotel.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Faith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
553 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Cannes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Cannes

Address: 50 Boulevard de la Croisette, 06414 Cannes, France (Formerly Palais Stephanié)
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#30 Business Hotel in Cannes
#41 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price Range: £113 - £515 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Cannes 5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the Mediterranean Sea and the Southern Alps, JW Marriott Cannes boasts an incomparable cultural and artistic heritage. The hotel is located on the former site of the Palais des Festivals, placing it at the heart of a city that steps into the spotlight once a year, when shining stars and international events come together for a film festival that has made Cannes the annual showcase for French elegance. Among its many unique features, JW Marriott Cannes is the only luxury hotel on the Croisette to have its own auditorium seating up to 820 guests. It also offers 16 newly renovated multi-functional and totally flexible conference rooms (including 10 new rooms on the 1st floor). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Cannes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Cannes Hotel Cannes
Palais Stephanie Hotel Cannes
Cannes Palais Stephanie Hotel
Sofitel Cannes
Cannes Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing