We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb location and impressive service .”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Grand Hotel
Ranked #19 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Superb location and impressive service .”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Although I have been to Cannes several times , first time staying at Le Grand . Very impressed . Service levels are good , particularly the breakfast restaurant team and reception who were exceptional . Larger than average rooms , with ample living space . Very well located , with numerous restaurant options just behind the hotel or in the old town which is a 10 minute walk . 5 minutes to the conference hall .

Attractive sub-tropical gardens , facing out to the promenade and sea ,

It has a boutique feel to it once inside , so the emphasis is on service and room quality . If you are looking for more comprehensive hotel facilities such as restaurant choice then it might disappoint , but you have so many options within a few minutes walk .

Room Tip: Request a sea facing , elevated room for the best views .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidkLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice comment.
We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in our establishment as well as the service provided.
We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon,
Sincerely,

Hugues Raybaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    135
    52
    29
    15
See reviews for
73
228
21
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Emirate of Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Sadly this is the worst of the sea front hotels I have stayed in Cannes.. It is not on par with the proper Five star hotels and lacks in service, amenities and attention to detail.
Sadly I have not seen the friendly courteous service that many others write about.. No one assisted me to my room, the one receptionist was checking in another guest and talking on the phone at the same time. Very poor indeed. Maybe it is the attitude that many of us are just hear for a Luxury Travel conference so we don't need to be treated like a real client??

My television has one channel working, the shower is either hot or cold and drainage is terrible.

I am saddened that the quality and the service is not just there, last night I wanted to have a hot chocolate outside... NO! It is not possible the bar is closed at 22:55.. tonight i get back at 12am and want a hot chocolate.. again this is it not possible no room service... What sort of 5 star doesn't have 24hr room service.

Compared to the true 5 star in Cannes this is not in the league.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your review.
We are sorry to learn that your recent stay with us has not been up to your expectations.
We have taken good note of the different points that you have highlighted and we will take the necessary steps in order to improve the service provided upon check-in and at the room service.
Thanking you for your usefull feedback,

Hugues Raybaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
112 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Spent 5 nights here as a base to explore Cannes and nearby Provencal villages. Enjoyed the fact that the hotel is set back a bit, which cuts down on street noise -- yet the beach and sea is fully visible. We had a nice view of the sea with a balcony and comfortable lounge chairs. Bed was very comfortable. Bathroom was a good size and very clean, no mold or moldy smells. Toilet was separate from the bathroom as is the custom in Europe; both could use ventilation systems. Since we did not expect to spend a lot of time at the hotel, we didn't mind that there was no pool or fitness center. Depends on what you're looking for in a hotel during a vacation. We splurged on a dinner in the Michelin-rated restaurant and were left positively speechless by the quality, service, etc. It's expensive, yes, but Cannes is expensive and one should not go there expecting to live and dine cheaply on and around the Croisette area.

Room Tip: The large front yard makes this hotel a destination for a variety of sales events and business meeti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToujoursProvence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your posiive feedback.
It's a pleasure to read such a comment and we are delighted to learn that your recent stay was up to your expectations.
We hope to welcome you back soon,
With my best regards,

Hugues Raybaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Recent stayed here with family for a short break (3 nights). The hotel is perfectly situated, just set back slightly from the Croisette. The gardens at the front of the hotel are lovely, save for the incongruous glaringly bright red statues commented on by previous reviewers. They are out of place and not classy I'm afraid! The staff were very friendly throughout our stay and one of the bar staff in particular was quite a character. In a good way. The rooms themselves are comfortable and quite large, although the bathrooms are a bit on the small side. At least, they were in the room I had. Ditto for my parents. My shower had poor water pressure and the temperature was very erratic. It made having a shower (which is meant to be relaxing) quite a stressful and annoying experience. That might be because my room was located on the 10th floor (?). My parents, who were on the 2nd floor, did not suffer from this same problem. My major criticism of this hotel, however, is that it is in need of a facelift. The 70s decor is beginning to look tired. The whole place just needs a good spruce up basically. To only have 1 lift is a drawback that started to irritate after a while. The hotel needs at least one more lift for it to be acceptable. We didn't eat at the hotel but I suspect it would have been quite a dear do. Fine, if you are happy to pay those sorts of prices so that's not a criticism. (You pays your money, and you takes your choice). There is no spa or swimming pool but the room prices probably reflect that. Overall, the hotel was ideal for a short stay. If I had to stay longer, I might be in two minds as to whether I would return but for 3 nights, it did the job adequately.

Room Tip: Perhaps choose a room on the lower floors if possible given the issues I had with the shower in my r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Capri_lover2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the time you took to share your opinion.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed the hotel and its location.
We have taken good note of all your remarks about the decoration and the lift.
Regarding the water we apologize for the inconvenience and inform you that our technicians are already working on this.
We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in our establishment,
Sincerely,

Hugues Raybaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We spent 3 nights at Le Grand. We reserved through the Small Luxury Hotels website which entitled us to an upgraded room and breakfast. The hotel has a convenient location on La Croisette. It is easy to walk to restaurants, shopping, across the street from the beach and the boardwalk which goes for miles. It is within walking distance of the train and main bus station(about 1km) The room was spacious, very comfortable king sized bed with a view of the mediterranean on the sixth floor. The service was excellent. We used the complimentary bikes to ride along the promenade.The included breakfast buffet was good.

Room Tip: We stayed on the sixth floor in an ocean view room in September we weren't bothered by any noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dera Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, its location and the service provided.
We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

With my best regards,

Hugues Raybaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
502 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Just set back from the promenade to benefit from a slightly quieter hotel than certain others in Cannes. We had really attractive room overlooking the med at front of the hotel. Valet parking.
Strolled along seafront and decided to return to hotel to dine having browsed through menu before leaving. What a good decision. Very attentive staff and a gastronomique experience to remember. Worthy of any stars they are awarded. Will definitely choose this hotel if returning to Cannes.

Room Tip: With sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment.

It's a real pleasure to read that you enjoyed the hotel as well as the restaurant.
We thank you for your kind words about the staff that we will pass on to them.

Looking forward to welcoming you back!
Sincerely,

Hugues Raybaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

The Grand Hotel is perfectly located on the croisette and our stay was made better with the stunning sea view that we had. Each room has a big balcony (good for the smokers) and the rooms are spacious and modern and clean. The hotel is walking distance from the harbor and casino. We drove to the hotel, which also provides valet parking at a daily cost. The beach at Grand Hotel is a nice beach, but sun beds should be booked in advance as it can get pretty crowded.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lino2939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the time you took to post this review on Trip Advisor.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that it was up to your expectations.
We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon,

With my Best Regards,

Hugues Raybaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.3 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
460 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Cannes
JW Marriott Cannes
#14 of 126 in Cannes
798 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Hotel

Property: Le Grand Hotel
Address: 45 boulevard de la Croisette | BP 263, 06400 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cannes
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#14 Family Hotel in Cannes
#17 Business Hotel in Cannes
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true green oasis on the famous Croisette, the Grand Hotel enjoys a unique, exceptional setting. It is the oldest hotel on the Croisette and it has been completely revamped in 60s style. It is a haven of peace for epicureans. A drink in the bar "Le Cercle", lunch on the huge, spacious terrace or simply relaxing in your suite with its panoramic view of the bay. How good it is to stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Cannes
Hotel Le Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing