We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location but can be quite noisy especially during the film festival”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of JW Marriott Cannes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Cannes
Ranked #14 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Nuevo, CA
Level Contributor
255 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great location but can be quite noisy especially during the film festival”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

My wife, son, and is pent 5 nights here during the film festival. Yes the pool was closed, and that was communicated well in advance, and we were given beach vouchers upon request. The bed was wonderful! Definitely the best bed during our 3 week trip and it seemed larger than a typical king size bed. The shower was also great! The room size was fine, but adding a roll away made it a bit cramped.

We found the staff to be fine. They were polite and helpful at all times. The biggest complaint is the noise. We were on the east side of the hotel facing aside street. We were told that this was the quieter side because all of the events happening on the other side of the hotel. Unfortunately there is a club that is on the side street that had people coming and going literally all night. And of course the rich oil barons in their Lambroghini's and Ferrari's have to rev the engines to show off when they leave.

As others have said the cost of the internet is high, as is the overall cost of the hotel. I would never dream of paying almost 1000 euros a night for a hotel room, but this is a great bargain using rewards points, and as a Platinum Rewards member thrown in free internet and free daily breakfast and you have a heck of a deal.

My only advice is that unless you are going to Cannes specifically for the Film Festival then avoid the whole area from mid May until the end of May.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank deamole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    270
    135
    40
    38
See reviews for
117
321
26
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Cannes was a delightful surprise. Not expensive in April, but I'm sure it spikes after that. Beautiful area where JW is located. A little far from the mid point, but would stay there again. Great shopping on the main road. Cafés too!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Makattack9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We booked in advance for our wedding anniversary, we wanted the Marriott because of the location and rooftop pool and terrace. I could not give two hoots about film festivals and film stars so I was very disappointed when it was all closed because of the preparations for the Cannes Festival 2014. The staff offered us access to a beach nearby......if I wanted a beach I would have booked a hotel with a beach........the hotel said that their website informs everyone of the potential closure throughout May.....we booked through BA who did not warn us of this!! So I could complain to BA or I could complain to Marriott...I suspect both would be in vain....so my view is stick your hotel I will go somewhere else where my custom is valued. Interestingly I am a Marriott Gold card member and stay in a lot of Marriott hotels but they could not give a damn unless you are a billionaire or very famous!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phil-Angie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalliopi_Paroussi, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Cannes, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Phil-Angie2014,

Thank you very much for reviewing your experience at the JW Marriott Cannes.

We truly appreciate hearing from you and we have personally reviewed your points in detail.

We were very sorry to hear your comments about the swimming pool and we would like to sincerely apologize for the experience you went through as described during your stay.

We totally feel your disappointment for the fact that our pool was not available due to the preparation of the 67th Film Festival. We sincerely hope however that you had the time to enjoy the Long Beach instead with the complementary beach vouchers offered.

Please be rest assured that we had indeed communicated this information into our website as well as to British Airways well in advance and we are very sorry to find out that you have not been informed regarding this prior to your arrival.

It goes without saying that the hotel places great importance on the comfort of each and every guest and we do value your feedback so we can continually monitor our service standards.

Once again thank you very much for getting back to us. We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the JW Marriott Cannes as we would like to extend to you the hospitality and demonstrate to you the high standards of service we are better known for.

We thank you for having chosen the JW Marriott Cannes and wish you a great summer

With Warmest Regards ,


Kalliopi Paroussi
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Great location and lovely rooms and reception area, very disapointed with the roof top pool, all enclosed so no views and constant building work whilst we were there (preperation for film festival) we have stayed her before a few years ago and the views were amaxing especially at night from the roof. Reception staff were however excellent, after some confusion over our pre-paid booking - nothing was too much trouble. Excellent breakfast buffett.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

The location of this hotel is great but it has a very dated feel - and I am not talking about "retro" charm. The rooms are fine but the hallways feel dark and dingy. I stay at Marriott hotels all over the world and it does not feel as nice as many of the other JW Marriott hotel properties. As a frequent Marriott guest, the internet service was free for me. However, their regular internet rate of 25 Euros a day is outrageous considering what they charge for their rooms and that in 2014, WiFi is available virtually everywhere for free.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalliopi_Paroussi, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Cannes, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear M S,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the JW Marriott Cannes Hotel.

We were sorry to hear that we could not make your experience an excellent one.

It was very encouraging though to find that you enjoyed your room and that being the hotel on the Croisette made it comfortable for your travel plans.

We sincerely hope that you also enjoyed the complementary high speed internet as well the buffet breakfast available for you due to your valued Elite status.

Once again, we thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the JW Marriott Cannes in the future.

Kindest regards,

Kalliopi Paroussi
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

I'm sad to say that I cannot recommend this hotel.

A group of 8 friends came to stay here for 4 day, drawn by the good reviews on this sight and the beautiful pictures on the website (particularly of the pool). Unfortunately, from the moment we arrived these illusions were shattered.

Firstly, the pool. The pool was closed for the duration of our stay. This was so that the hotel could build an enclosure for the Cannes film festival. At first we were told that the pool MAY be opened the next day but after 3 days and continual construction work it became clear that it would never be opened. Despite being told that a decision would be made day by day it was clear that this was just a stalling tactic when a crane was installed on our last day to hoist Equipment onto the roof.

The hotel was very ungracious about the closure and offered a discount to sit at the beach (making it €15) which I found to be unacceptable. Later after arguing for a long time they said that they would give us complimentary vouchers for the beach. I am confused as to why these were not given out straight away.

The hotel claimed that they had put on their website that the pool was closed, however it was not on our booking and we certainly would have chosen another hotel if this was the case.

As for the rooms themselves, the decor is sophisticated and modern, however, the safe in our room was broken and the tap handle in the sink broke the first time we used it. Both had to be replaces of course.

Some individual staff members were nice, however the general attitude was one of snootiness. The Guest Relations manager was rude and did nothing but alienate our group from the hotel. Her explanation of why the pool was closed was a complete lie, which became clear during our stay. Telling someone who is paying for your hotel "this is what it is like in 5 star hotels" is rude and condescending and means I will never stay in a Marriott again.

When checking in the staff at the front desk thought it was appropriate to check 3 times that I knew I was sharing a room with a single bed with my partner. Later during the stay, the hotel thought it was wise to call our room whilst the "do not disturb" sign was on our door.

Finally, the internet is an exorbitant €25 per day. A totally ridiculous and inflated amount. There was free internet in the lobby, which required a code. The code was difficult to get as some staff members at the reception seemed to be reluctant to give it out. It took three asks to get this.

Overall it was clear that the hotel was keen to cater to its festival clients at the expense of the paying public in the weeks leading up to it.

I cannot recommend this hotel and it has left a permanent bad taste in my mouth for the Marriott brand.


Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Gabriel v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalliopi_Paroussi, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Cannes, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Gabriel v,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the JW Marriott Cannes.

We are very disappointed to learn that you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel.

Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience this has caused to you.

The information about the preparation of the International Film Festival has been shared well in advance in hotel’s website as well to agencies and wholesalers.

For the convenience of our guests, during these preparations, we had isolated the pool so our guests could take advantages of its facilities even due to the preparations.

When we had to temporary close it for safety reasons we offered beach vouchers.

We totally feel your disappointment for the fact that our pool was available only until a certain time. We were very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the resolution either.

The constructive feedback provided by our guests allows us to enhance the level of service we aim to deliver throughout the hotel and we greatly appreciate your comments.

Once more please accept our most sincere apologies for the challenges you encountered and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back to the JW Marriott Cannes.

With Best Regards,

Kalliopi Paroussi
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hrusice, Czech
Level Contributor
101 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Placed in the front line over the beaches, impressive lobby, nice rooms (I slept there with BB in her best times), furniture covered by leather, glassy spacious bathroom with all comfort around, great breakfast bar and excellent cousine over the day. The staff was really willing and helpful: after aching experience with bad air in Marriott in Paris I´ve asked in advance for the room, where the window can be opened - and I received nice room in 5th floor with a mini-balcony - and fresh air! For the swimming pool on the roof was too cold weather, but I´ve enjoyed the promenade view from there over palms, beaches, convertible Ferraris, Bentleys, Porsches and Lambos. An island of warm hospitality in the hearth of dandie´s Cannes.

Room Tip: 5th floor with small balcony, if you don´t need the direct seaview, but prefere the fresh air like m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KocourMikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
0.3 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
0.1 mi away
Le Grand Hotel
Le Grand Hotel
#18 of 126 in Cannes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Cannes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Cannes

Property: JW Marriott Cannes
Address: 50 Boulevard de la Croisette | BP 224, Provence Alpes Cote d' Azur, 06414 Cannes, France (Formerly Palais Stephanié)
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#30 Business Hotel in Cannes
#41 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Cannes 5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the Mediterranean Sea and the Southern Alps, JW Marriott Cannes boasts an incomparable cultural and artistic heritage. The hotel is located on the former site of the Palais des Festivals, placing it at the heart of a city that steps into the spotlight once a year, when shining stars and international events come together for a film festival that has made Cannes the annual showcase for French elegance. Among its many unique features, JW Marriott Cannes is the only luxury hotel on the Croisette to have its own auditorium seating up to 820 guests. It also offers 16 newly renovated multi-functional and totally flexible conference rooms (including 10 new rooms on the 1st floor). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Hotel.de, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Cannes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Cannes Hotel Cannes
Palais Stephanie Hotel Cannes
Cannes Palais Stephanie Hotel
Sofitel Cannes
Cannes Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing