We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IT'S MUST”
Review of Le Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Grand Hotel
Ranked #14 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“IT'S MUST”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We spent almost one week in this unique hotel on the Croisette and we were more than delighted with everything. A very cosy, intimate hotel decorated with a great taste!
The staff was there with a smile beating the sun to satisfy all our recquests.
Ah, what a room with view! The only hotel on the Croisette with a huge green park where you can lie under the palm trees. The hotel has a private beach with a restaurant.
The main restaurant has a star in Michelin guide so be ready to eat healthy and extremely tasty.
Even if you do not find a room in the hotel you should pass to have diner or a drink in the bar where at the sound of a piano you will remember Fitzgerald and Zelda!
Have a wonderful romantic stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emeshe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear Guest,

We had recently the pleasure of your visit and I wished to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience on this website.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that the service our personnel provided met your expectations.
Your gratifying remarks make our efforts even more worthwhile.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon,

Hugues Raybaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    146
    54
    30
    15
See reviews for
79
247
22
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Yep the Le Grand hotel have managed it! I was charged €12 (£10.30) for a large glass of beer. The most expensive pint of beer I have ever paid for. It's tantamount to theft, it really is. I hate to harp on about it but I only paid (I say only) £6 in Oslo, and £7 in Reykjavik. Apart from this I really liked the hotel. Its very retro but I'm not sure whether its meant to be like that or if it needs a refurb!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaseUK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our establishment further to your stay in January.
We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed the hotel and its 60's style.

Nevertheless, we are sorry that you felt the cost of our pint of beer was outrageous. It is something of a surprise for us considering the fact that we do offer very competitive rates compared to the other bars located on La Croisette.
We hope that this will not stop you from coming back in the future to spend some good time enjoying nice drinks while looking at the sea.

With my best regards,

Hugues Raybaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Location was fantastic rooms spacious and well appointed cleanliness was well addressed staff very friendly and approachable only one issue for us was having no tea/coffee making facilities especially with my wife being addicted to coffee lol but we got around that problem ,overall a great hotel in a fantastic location we will be back and will look forward to it .

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Georgecorinna123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Staff were very attentive and exceeded my expectations

In particular, the restaurant Park 45

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hello_Mr_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for your feedback.

We are glad to learn that we did meet your expectations during your recent stay in our establishment.
Our guests' satisfaction is our priority and we are constantly working on the quality of the service provided.

We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back soon.

With my Best Regards,

Hugues Raybaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We stayed Weds 12th October for 4 nights in room 445. Room was huge, nice bowl of fruit, bathroom not 5 star but better than the one at home!! If you are having a bad day, go and get a drink from the barman (Alex) ..... he should be on stage!! Extremely attentitive with a great team around him too. We didnt eat in as we like the local restaurants. Stay there again...? Definitely!

Room Tip: Book early for best rates on expedia!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
Dear Guest,

We had recently the pleasure of your visit and we would like to thank you for the time you took to share your opinion.

We have taken good note of your comment regarding the bathroom and we would like to inform you that this is beeing discussed.
Nevertheless, we are delighted that you spent a pleasant stay with us, and thank you very much for your congratulations about the bar team, I will share your words with them.

Hoping that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon,

Best regards,

Hugues Raybaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monza, Italy
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

nice hotel with a perfect position on the croisette. Room is nice but the bathroom was not at the level of a 5 star hotel( i had a junior suite, 40m)
The plage 45 is really nice!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flashMilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelCannes06, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate the time you took to share your opinion further to your stay in Le Grand Hotel.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed the hotel and its location.

Regarding your comments on the bathroom we are sorry that it did not meet your expectations and we take into consideration your opinion on this.

With my best regards,

Hugues Raybaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antwerp
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We choose this hotel because of it's restaurant and private beach . We stayed three nights . Much to our disappointment we were rather arrogantly told that both facilities were fully booked for (at least) the duration of our stay . No single effort was made to come up with alternatives or suggestions . Although the rooms are "ok" they are certainly not up to the five stars this hotel has . For a "Small Luxury Hotel" member we found it rather disappointing , also considering the price we had to pay .

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roger576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelCannes06, Responsable relations publiques at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2011
Dear Roger576,

Thank you for your valuable comments.
We are very sorry that you had an unpleasant experience in trying to book the beach and the restaurant.
As explained to you in our previous correspondance, our Michelin starred restaurant "Le Park 45" and our beach "La Plage 45" are both highly popular in Cannes, especially during the high season. This is why we encourage our guests to pre-book these facilities in advance.

This does not, however, excuse the manner in which you were treated and we once again apologise for this.

Please do not hesitate to contact me in the hope that we will welcome you back to the Grand Hotel. I will personnally take care of your reservation.

Stephanie Demolli
Guest relations manager
--------------
-----------
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.3 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
498 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
0.2 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Cannes
JW Marriott Cannes
#16 of 126 in Cannes
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Hotel

Property: Le Grand Hotel
Address: 45 boulevard de la Croisette | BP 263, 06400 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cannes
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#14 Family Hotel in Cannes
#17 Business Hotel in Cannes
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true green oasis on the famous Croisette, the Grand Hotel enjoys a unique, exceptional setting. It is the oldest hotel on the Croisette and it has been completely revamped in 60s style. It is a haven of peace for epicureans. A drink in the bar "Le Cercle", lunch on the huge, spacious terrace or simply relaxing in your suite with its panoramic view of the bay. How good it is to stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Le Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Cannes
Hotel Le Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing