We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect spot in Cannes”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Grand Hotel
Ranked #19 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect spot in Cannes”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Loved this hotel and its MadMen swanky style. The king size room with sea view was spacious, had a big bathroom, big balcony and stunning view of the sea. The location is perfect for heading right onto the Croisette and exploring in both directions. Very centrally located. Recommend Valet if you are driving because finding the hotel parking lot requires local expertise.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time you took to share your feedback concerning your stay in our establishment.
It is always a pleasure to learn that you were satisfied with your stay.
Your comment contributes to motivate the team for continuous improvement.

Looking forward welcoming you in our hotel,

Sincerely yours,

Hugues Raybaud
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    135
    52
    29
    15
See reviews for
73
228
21
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We recommend you to choose prestige room with a nice teracce with the view to the ocean. Service was all the way excellent and made our stay memorable. The breakfast was fantastic. The beach is among the best in the french riviera. I will thank the hotel staff for an enjoyable vacation for us!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tkloever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time you took to share your comment. We are very happy to learn that your stay in our establishment satisfied you.
We are very sensitive to positive comments such as yours, it contributes to motivate the whole team for continuous improvement.

We hope to have the pleasure welcoming you back in our hotel.

Sincerely yours,

Hugues Raybaud
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Selected this hotel based on reviews and shame on me for ignoring the poor reviews.

Cleaning - Three of the six days we stayed we had to call down and request the room be cleaned despite leaving early mornings and arriving back around 15:00 and leaving the sign on the door. The last day the crew was cleaning the room across from ours and saw us leave. Arriving back to the room around 15;30, the room was not cleaned. We called reception once again and it took over an hour for someone to come. All we wanted to do was to come back to a clean room, relax, nap before the evening begin. Rather we had to wait, wait and wait not knowing when the crew would come clean the room.

Concierge - Not helpful at all. Asked for information on tours, was provided with a brochure from the shelf. Asked for car service, was given a number to call. These guys were lazy and seemed to have no knowledge of anything. We have stayed at many lesser hotels and staff have gone out of their way to assist by making calls, visiting, offering suggestions, etc. These people just didn't seem to care.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time you spent sharing your comment. It is extremely important as they provide a motive for continuous improvement. We are very sorry to learn that you were not satisfied with you stay.
Please accept our deepest apologies for the inconvenience you have experienced in our establishment.
We have taken good note of all the dysfunctions you have highlighted and all of them will be discussed with the concerned manager.
It is not reflecting the usual level of service we are used to deliver to our guests.
We feel sorry to know that the image you keep about our hotel is not up to your expectations but we hope that you will grant us the opportunity to give you a much better opinion of our hotel during a further stay in Cannes.
Please do not hesitate to contact us if you want to discuss about it.

Sincerely yours,

Hugues Raybaud
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona del Mar, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This is a smaller hotel but is in an awesome location. The staff and service was excellent and they have a couple of nice restaurants. They are located right on the Croisette and walking distance to everything. I don't think I have ever been in a larger room that was not a suite! The room and bathroom were huge,

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and get a room facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jgparenti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment, it is a pleasure to read comments such as yours.
We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your time in our establishment.

We are looking forward welcoming you again soon.

Best regards,
Hugues Raybaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Amazing hotel, beautiful room with a big balcony located in the middle of La Croisette, great park in front the hotel which protects you from the traffic. What a pleasant start of the day while taking your breakfast. Evening dinner in the restaurant is a must, food is superb and tasty, service is at the right level, friendly and efficient.
Monsiıeur Hughes, the General Manger is running the hotel like a Maestro. Congratulations

.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sofia1421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your very postive comment and for the time you took to share it.
It is always a pleasure to learn that our guests enjoyed their stay in our establishment, and we are delighted to know that the restaurants met your expectations.

We really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon,

With Best Regards,

Hugues Raybaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastal South Carolina, South Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed here because we could not get a sea view room at the Majestic or Martinez. Firstly the lobby has a very cold impersonal feel. Many reviews raved about the staff- but we found them disengaged. On room service- we did not get the correct order in 4 mornings- despite being very specific as we continued to not get tight order- continually sent 1 cup!

We asked to have our room serviced during a three hour window so we could get back and get ready for a wedding- of course it was not done. The entire front lawn was in the middle of construction of sets for an advertising event. We did read this happens weekly. Really cannot recommend this hotel. We paid 600.00 a night for a sea view. We did get the view- but nothing else lived up yo the price.

Room Tip: Go high for noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheilab56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your comment.

We are deeply sadden to learn about the shortfalls you experienced in our service and apologize for the inconveniences you encountered.
Should you desire, I would welcome the opportunity to discuss with you in greater detail your points. Do not hesitate to call me at the hotel if you wish.

Sincerely,

Hugues Raybaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
132 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This hotel may be retro in decor but everything else about it is bang up to date. The staff are friendly, helpful and efficient. The rooms are spacious and well appointed and those facing to the front have wonderful views overlooking the lawn garden and the sea beyond. The Grand is also unique in that it is set back from the road and therefore more picturesque than all the other hotels along The Croisette . This also means it is quieter! And that lawn area offers a super spot for meals on the patio area or drinks under the parasols. The breakfast buffet is pricey but the choice of quality food on offer is staggering - and kids eat free!
The only criticism I have is that dogs are allowed to stay and smoking is permitted on all the bedroom balconies but (sadly) this is typical of hotels in France. Thoroughly recommended though.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have THE view, those at the back overlook the car park but are significantly chea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gommers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guet,

Thank you for the time you took to share your comment on this website.
We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your time in our establishment, it's always a pleasure reading positive comments such as yours

We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon,

Best regards,

Hugues Raybaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.3 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
460 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Cannes
JW Marriott Cannes
#14 of 126 in Cannes
799 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Hotel

Property: Le Grand Hotel
Address: 45 boulevard de la Croisette | BP 263, 06400 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cannes
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#14 Family Hotel in Cannes
#17 Business Hotel in Cannes
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true green oasis on the famous Croisette, the Grand Hotel enjoys a unique, exceptional setting. It is the oldest hotel on the Croisette and it has been completely revamped in 60s style. It is a haven of peace for epicureans. A drink in the bar "Le Cercle", lunch on the huge, spacious terrace or simply relaxing in your suite with its panoramic view of the bay. How good it is to stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Cannes
Hotel Le Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing