We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good - apart from the corridor parties”
Review of JW Marriott Cannes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Cannes
Ranked #14 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good - apart from the corridor parties”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Good hotel, decent restaurant- good food and service and decent front of house staff. Rooms nicely done – though not massive are big enough, lobby very nice. The beach club at which the hotel has an arrangement is very good, lovely staff, well priced and good service.

The only issue we had was the teenagers running around the corridors in the early hours of the morning, having corridor parties right outside our room door. This meant for the whole stay we got very little sleep (nor did our 1 year old). Eventually Security did something about it but it took multiple calls to the front desk for anything to happen. We vowed never to stay here again – though may do but choose our dates more carefully (the parties were to celebrate the end of Ramadan I was told). The hotel really should get a grip on this…I was surprised they didn’t have any security presence on the floors – and they were not aware of this issue until myself and other guests complained. I use JWM for business and will be writing (via my corporation) to the senior guys at HQ about this.

Other than this, the place is very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmcg1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    286
    140
    41
    41
See reviews for
125
334
27
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This hotel is absolutely amazing! Love the decor and the room was awesome! The location is perfect for walking to the shops and throughout the city. Located directly across from the beach, this marriott makes a perfect choice for anyone visiting the area. The valet parking service was consistently efficient and the breakfast was great with a variety of different food choices. Highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling in the area!

Room Tip: I had a garden view room and it was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Great location and in the heart of Cannes! Room is small, but comfortable. Hotel is a bit dated, but all in all I have enjoyed my stay. Reception is very nice and helpful. Balcony is very small. Pool area is nice and the hotel has amazing views.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank jbt872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Have been for the first time in Cannes in JW Marriott and enjoyed the stay a lot. As a MR Platinum was upgraded to a suite, which was very nice and spacious and due to the fact I had a birthday during the stay received a complimentary birthday (cheese)cake which was tasty. Also location of the hotel is perfect, specially for having the breakfast with the view of boulevard de la croisette.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalliopi_Paroussi, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Cannes, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear Martin K,

Thank you for your wonderful review of the JW Marriott Cannes and for the great score you have given us.

We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable experience and that we were able to help make your stay that little bit more special.

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back when you will be next in Cannes.

With Kind Regards,

Kalliopi Paroussi
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed here on part of our 5 year wedding anniversary trip. I am a platinum Marriott member and they surely pull out all the stops for you! Upon arrival, we were upgraded to a huge suite with a beautiful walk out patio. The room was very modern and spacious, especially for European standards. Within a few hours, both a bottle of wine and cheese plate arrived on a complementary basis, as well as chocolate covered strawberries. The location of this hotel is perfect - right across from the beach. The hotel restaurant is partially open air and you can look out directly at the fabulous ocean and the unbelievable yachts. Being platinum at this hotel is a huge value. Your full hot buffet breakfast is included (~50E per person per day) and your Wi-Fi is included...I don't remember what the actual costs were but we were shocked....very different than in the US and they charge PER DEVICE not per room access. We had excellent service while we were there, with quick seating for breakfasts, assistance with the concierge for booking our beach chairs, etc. That is one thing you should know - the beaches are all "beach clubs" and even hotel guests need to pay for their beach chairs/umbrellas, although at a discounted rate. I don't remember what it was, but it was reasonable. The hotel is in an excellent location for both all of the amazing shopping and restaurants. We also walked to and from le Suquet a few times...it is probably about a mile each way, but there is so much to see along your way....and of course all of the people watching!!! The only con to this hotel is the pool is small on the rooftop, but it was still very relaxing to have a drink up there with the excellent view.

We fell in love with Cannes and with this hotel and will absolutely be back in the future!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NicoleandKyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalliopi_Paroussi, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Cannes, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear NicoleandKyle,

Thank you very much for your fantastic review of the JW Marriott Cannes and for the top scores you have awarded us.

We are thrilled to hear that you felt very welcome in our hotel and that we were able to exceed your expectations and help make your stay that little bit more special.

Our aim is to provide our guests with memorable experiences and I am delighted to find out that we were able to leave with a positive impression.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we sincerely hope you to welcoming you back soon.

With Best Regards,

Kalliopi Paroussi
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Firstly, I should say that the hotel is beautiful and perfectly located. The rooms are also beautiful (if a little tacky with images of celebrities on the walls). These plus points are all overshadowed by the terrible service though. It's literally the worst room service experience I've had, and consistently so over several days. The first time, my meal was delivered without any cutlery, the second time with the wrong drinks, and the third time I had to call twice to remind them to bring it at all (after waiting over 90 minutes) and when it did arrive, a very unpleasant lady barked at me that she "did not understand English" and so forced herself into my room after she made me get out of the shower to open the door to me. After having waited so long, I had specifically requested that the tray be left outside my room. She then slammed my door behind her when she left. The food in the restaurant was of equally poor quality. It's a 5-star hotel with truly 1-star, arrogant service.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparkyb_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalliopi_Paroussi, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Cannes, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Sparkyb_uk,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us.
First of all, we would like to thank you for the high scores in regards to the cleanliness, the hotel’s rooms and location and the quality of sleep you had.

Regarding your comments on the Room Service we would like to sincerely apologize for the experience you went through as described.
I would like to assure you that this is not indicative of our usual standards and your feedback has been shared with the relevant Department Head, so that the necessary actions can be taken.

We do hope that the overall hotel stay that you had with us, will bring you back to the hotel in the future, allowing us the opportunity to show you the high quality standards we are better known for.

With Kind Regards,

Kalliopi Paroussi
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This review is solely for the property, not the service!

Cannes ~ the jewel of French Riviera. So beautiful with all that glitz and glam. And September is probably their busiest time since all the Europeans go on vacation around that time. Needless to say: most hotel in Cannes was packed and sold out.

The hotel: it is right on that busy /happening street of Boulevard de La Croisette!. Book this on my 5 hours train ride from Paris. Naturally, you're going to pay extra for that last minute factor! And people I travel with wont budge for lower than a 4 stars hotel. Gotta make everyone happy.

I liked the pretty hotel rooms. All black and white with movie star posters. Food and service is a ok. Friendly-ish and efficient-ish. It's not the best hotel I've stayed in Cannes but it's also not the worst. At night. this place gets mad crazy with whats that club across on the beach. But you can easily stay in or walk else where and avoid it. Over all, a ok stay. I'd like my rooms a little bit bigger but this is Cannes. Can't be choosy!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LatifaS_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalliopi_Paroussi, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Cannes, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Tifa_Mystique,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay on the TripAdvisor webpage.

We appreciate your feedback in regards to the location, our property and the rooms decoration and design.

We are glad to hear that you had overall an enjoyable experience in Cannes, although disappointed that we could not make it excellent.

Please rest assured that I have already passed all your comments onto the department heads to further share them with the rest of their teams.

Thank you once again for your review and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel so that we may have the opportunity to make your next stay with us an excellent one.

Best regards,

Kalliopi Paroussi
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.3 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
510 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Cannes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Cannes

Property: JW Marriott Cannes
Address: 50 Boulevard de la Croisette, 06414 Cannes, France (Formerly Palais Stephanié)
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#30 Business Hotel in Cannes
#41 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Cannes 5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the Mediterranean Sea and the Southern Alps, JW Marriott Cannes boasts an incomparable cultural and artistic heritage. The hotel is located on the former site of the Palais des Festivals, placing it at the heart of a city that steps into the spotlight once a year, when shining stars and international events come together for a film festival that has made Cannes the annual showcase for French elegance. Among its many unique features, JW Marriott Cannes is the only luxury hotel on the Croisette to have its own auditorium seating up to 820 guests. It also offers 16 newly renovated multi-functional and totally flexible conference rooms (including 10 new rooms on the 1st floor). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Marriott, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your JW Marriott Cannes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Cannes Hotel Cannes
Palais Stephanie Hotel Cannes
Cannes Palais Stephanie Hotel
Sofitel Cannes
Cannes Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing