We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service and facilities, especially for the price”
Review of Le Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Grand Hotel
Ranked #16 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Poor service and facilities, especially for the price”
Reviewed 21 August 2011

I stayed here with my wife for three nights in July, and was disappointed. When we arrived the room was not ready (which was fair enough) so the girl at reception said she would call on my mobile when it was free. I never heard from her and that set the tone for the stay. The room was large and decorated in a minimalist retro style but smelled strongly of smoke, and the coffee table was stained and dirty. The bathroom was tiny and had more than a whiff of stale urine. We had breakfast and the cold section was fine, but the hot option was stone cold too and not appetising. In the evening we had a couple of drinks in the bar outside as the hotel is set back from the road in its own grounds, which is nice, but the service was very slow. The head waiter was busy bantering with the French speaking and more obviously wealthy guests, but we were ignored. One day we went to the private beach in the late afternoon, but spend 20 minutes being ignored by the staff so gave up. On the last day the room was not made up, and it took three (very polite) complaints to the reception before anything was done about it. When it was finally cleaned, various personal effects on the side stand had been knocked off and not put back. I was surprised to find there was no gym or pool, which you expect at this price (so don't assume, but check). The main advantage to this place is the central location and it being set back from the road, but that does not make up for its faults at this price. Basically, if you look rich and speak more than a few words of French you'll be ok if you can get on with the decor, etc. Otherwise, give it a miss.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDarkL0rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelCannes06, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2011
Dear Guest,

We would like to deeply apologise regarding the inconveniences you have encountered with the room as this is absolutely not representative and in keeping with the standards in the Grand Hotel.
The cleanliness of our entire property, and especially the rooms, is our priority and we always have very good feedbacks from our guests.

We also regret that you had a bad impression with our staff, all the points that you have highlighted have been discussed with the different services as we do not wish other guests to have the same feeling. We hold our guests' opinion in the highest esteem and the team of the Grand Hotel is constantly working on the quality of service.

I would be very pleased, should you come back in Cannes in the future, to make you enjoy the real Grand Hotel experience.
Please feel free to contact me personally for further information.

Best regards,

Hugues Raybaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    146
    54
    30
    15
See reviews for
79
247
22
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Good location right in the middle of the croisette. Rooms and beds are huge but the bathroom is surprisingly small. For the money, they should offer an iPod player in the room. We called and they brought in a bose system but not the kind with an ipod dock.

Closets are enormous, bed is seriously comfortable. WIFI worked without issue. I could never get the blinds fully closed which was annoying, as the sunlight woke me. They could use with some simple blackout sheers.

You need to reserve beach chairs in high season as they book early. For 500 EUR a night, you would think a few beach chairs would be included, but they are not (and no discount) so be prepared to add another 100 EUR a day if you want to use the beach.

Bar is very quiet, nothing really to get excited about, although just 100 meters from the hotel there are plenty to choose from.

Restaurant is very good, impecable service and cuisine but lacks some atmosphere.

For nightlife definitely try "Les Marches" (go inside the main casino in the festival hall and take the elevator to the left. Cool rooftop bar and inside is a dance club.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTFBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your comments regarding our rooms. They are indeed very large and we always have very good feedback regarding our mattresses and bedding.
The bathrooms do appear to be small but this is mainly due to the fact that the bedroom is very large (35m²).
We would also like to thank you for your comment about the equipment as we always very much welcome the opportunity to improve the quality of our standards and service.
All your suggestions will be discussed.

Regarding our private beach La Plage 45 you may have noticed how popular it is in Cannes, especially during July and August which is our absolute highest season.
We totally understand how disappointing it is not having the chance to enjoy it and this is why we always encourage our guests to book their sun-chairs in advance or at the time of booking.
Then, there is indeed an extra charge for this service, which is discounted for our hotel guests (19 € this year) and very interesting compared to the usual rates offered in Cannes.

Nevertheless, we are very pleased that you had a good time at the Grand hotel, but somehow quite disappointed that you were not sensitive to the atmosphere every place in the hotel can offer, especially our bar Le Cercle, with its elegant décor and its exceptional gardens.

We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in the future.

Best Regards,

Hugues Raybaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We stayed here for two nights and loved every aspect. Super location, great service and breakfast. Upgraded to ocean front. One of the few hotels with landscaping in front. Very chic and, again, a superb location.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobmurrayiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
67 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2011

Was not certain what to expect. Older property that has been renovated in a stylish manner. Quiet. Parking available. No gym. Rooms are large, beach area and restaurant are good. Location is busy but good as you can walk to old town for some excellent dinner choices. Walk behind the hotel for shopping and such. Staff was good, recommendations for dinner and such, excellent.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eton1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

We didn't stay at this hotel, however we went to the bar several nights during our stay in Cannes. The hotel is set back from the Croisette so that is has a large, lush garden in front of it. At night, the palm trees and bushes are lit up with LED lights, hypnotically shifting from one colour to the next - which creates a fun, inviting atmosphere. The hotel lobby, bar, and restaurant are all decorated in a very playful 60's mod style - like something you would expect from a James Bond film. The bar has both indoor and outdoor areas with very comfortable seating. Our greatest pleasure was the lead bartender (I think his name was Alexander) who is incredibly welcoming and who enjoyed engaging the guests in hilarious conversation. I'll never forget one night when we left the bar and were headed back to the Croisette - Alexander was standing at the front of the hotel and kept waving his hands and yelling 'goodbye' to us - priceless.

As an aside, we stayed at Le Canberra which is nearby and excellent. I have posted a review there.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benjin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork/London
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2010

Excellent location in central Cannes. Very clean and smart hotel with efficient service.
Ideally located for the of the Nice to Cannes Marathon.
We were a group of 4 adults and 1 infant and the hotel staff could not have been better or nicer to us. Special word of Thanks for Aurélie for her support as we checked out on Sunday.
The views from our ocean facing room was 10/10 and the terrace was very comfortable.
This is the place to stay in down town Cannes! (J O'Mahony 14.11.2010)

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMOM171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2010

At the back of a generous park, with a spectacular view of the sea and the promenade, large balcony, spacious rooms, great design overall. Restaurant recommended!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antenne26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.3 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
497 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
0.2 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Hotel

Property: Le Grand Hotel
Address: 45 boulevard de la Croisette | BP 263, 06400 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cannes
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#14 Family Hotel in Cannes
#17 Business Hotel in Cannes
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true green oasis on the famous Croisette, the Grand Hotel enjoys a unique, exceptional setting. It is the oldest hotel on the Croisette and it has been completely revamped in 60s style. It is a haven of peace for epicureans. A drink in the bar "Le Cercle", lunch on the huge, spacious terrace or simply relaxing in your suite with its panoramic view of the bay. How good it is to stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Cannes
Hotel Le Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing