We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept secret”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
Ranked #7 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best kept secret”
Reviewed 22 November 2012

My 4th time staying here. I travel for business to Cannes and have stayed at The Carlton and The Martinez, supposedly the best hotels in Cannes. If your an average guest and are placed in an average room in those hotels - no big deal at all. GDA is no frills but very comfortable and very French. The rooms are not large but they are comfortable. The balconies make the experience. If you want comfort and location this is a great place to be.

Room Tip: High floor with balcony facing east
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Passagemaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
François P, General Manager at Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion, responded to this review, 25 November 2012
Dear Passagemaker,

First of all, let me thank you for having taken the time to let us know about your satisfaction on the TripAdvisor website, and tell you that I do really appreciate it.

Always trying to offer our guests a quality of service worth the image my team and myself wish to give of our hotel, it is certain that your letter pushes us to continue our work as it is always encouraging to notice that everyone’s efforts contribute to make our guests’stay pleasant.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon at the Gray d’Albion,

Yours faithfully.

François PORTIGLIA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    638
    413
    107
    27
    23
See reviews for
172
580
50
247
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eynsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012 via mobile

This hotel has a lovely location, but has a lack of hospitality - toiletries are bolted to the wall in the bathrooms, and the the tea and milk in the bedrooms is in powder form. The rose smell in the lobby is overpowering, and bar prices inflated beyond the usual Cannes norm. Needs to try harder.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
François P, General Manager at Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion, responded to this review, 25 November 2012
Dear EynshamPrincess,

This answer to inform you that I carefully read the comment you wrote ont The TripAdvisor site after your stay at the Gray d'Albion Hotel.

We constantly do our most to offer a quality of service worth the image we wish to give to our hotel, and I regret that the the best value for money you were given has not been up to your expectations.

I want you to know that we consider your comments very seriously and use them to take the necessary steps to improve and reach an irreproachable level of service, the quality of service of my hotel being usually held in good reputation, as our ranking on TripAdvisor can show it with a ranking of 10th over 134 hotels registered in Cannes on the website.

However, I hope you will still trust us, and that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again. Be sure that my team and myself are trying harder !

Yours faithfully.

François PORTIGLIA
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

We've stayed at the Gray d'Albion and the Majestic and whilst the Majestic is on the Croisette, the Gray d'Albion is virtually as good as long as your willing to walk 75 yards to the Croisette, however it's about half the price.
Only problem we had was the noise of someone scrapping chairs on the balcony in the middle of the night.The noise seemingly going through walls like a knife through butter.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
François P, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Dear Paul W,

First of all, let me thank you for having taken the time to let us know about your satisfaction, and tell you that I do really appreciate it.

Always trying to offer our guests a quality of service worth the image the Group Lucien Barrière wishes to give, it is certain that your advice pushes us to continue our efforts as it is always encouraging to notice that everyone’s efforts contribute to make our guests’stay pleasant, despite the trouble you got during the night with outside noises which disturbed your sleep.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon at the Gray d’Albion,
I remain,

Yours faithfully.

François PORTIGLIA
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

A nice hotel, nothing special, but we had no complaints. We found a good deal for 5 nights b&b online and booked a superior room but on arrival were upgraded to a comfortable room on the 3rd floor with a balcony overlooking the central garden. It was quiet, everything worked and the bathroom was a good size. Free wi-fi was a bonus. The location is good for the beach, the shops and the station. We found it best to eat down by the port where there a plenty of restaurants. We recommend the short train ride to Antibes which is more picturesque than Cannes.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank src1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
François P, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Dear src1948,

This message to inform you that I carefully read your yesterday's comment you wrote on the TripAdvisor website after your stay at the Gray d’Albion Hotel this month.

We constantly do our most to offer a quality of service worth the image we wish to give to our hotel, and I’m happy to read that the service you were given at the Gray d’Albion has been up to your expectations.

Hoping we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again

Yours faithfully.

François PORTIGLIA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

This is the second year running we have stayed at the Gray. We stumbled upon it by chance last year and activly sought to book it this year as we had such a good time. The location is perfect, a short walk from the Station and a short walk to the Beach and Croisette. The staff couldn't be more helpful - nothing is too much trouble. It has it's own beach but they do charge for sunbeds/umbrellas.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JazzyJonesCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
François P, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Dear JazzyJonesCat,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on Trip Advisor website following your recent stay at the Gray d'Albion Hotel.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and be assured that I have expressed your satisfaction and your compliments to my staff.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon at the Gray d’Albion,

Your sincerely,

François PORTIGLIA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We booked this hotel for a 4 day stay, through Secret Escapes, it was great, the staff were lovely and it was centrally located near to the Croisette & the main shopping street, well within walking distance to the old town and lots of lovely restaurants.
The staff were really helpful and polite, the minibar is a little expensive, but thats fairly normal for a hotel of this standard, there was a kettle in the room which was a great as we like our tea and coffee.
The bed in our room on the 4th floor was massive and so so so comfortable, a pleasure to sleep in :-)
It was also my birthday on our first day, and the housekeeping staff noticed my birthday cards in the room so they left me a card and a small present of sweets in the room to wish me a happy birthday from the hotel which i thought was really lovely of them.
Checkout time was 12.00pm which is lovely.

Overall a lovely hotel with lovely staff and i would recommend it to anyone visiting Cannes

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJ-AV-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
François P, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Dear BJ-AV-UK,

First of all, let me thank you for having taken the time to let us know about your satisfaction on the TripAdvisor website, and tell you that I do really appreciate it.

Always trying to offer our guests a quality of service worth the image the Group Lucien Barrière wishes to give, it is certain that your very positive comments push us to continue our efforts as it is always encouraging to notice that everyone’s efforts contribute to make our guests’stay pleasant.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon at the Gray d’Albion Hotel,

I remain,

Yours faithfully.

François PORTIGLIA
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We stayed just one night but want to come back for a longer stay. The Hotel is in a great location, just a few minutes walk from all the great restaurants, shopping and the spectacular beach. Our room was very modern, clean, comfortable, free wi-fi, and quiet. Parking not provided but close by, breakfast good but expensive, should have chosen reservation with breakfast included, staff was very helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms with view are quite a bit more, we chose non-view because we were not planning on staying in o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
François P, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
Dear Dennis I,

Many thank you for having taken the time to let us know about your satisfaction on TripAdvisor, and tell you that I do really appreciate it.

Always trying to offer our guests a quality of service worth the image the Group Lucien Barrière wishes to give, it is certain that your comment pushes us to continue our efforts as it is always encouraging to notice that everyone’s efforts contribute to make our guests’stay enjoyable.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon at the Gray d’Albion Hotel,

I remain,

Yours faithfully.

François PORTIGLIA
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.1 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
498 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel  Le Cavendish
Hotel Le Cavendish
#2 of 126 in Cannes
743 reviews
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Provence
Hotel de Provence
#1 of 126 in Cannes
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion

Property: Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
Address: 38 rue des Serbes, 06406 Cannes, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#6 Family Hotel in Cannes
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
#7 Business Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in between the sea and the shopping artery of the most prestigious stores of Cannes, the Hôtel Barrière Le Gray d’Albion is a trendy haven of peace with a warmly atmosphere. Renovated in a contemporary style, the Hôtel Barrière Le Gray d’Albion excels at welcoming its guests in its 200 rooms and suites where you will be pampered by our teams. The hotel resembles the Cannes’ atmosphere: bright during the day and shiny at night. Discover the sunny delights in its two restaurants: taste the most subtle alliances at “La Terrasse du Gray” or typically Mediterranean flavours at the restaurant of the private beach on La Croisette. Let yourself be carried away by the Bohemian-chic ambiance of the private beach, its Summer parties, colourful cocktails and nautical activities. At any time of the day, the “Jane’s Bar” is the ideal place to meet up. And for sport sessions, enjoy the intimacy of the brand new fitness centre of the hotel. A stone’s throw away from the hotel, between the azure of the sky and the blue of the sea, be tempted by some green. Just a short walk away, you will swing on the best greens of the French Riviera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gray d Albion
Gray d Albion Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing