We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, nice staff”
Review of Le Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Grand Hotel
Ranked #17 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Halmstad, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel, nice staff”
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Very good location and very friendly staff.
Right by the beach and close to the bus to Nice airport, the theater, everything. Cannes is not that big.
Very friendly staff and great seaview with big balcony.
Rooms are spacious and internet included.

Only minus is that they do not have a fitness center, but it is great to take a run alongside the sea.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristianT71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.
We are delighted that you spent a pleasant stay with us, and I will not miss to share with my teams your remarks so encouraging!
We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon,
With my best Regards,

Hugues Raybaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    147
    59
    33
    16
See reviews for
87
257
24
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a quiet and luxurious place to take a drink in cannes then you should go there, there is a huge garden with a sea view, a bit behind the midle of the croisette, so its quite quiet place. Barmén and barmaid are very polite ànd the prices are not too expensive for cannes.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Axel06400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your review concerning our bar Le Cercle, it is a real pleasure to read that you enjoyed so much its atmosphere as well as the service provided.
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon for further relaxing moments,
With my best Regards,

Hugues Raybaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Large rooms are useful when you have to accommodate lots of luggage and shoppings. Le grand offers you a big room in the core of Cannes. Good services, big bed, large wardrobes and a very nice restaurant completes a very charming staying in Cannes. If you have a car, the parking lot is difficult to find, but the attentions staff took good care of my car and parked it properly in a daily basis. The only improvement I would recommend is getting better and newer blackouts for the large windows.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank regisqueiroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the time you took to share your opinion on this website.
We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank your for your remark about the blackouts, suggestions from our guests are always very helpful and we will discuss it with the concerned manager.
Regarding our car park it is true that it is located behind the hotel and not easy to find when you don't know Cannes, so this is why we offer a 24 hours valet service on La Croisette, just in front of our establishment.
Hoping we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon, I send you my very best regards,

Hugues Raybaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a very nice room with a spacious balcony that included a jacuzzi and an amazing ocean view. Great option if you can afford it.
But the hotel is not about the room only, the staff at the hotel and the restaurant were so nice and efficient.
About the restaurant, yes it is expensive but you get what you pay for. Great option for lunch and dinner. We also order daily in room breakfast and it always arrived on time. Will be back next year.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ordgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time you took to write this review.
It is a pleasure to read that your recent stay with us was a success.
Looking forward to welcoming you back next year or earlier!
Best regards,

Hugues Raybaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

After researching practically all the hotels in Cannes, I eventually chose Le Grand due to its location, the option of a balcony and the reported size of the room. We stayed in a prestige sea view room which had an adequate sized balcony (8 square metres) with two wicker loungers and a small table. The room itself was large (37 square metres) with the toilet separate to the bathroom. Personally, I found the toilet very dark and a little claustrophobic, but you are hardly going to spend all day in there!

Unfortunately breakfast was not included in our room rate and we did not eat in the restaurant during our stay. We did order breakfast to the room one morning which was delivered promptly and was just as we ordered. We also had a drink one night in the very expensive bar (a glass of wine was actually cheaper than a cup of tea). My advice would be to buy a bottle of wine in the supermarket and take advantage of your balcony and sea view.

While the service was pleasant enough and the room was clean, I felt that the hotel lacked many of the luxuries which could be expected from a five star hotel (e.g. no water provided at turn down, no docking station etc.). As is common on the continent, no tea and coffee making facilities are provided. However, you can get good rates for this hotel which can make it worthwhile, which we did by waiting until close to our travel date.

Room Tip: A prerstige sea view room with a balcony is recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Splodge89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Dear Guest,

We had recently the pleasure of your visit and I wished to thank you for having taken the time to post your comments on this website.
Thank you for your remark about the "luxuries". We already provide Ipads and coffee machines in some of our rooms & Suites but we will consider extending this service across all categories.
We are pleased to read that you spent a enjoyable time with us and hope to welcome you back soon,
With my best regards,

Hugues Raybaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

If it has been a while since you visited Cannes and you recall it for its Old World sophistication, wow are you in for a disappointment! Cannes has become tacky, with billboards fronting the once luxurious Le Croisette, advertising banners hanging down the hotel walls, even a condom dispensing machine on the sidewalk. The Grand is a nice enough hotel, modernized and set back from Le Croisette. Our room has a balcony overlooking the water. But there is outdoor café/bar sitting in front of the hotel and the noise level is high well into the night. After one night, we are happy to leave Cannes early the next morning.

Room Tip: Balconied room with a view of the sea is a plus, but then there is the noise level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UESfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback further to your stay in our establishment.
We are sorry to learn that the city was not up to your memories and expectations.
It is true that as a convention was going on these days, the atmosphere was a little bit different from what it usually is.
Nevertheless, we are glad to read that you enjoyed the hotel and its location and we sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back on a more quiet period.
With my best regards,

Hugues Raybaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Wonderful location, with a great lawn at the front of the hotel and close to the sea, this may not be the most expensive hotel in the area but certainly looks like it has most of the facilities.

The rooms are beautifully decorated and the common areas are of good specification, so it would easily be a hotel that I would choose for holidays too.

Room service is a little weak in terms of options, but the service is good throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PeddersUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind feedback!
It is a pleasure to read that your enjoyed your time here with us.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon,
With my best Regards,

Hugues Raybaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.3 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
520 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
0.4 mi away
Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Cannes
JW Marriott Cannes
#15 of 126 in Cannes
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Hotel

Property: Le Grand Hotel
Address: 45 boulevard de la Croisette | BP 263, 06400 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cannes
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#14 Family Hotel in Cannes
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#17 Business Hotel in Cannes
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true green oasis on the famous Croisette, the Grand Hotel enjoys a unique, exceptional setting. It is the oldest hotel on the Croisette and it has been completely revamped in 60s style. It is a haven of peace for epicureans. A drink in the bar "Le Cercle", lunch on the huge, spacious terrace or simply relaxing in your suite with its panoramic view of the bay. How good it is to stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Le Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Cannes
Hotel Le Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing