We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, friendly staff, elegant comfortable rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
Ranked #9 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2012 via mobile

The Gray d'Albion is a great place to stay. I had a very comfortable, well equipped and quiet room with a great bed. The team at the hotel was both friendly and very attentive. The possibility to have breakfast outdoors on a quiet terrace added to the experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmvandergraaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction_hotels, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Dear rmvandergraaf,

Following your stay at our hotel, you were kind enough to post a comment on TripAdvisor for which we would first like to thank you. Your comments are extremely important as they help us improve our services.

My staff and I have taken note of your positive comments: they are our best reward and they strongly encourage us to uphold the level of excellence you are entitled to expect… Deserving your trust is essential.

We hope to see you again soon in our hotel,

Yours sincerely

François PORTIGLIA
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

336 - 342 of 1,327 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2012

We stayed there for 1 week in end August 2012.

The location (between La Croisette & Rue d’Antibes) is great but no see view.

Be careful some rooms that look over the courtyard can be a bit dark. Rooms are very well re-designed and clean with comfortable beds. Bathrooms are modern but a bit small (we stayed in a superior room).
The rate is very fair for a 4 stars so well located in Cannes.

The Valet parking is very efficient and costs (only) 26 euros for 24 hours, which for Cannes is not that expensive. (When we stayed at the Carlton 2 years ago, we paid 40 euros for 24 hours.)

The staff is very nice and helpful especially the front desk (Julien).

The only hic was at the Concierge desk that wanted to be helpful for making us dinner reservations. But while speaking to the restaurants he didn’t even mention that he was speaking from Grey D’Albion Hotel so we could have done it ourselves. Indeed when calling a restaurant for a booking on the French Riviera, it’s always well appreciated when the booking is made through a good hotel…

One night we went on their private beach for a special fireworks dinner. The food was ok and the service good and again for a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: The rooms in the courtyard are a bit dark and make sure you will get a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ray-bech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction_hotels, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Dear Ray-bech,

Following your stay at our hotel, you were kind enough to send a comment on the TripAdvisor website for which we would first like to thank you. Your comments are extremely important as they provide a motive for continuous improvement.

My staff and I have taken note of your comments regarding your points of satisfaction but also those of unsatisfaction. These will help us to improve our offers and services to reach the level of quality you can expect of our hotel.

Looking forward to having the pleasure of seeing you again soon,

Yours sincerely

François PORTIGLIA
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 8 nights and loved it. The service is exceptional. Every member there treated us with lot of passion. They truly want you to enjoy your stay. Their concierge desk is open very late - I think 10pm and that is perfect. We would come back from our day trips and ask them to help us out for next day. Their recommendations with the taxi, food, and travel were right on. Although we speak no french, we didn't even struggle as everyone spoke English.

Room Tip: The location of this hotel is perfect. Close to the train station AND to the La Croisette. It does...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Worldtours1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This hotel is nicely located, just next to the famous Croisette in Cannes
employees are efficient and friendly
rooms nice and tidy.
The beach of the Hotel is also great, nice restaurant and top employees.
If you have children, right next to the hotel you will find a lovely zone with many attractions for them.

Room Tip: we were lucky to have a room on the side street and not on Rue d'Antibes which is quite noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoyaGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction_hotels, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Dear JoyaGeneva,

This message to inform you that I carefully read your comment you wrote on the TripAdvisor website after your stay at the Gray d’Albion Hotel this month.

We constantly do our most to offer a quality of service worth the image we wish to give to our hotel, and I’m happy to read that the service you were given at the Gray d’Albion has been up to your expectations.

I want you to know that we consider your comments very seriously and use them to take the necessary steps to improve and reach the irreproachable level of service that you are expected.
Hoping we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again

Yours faithfully.

François Portiglia
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We have stayed In this hotel for a fiew years in a row, and every time it has been a very nice stay. This year, unfortunately, they didn't have any availability, so we moved to another hotel on the boulevard de la croisette and are very disappointed. The Grey D'Albion is very clean, good service, friendly stuff and excellent position in the center of Cannes. Absolutely recommendable.

Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
Thank Jacques F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

The lobby of the hotel in gorgeous although the room was just ok to me. The beds weren't as comfortable, but overall it was a good stay. Hotel staff weren't as friendly, but the location was ideal. Close to all shopping, beach, and restaurants. What I didn't know was that the beach chairs and towels weren't included with my stay. I think it was 15-20 euros per day to rent. However, you can take a towel from the hotel and just lay on the sand as 95% of the people were doing there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shakcherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction_hotels, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2012

Dear caligurl2,

This mail to inform you that I carefully read your guest comments you sent after your stay at the GRAY D’ALBION HOTEL.

We constantly do our most to offer a quality of service worth the image we wish to give to our hotels, and I regret that the service you were given at the GRAY D’ALBION has not been up to your expectations.

I want you to know that we consider your guests’comments very seriously and use them to take the necessary steps to improve and reach an irreproachable level of service, which obviously, has not been totaly the case this time. I personally listed what went wrong with the heads of department concerned. Measures have been taken to remedy those failures.

However, I hope you will still trust us, remain a guest of our hotel, and that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

I remain,

Yours faithfully.

François PORTIGLIA
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

My husband and I spent six nights at the Gray d'Albion at the end of August and enjoyed the experience immensely. The scent of roses as you enter reception sets the tone. Our superior room on the fourth fllor had everything we could want, and, as we looked out of the back of the hotel, rather than onto the street, it was very quite. They don't supply shampoo though, only shower gel, so don't go without. Breakfast was much better than expected - with a wide range of hot and cold options. Don't sit outside if you don't like pigeons - as in most places, these rats with wings are all around. Inside the restaurant though, this was obviously not a problem.

The hotel is in a great location. The train station is five minutes away (right out the front of the hotel). There's a good area of public beach directly by the sea left out the front of the hotel (there's no need, in our view, to pay for a lounger on a private section of beach - just buy an umbrella for around E18). Being just off what is the end of the Croisette, it's also easy to nip up into the lovely old town (Le Suquet) for dinner.

We'll certainly return if we go back to Cannes.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cranford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction_hotels, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Dear cranford,

Thank you for this wonderful and detailed review on TripAdvisor.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed staying with us and that the service of our team was up to your expectations. It is a great source of motivation for us.

Hoping to see you back soon in Cannes

Yours sincerely,

François PORTIGLIA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.1 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
570 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Cannes
JW Marriott Cannes
#15 of 126 in Cannes
913 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion

Address: 38 rue des Serbes, 06406 Cannes, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
#6 Family Hotel in Cannes
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#7 Business Hotel in Cannes
Price Range: £76 - £486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in between the sea and the shopping artery of the most prestigious stores of Cannes, the Hôtel Barrière Le Gray d’Albion is a trendy haven of peace with a warmly atmosphere. Renovated in a contemporary style, the Hôtel Barrière Le Gray d’Albion excels at welcoming its guests in its 200 rooms and suites where you will be pampered by our teams. The hotel resembles the Cannes’ atmosphere: bright during the day and shiny at night. Discover the sunny delights in its two restaurants: taste the most subtle alliances at “La Terrasse du Gray” or typically Mediterranean flavours at the restaurant of the private beach on La Croisette. Let yourself be carried away by the Bohemian-chic ambiance of the private beach, its Summer parties, colourful cocktails and nautical activities. At any time of the day, the “Jane’s Bar” is the ideal place to meet up. And for sport sessions, enjoy the intimacy of the brand new fitness centre of the hotel. A stone’s throw away from the hotel, between the azure of the sky and the blue of the sea, be tempted by some green. Just a short walk away, you will swing on the best greens of the French Riviera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gray d Albion
Gray d Albion Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing