We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful rooms and great location”
Review of Hotel Le Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Le Canberra
Ranked #8 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful rooms and great location”
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Spent three days here and they were wonderful. Rooms modern, clean and beautiful. Hotel located near shops, within walking distance of train and sea. Hotel staff very helpful. A Hidden Gem.

Room Tip: Overlooking pool with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susiede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    232
    48
    16
    4
See reviews for
114
328
27
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Really enjoyed my stay at Hotel Le Canberra. Superb location. Reception are particularly helpful. The rooms are very modern with smart bathrooms and ambilight TVs on the walls. Nice pool area and bar.

Ignore any reviews about no air conditioning. I can categorically state this hotel has the most effective A/C I've ever seen! If you get a room without it, asked to be moved. It was particularly warm during our September visit. Our room stayed icy cold all week!

Here are my top tips for getting the most from your stay:

1) Nice airport to Hotel - get the 210 express bus. Just head left out of the airport and buy your tickets in the office. The coach is clean, fast and the A/C keeps you cool. Why pay a taxi driver £95 when you can arrive at the same time, in comfort, for less than £15? When you get dropped off, just cross the road (away from the water) and head right. You'll be on Rue D'Antibes. (It's not a short walk. It will take around 15 mins with luggage, but you get to scope out the main shopping street.

2) Supermarket & Minibar - The minibar is quite small and a small bottle of water will set you back 5 euros. However, there is a Spar supermarket approximately 90 second walk from the hotel. Every morning I went and got fresh french bread, pate and drinks for breakfast. Any drinks that I'd taken from the minibar were replaced. (water is 1.20 euros from Spar!). They also have a huge selection of papers, magazines, fruit, wine, beers, cat food, foie gras (ie. everything). Just cross the road outside the hotel and take the first left. The spar is parallel to the hotel.

3) Bars - Rue des frères Pradignac is an excellent street nearby with some cool bars, bistros and restaurants. About 3 min walk from hotel. Google Rue des frères Pradignac. Highly recommended for a Friday or Saturday night. The bars are really reasonable down here (9-10 euros for a cocktail) and seem to attract the locals. I particularly liked Le Cavoc. Also google the Black Pearl, which is another decent bar. They serve 'unlimited' snacks while you are there and have Jager Bombs on the menu!

4) Restaurants - there are 2 outstanding restaurants you should visit in Cannes. Xavier La Pizzaiola (18/229 restaurants on trip advisor) delivers a quality pizza. You often find the locals queued outside as they pick up a takeaway. But highly recommended is La Sousta, which is very authentic French, and can be found at the top of the hill in the old town. There is currently only 1 review on Trip Advisor, so its a hidden gem. You can get a daily special, like Lamb Shank and Potato Dauphinois for a bargain price. The street is bustling with locals who clearly know good food. There is a blackboard outside that tells you what the daily special is, or you can choose something else by reading from an adjacent blackboard. It's a great walk to the top of the old town and you'll walk past loads of great bistros and restaurants. Also next to La Sousta is another mini supermarket.

5) Beach bars - Cannes is great for sun bathing and relaxing on the beach. But some of the beach bars are extremely expensive so its worth walking up and down. A 'reasonable' place will cost two people around 100 euros for lunch, which isn't exactly great value. (15 euros for beach sun lounger, 20 euros for food and 30 euros for a bottle of wine). An identical place could cost 50% more so its worth checking the prices before heading down to the beach. I liked the one with yellow sun loungers sandwiched between two of the most expensive piers that belong to a couple of the big hotels.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Domino2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

This hotel is a hidden gem. I have previously stayed in the Carlton and the Martinez when I have visited Cannes but Le Canberra is far nicer- the service is more personal and the location is great for the shops and restaurants that are off the main tourist track.

I am writing from my standard room, which is perfectly big enough with 2 little balconette style windows overlooking the road. There is no road noise as the windows are adequately double glazed. The air conditioning is perfect. The bathroom is nice and modern with a groovy pink light over the bath. Complimentary toiletries. Mini bar could be stocked a little more- there is no wine. The bed is very comfortable. The wi-fi is free!

The garden/pool area is lovely to sit outside and relax- only hotel guests are allowed to use it. There doesn't seem to be any drinks service though out by the pool, so you have to get up and go to the bar. I know this sounds lazy but as the garden area could be accessed from the road you have to pick up your bags if you are on your own! This might be because we are out of season and they have less staff on though.

The beach is 2 minutes away.

The staff are very helpful- we left a bag full of duty-free on the bus on our way, and the concierge was fabulous- she called the bus company, tracked the bag down and even wrote us a note in french to take with us to explain the situation at the lost property office.

There is a Spar supermarket just round the corner which is handy.

Overall a great hotel- I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rumpelstiltskin79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channel Islands
Level Contributor
282 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We booked up 2 rooms both very nice, and the air conditioning was a joy, you really need it, Staff were all nice, small pool but garden was nice just to relax and sunbathe in. You are in the middle of Cannes with designer shops a step away from the main door, breakfast was very nice but a tip if you want to have a good selection then breakfast around 8 to 8.30am

Room Tip: breakfast around 8 to 8.30 for a good selection of food
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Willitsgoodtotalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm County, Sweden
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

I have stayed in this hotel at least ten times during the differant film and TV festivals. It is a good location both for business and pleasure. Two minutes to the beach and seven minutes to the Palais des Festival.
The hotel has good parking facilities in the back, it costs of course. Contrary to some of the other reviewers I like the breakfast and it is nice to gather in the lobby for a beer before you go out in the evening. Rooms vary in seize and standard. If you travel in low season loook at the room first - before you decide.
Try to book rooms facing the garden, preferably on the first floor with a balcony.

Avoid the corner room on the first floor. (The corner of Rue dÁntibes.) It´s cramped, small and noicy and the window is high up on the wall.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nahoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County California USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

I am writing this review as I am laying in bed in this hotel. The reason I can't sleep is because it is so hot. It would be nice to be able to turn the AC on, but there is none. The only reason that I'm staying here is because the 1-4 rated hotels were sold out. If you like old, small, cheap hotels. Look no further. (Price 75 euros)

On another note, I stayed in the #1 rated hotel in Cannes last night and it was very comfortable. (Price 150 euros after negotiating) Good luck!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank OCLifestyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Right smack in shopping area. (Hermes and Chanel etc located couple of blocks away though). Its a small hotel run by a few staff only . Need to struggle with luggage to get into the hotel lobby if you enter from rue d'Antibes. Hotel and rooms are modern n quite chic. The club sandwich from room service was delicious!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlemissnaughty28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.4 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel de Provence
Hotel de Provence
#1 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
0.5 mi away
Hotel  Le Cavendish
Hotel Le Cavendish
#2 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Canberra

Property: Hotel Le Canberra
Address: 120 rue d Antibes, 06400 Cannes, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
#19 Family Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming 4 star Boutique Hotel, the Hotel Le Canberra offers a highly elegant environment. Unrivaled in their refinement, the rooms and suites overlook the prestigious rue d'Antibes or the garden with swimming pool. This very glamorous and resolutely modern decor was inspired by the style of the 1950s. The 'classic chic' style of decoration joins forces with the superior comfort of the accommodation. Share a few moments of relaxation in the Le Cafe Blanc lounge bar and restaurant (opened from April to October). On the patio or terrace, you'll find the very same on trend and glamorous atmosphere. Then, you can head to the hotel garden and the swimming pool surrounded by bamboo and bougainvillea, or else the gym to keep yourself in shape, before finishing off with a session in the sauna. Quiet and ideally located, the hotel offers top-of-the-range services for an incomparable stay. Close to the hotel, you'll find the famous Croisette, the prestigious rue d'Antibes and its luxury shops, the Palais des Festivals, the TGV train station and sandy beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, TravelUp, Fastbooking, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Le Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Canberra Hotel
Le Canberra Cannes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing