We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott Cannes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
JW Marriott Cannes
Ranked #13 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fabulous Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We came to the south of France to go on a cruise departing out of Nice. All of the hotel rooms in Nice were booked, as our check in day was the day of the Monaco Grand Prix, AND the last day of the Cannes Film Festival. We were able to book a room here with our Marriott points.
We arrived on the last day of the film festival, so the immediate area was in the process of winding down from the week's activities. Our welcome was friendly, and we were given a room in a quiet area of the hotel on the 5th floor. We had noticed a noise from some type of pipe, we weren't sure what it was, and as it persisted after we came back from dinner, we called maintenance. Maintenance came right away, and we were told that it was a problem with the AC and they would move us to another room. The room they gave us was a bit bigger, on the 3rd floor, and had a fabulous ocean view.
Rooms are small by American standards (this is France), décor is sleek. Front valet was most helpful in pointing us in the right direction to walk for dinner. Front staff was polite and accommodating. All in all, this was a very pleasant experience, and I think if you were to visit Cannes at a time other than the festival week, this would be a very nice choice in terms of location, quality, and hospitality.
FYI: The cruise port in Nice was about 40 minute drive away. Cab fare ran us a rather hefty 130 Euro.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the street if you want quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spotlight0120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    263
    135
    40
    37
See reviews for
114
311
26
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

All other things was great, except there was no free wifi in the room. They charge you like about 20 euro for wifi in the room. (They have free in the lobby though) I stayed at melia saria barcelona, starhotel milan, they all have free wifi in the rooms. It is unbelievable for hotel like jw marriot not to have it free everywhere.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Frandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalliopi_Paroussi, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Cannes, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Frandy B,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to hear that you had overall an enjoyable experience and that our service and facilities met your expectations. .

Regarding your comments on the internet prices, we would like to inform you that we offer average prices with other 5 star hotels in Cannes and other Marriott hotels in rest of Europe.
For the convenience of our guests though we offer unlimited internet in the hotel lobby. We sincerely hope that you were able to enjoy this service.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we sincerely hope you to welcoming you back soon

With Best Regards,

Kalliopi Paroussi
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

I stayed the week after the film festival and the pool was closed. We were offered beach vouchers at check-in and that was appreciated. I found the staff to be attentive, friendly and helpful. As to decor - well it's not my style. It isn't modern unless you think it is 1980. Hallways are all black and chrome but OK that's not for me, maybe you'll like that. The room was large for Europe, bathroom had a small shower and a larger tub that also had a shower. All in all the room was fine but hot water - I'm not exaggerating to say you can put the faucet on full and wait 5 minutes to get hot water coming from the spigot. My other complaint is the wi-fi issue. Charging, I think it was €25 per night is stupid. Yes stupid. You don't charge for TV - why charge for wi-fi? "Because we can" I'm sure. Well I'm not sure that's working out for you. I expect Wi-fi like I expect hot water - not a separate charge. That's a deal-killer for me.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalliopi_Paroussi, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Cannes, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Jack R,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay on our TripAdvisor webpage.

We appreciate your feedback in regards to the size of the room, and the service you experience from our employees.

Regarding your comments on the swimming pool, we are happy to find out that you enjoyed the beach vouchers instead.

Concerning the internet prices that you have mentioned we would like to inform you, that we are offering average prices with other 5 star hotels in Cannes. However for the convenience of our guests we offer unlimited intenet in the hotel lobby. We sincerely hope that you had the chance to use this service as well.

Once again thank you very much for getting back to us.
We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the JW Marriott Cannes as we would like to extend to you the hospitality and demonstrate to you the high standards of service we are better known for.

We thank you for having chosen the JW Marriott Cannes and wish you a great summer

With Warmest Regards ,

Kalliopi Paroussi
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Recently stayed at the JW Marriott Cannes. Hotel is in a perfect condition. I was a little disappointed that the roof top pool was closed, but they gave us a voucher for the beach. Beach was right across the street and a Sandy Beach. Bed was super comfortable, room was large, bathroom large with great soaps and shampoo. Free wi-fi in the lobby only. Staff was very nice, helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We were at the end of a long hall and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TOSHEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

I'm a Marriott platinum member and we were taken good care of by the wonderful Margaux from the guest relation department. She really answered all our needs.
However, I felt a little cheated by being given the wrong info in advance:
I booked a 3 night weekend at the end of May & beginning of June. When I made the reservation through the Marriott website it was indicated that the roof top pool will be closed till the end of May. During my stay I discovered that the pool won't be opened till the 4th of June! That was unfair as I was expecting to use it in June. They did provide us with free vouchers for the beach but that still didn't make up for not being able to enjoy the selection of the hotel facilities. Big disappointment!!
Secondly, the prices of the minibar items are outrageous!
I stayed in JW Marriott hotels all around the world but never saw such an attempt for a rip off!!
They actually have the guts to charge 8 euros for a can of soft drink!! I understand this is Cannes and a luxury hotel, but 8 euros for a Pepsi??? I could accept 3 or 4 euros which is very high anyway but 8 euros?!
Over all the hotel was ok, it's a pity it doesn't keep up with the smaller details...

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Elad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalliopi_Paroussi, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Cannes, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Elad G,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay on our TripAdvisor webpage.

It was with great pleasure to read that Margaux, was able to make a memorable difference to your stay. We thank you for taking note of her name and for sharing your experience online.

Regarding your comments on the swimming pool, we do acknowledge your disappointment. Please accept our sincere apologies for the experience you went through as described. We were happy though that you were able to use the complimentary beach vouchers offered instead.

Concerning the minibar prices that you have mentioned, we would like to inform you, that among our competitors in Cannes, the 5 star hotels, we are offering average prices. Comparing ourselves with other Marriott Hotels in the rest of Europe the prices are also very competitive.

Dear Elad G, we would like to ensure you that all your comments in detail have been shared with the our Management.

Once again thank you very much for getting back to us. We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the JW Marriott Cannes as we would like to extend to you the hospitality and demonstrate to you the high standards of service we are better known for.

We thank you for having chosen the JW Marriott Cannes and wish you a great summer

With Warmest Regards ,

Kalliopi Paroussi
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

I was in town for an event and this was one of the partner hotels so I received a discounted rate. Unfortunately, I wasn't able to check into my room until after 3pm. When I was able to check in, someone from the desk walked the key over to me without any information. I learned from a friend also staying in the hotel that the rooftop pool was CLOSED. They didn't even have the courtesy to inform their guests. Another person didn't find out until she took the elevator up to the roof and saw construction happening. The front desk also didn't inform me that beach passes were available for free since the rooftop pool wasn't open. A few days into my stay, an undated letter appeared stating that construction to remove equipment was taking place but the letter NEVER stated explicitely that the pool/roof were closed.

It's annoying that free WiFi is only in the lobby area. At the price they charge for the room, WiFi should be included in every room. Since the roof was closed, I tried to barter for free in room WiFi but they weren't having it.

The hotel décor is modern (think black, gold, disco-esque) and the rooms are large. There are robes, slippers and safes in the room. Minibar is also in the room but there are no prices. I didn't find out until check out that the candy bar and juice I had cost 7 euros each!! There is a shower and bath in the room. I never used the shower because it's small (on par with your typical French hotel bathroom). The tub is quite slippery and difficult to get in and out of. There was some noise and door slamming early in the morning in the halls so beware if you are a light sleeper.

The location is good but there are probably better options in a similar price range on the Croisette. The concierge was helpful and I feel like the desk staff is nice enough, but they didn't go out of their way to make it a great experience. I agree that it's NOT a 5 star hotel. I would not come back here if I was in Cannes.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LVJ1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalliopi_Paroussi, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Cannes, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear LVJ1980,

Thank you very much for taking the time comment on your recent stay with us.

We were very sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations and we would like to sincerely apologize for the experience you went through as described.

We totally feel your disappointment for the fact that our pool was not available. Please be rest assured that we had indeed communicated this information into our website as well as to travel partners well in advance and we are very sorry to find out that you have not been informed at all regarding this prior to your arrival.

Regarding our prices that you have mentioned, we would like to let you know, that among our competitors in Cannes, the 5 star hotels, we are offering average prices. Comparing ourselves with other Marriott Hotels in the rest of Europe the prices are also very competitive.

Please be informed that we have shared all your comments in detail with the Management for a further review.

It goes without saying that the hotel places great importance on the comfort of each and every guest and we do value your feedback so we can continually monitor our service standards.

Once again thank you very much for getting back to us. We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the JW Marriott Cannes as we would like to extend to you the hospitality and demonstrate to you the high standards of service we are better known for.

We thank you for having chosen the JW Marriott Cannes and wish you a great summer

With Warmest Regards ,

Kalliopi Paroussi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
314 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Being Marriott Gold Elite member I expected the best at this property for my 5 night stay.. Room comfortable but corridors dark and dingy. We always ask in advance for extra towels and pillows but not provided. Had to ask each and every day. Housekeeping left a lot ot be desired with soap not even being changed. Several times the toilet paper was replaced with 1/2 used rolls! Glasses taken away and not replaced and kettle never emptied of water. Room service staff entered our room after knocking, without our permission, and for no reason as nothing had been ordered or needed to be removed. The only night we did order food in our room, we both got very sick. Breakfast buffet a joke for a "5" star hotel, with very little choice and poor quality of food. Please do not go here thinking you will have English speaking TV outside of the news. Only Sky, BBC, CNN news, nothing else. We had to order 18euro movies in order to have entertainment should we not wish to sleep early. Noisy in the streets outside and in the corridors. Could not use the rooftop pool due to the film festival so have no opinion of that, unfortunately. Our elevator was shared with staff moving furniture etc. Very poor communication with the staff at this hotel, probably would not be the case if you were a celebrity of course.
Would never stay here again. Much better hotels in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Topolli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalliopi_Paroussi, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Cannes, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Topolli,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the JW Marriott Hotel.

We sincerely apologize for the experience you went through as described in regards to your stay.

Looking back, we certainly appreciate that you shared your comments already through a private message and you gave us the opportunity to present our excuses and to make it up.

As already informed you we have shared your feedback with the Department Heads for a further review.
It goes without saying that the hotel places great importance on the comfort of each and every guest and we do value your feedback so we can continually monitor our service standards.

Once again thank you very much for getting back to us. We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the JW Marriott Cannes as we would like to extend to you the hospitality and demonstrate to you the high standards of service we are better known for.

We thank you for having chosen the JW Marriott Cannes and wish you a great summer

With Warmest Regards ,

Kalliopi Paroussi
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
0.3 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#2 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Grand Hotel
Le Grand Hotel
#19 of 126 in Cannes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Cannes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Cannes

Property: JW Marriott Cannes
Address: 50 Boulevard de la Croisette | BP 224, Provence Alpes Cote d' Azur, 06414 Cannes, France (Formerly Palais Stephanié)
Region: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#30 Business Hotel in Cannes
#41 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Cannes 5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the Mediterranean Sea and the Southern Alps, JW Marriott Cannes boasts an incomparable cultural and artistic heritage. The hotel is located on the former site of the Palais des Festivals, placing it at the heart of a city that steps into the spotlight once a year, when shining stars and international events come together for a film festival that has made Cannes the annual showcase for French elegance. Among its many unique features, JW Marriott Cannes is the only luxury hotel on the Croisette to have its own auditorium seating up to 820 guests. It also offers 16 newly renovated multi-functional and totally flexible conference rooms (including 10 new rooms on the 1st floor). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Marriott, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your JW Marriott Cannes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Cannes Hotel Cannes
Palais Stephanie Hotel Cannes
Cannes Palais Stephanie Hotel
Sofitel Cannes
Cannes Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing