We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and good value”
Review of Hotel Le Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Canberra
Ranked #10 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2013

First of all a very friendly staff, super helpful with my kids; excellent location at short walking distance from the center of the beach and waterfront, right in the shopping rue d'Antibes and a 5 minutes walk from restaurants on port and Suquet. ...... ............... .......... .......... .......... ........... ........... ....... .......... ."......... ........

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
Thank JWGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (674)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 674 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2013

Outstanding place and very glamorous. It looked the part on the official website and it didn't disappoint. So many hotels in this part of France - even the high-end ones - have a dated look, but this was an ultra-modern, boutique place in the middle of Cannes.
It is located on the central shopping street, Rue d'Antibes (via a doorway that is easy to miss, as we did), less than 10 minutes walk from the train station and about 3-4 minutes walk to the main Croisette beach.
We arrived at the side entrance, which leads you in past a swimming pool with loungers on a terrace, plus chairs and tables, all surrounded by a screen of bamboo plants. It achieved the feel of a secluded, hidden garden in the centre of the town, with palm trees overhead.
We were warmly welcomed at reception and our room was small but stylish, with a little balcony overlooking Rue d'Antibes. The bathroom was extremely glamorous, with funky lighting, a great power-shower and a sink that I would have been tempted to pinch if it hadn't been firmly attached!!
Back downstairs, there is a fitness centre and spa area in the basement and although we didn't use it, we had a quick look and it seemed very plush, in keeping with the rest of the place. The glamour theme was enhanced over breakfast as a host of Hollywood types were buzzing around the terrace, while a famous actress was being photgraphed and interviewed by the pool. In the circumstances, the price of around EU130 per night B&B for two people was decent value.
One TINY negative point - but an isolated, bizarre one - was the mocking laugh from the breakfast staff when this English-speaker answered their question about room number in French. Poking fun at a foreigner trying to speak the language (without the benefit of a perfect accent) is not a great way to achieve customer satisfaction, but it was out of keeping with the overall experience and doesn't stop me giving this place top marks.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CFoy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Really lovely friendly, well designed, contemporary hotel in a great location on the main shopping street in Cannes. 5-10 minutes walk from the train station and you get to walk past some of the shops on the way so it's a nice walk too!

The rooms are spotless and the black bathroom is very funky with the bright pink lighting. Our hotel room was a little on the small side but it was perfectly formed. It feels like a 4 star hotel which I think is important as I have stayed in 4 stars that do not deserve that rating.

There is a lovely bar and lounge area and restaurant/breakfast area. There is also a lovely terrace outside with a pool. It was too early in the year and not quite warm enough to use it though.

The fitness area in the basement is adequate and modern with 2 treadmills, 2 exercise bikes and 2 cross trainers (step). There is also a sauna which I didn't use but it looked good. There are towels and showers available for use on the ground floor too which I thought was a great facility.

The staff are very friendly, a little slow on service at times but somehow it seemed to go well with the laid back feel of the place so it's not really a complaint.

The only complaint I do have is the price of the breakfast buffet. At 21 Euro a head, it's a bit on the steep side and it is self serve too. That said, it was a good spread. Prices for food and drink in Cannes is on the expensive side in general so get used to that! The prices in the mini bar are high too, expect to pay 5 Euro for a small bottle of water.

All in all though, a fantastic place to stay and more reasonable on the room rates than many hotels of a similar looking standard (from my research). I would definitely recommend this little gem to others.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eeebyeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

From the moment we arrived at the hotel, we felt welcomed and valued, we arrived around 12 and check in was not till 3, they however checked with housekeeping and got us a room pronto!

The room was stunning, beautiful bathroom, we felt like we had landed in the lap of chic luxury, really cant fault it, yes sink was quite shallow, but in the grand scheme of things not even a problem....what made it for me were the little touches:

Upon request an iron was sent to my room within 5 mins of my asking, I was lent an adapter by reception at no extra charge, also a PC and printer available for guests, reception staff came down to the gym to help us get equipment working

Cannes itself is very expensive and you dont really feel like you get value for your money in terms of shopping eating drinks etc, however its an experience, and something a bit different...

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miranda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Located just of La Croisette, this well designed, contemporary hotel is a real find in Cannes. The rooms are spotlessly clean and those overlooking the pool and gardens are quiet and have lovely sunny terraces. The black marble bathrooms with hot pink lighting over the bath are a lot of fun too! Room service and laundry are efficient, the reception and bar staff are friendly and helpful. While the breakfast choice was plentiful and good quality, it was hardcore buffet style - boil your own eggs, make your own toast and tea - and involved much to-ing and fro-ing which was not very restful and the chap on duty was not particularly helpful, so perhaps at 21 euros per person you might go elsewhere. And buy water for the room in the supermarket nearby as a tiny 25cl bottle of Evian from the mini bar is 5 euros! But all in all a very enjoyable weekend stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jubejubearabaraba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

A 5-10min walk from the station to the awesome location on Rue de Antibes with great shops and cafes. Tiny doorway leads into a small staircase and then into the luxury of the hotel. Its very chic boutique hotel and you are greeted by friendly and welcoming staff. After being upgraded from a Traditional room to a poolside Privilege room, we entered the room to find a massive comfy bed, luxurious bathroom (loved the pink spot lights and black marble!) and comfy, clean, modern accommodation. Nice touch of the speakers in the bathroom from the TV as well!
On the downside I would say the walls are a bit thin (sneezing man in room next door!) but location, quality and comfort make up for it.
5min walk through the hotel head south to La Croisette beach front with great bars, restaurants and designer shops.
An amazing dinner at Carlton Inter-Contiental hotel is well worth it for a special occasion, and dinner at New York New York as well as the Up Side Down Cafe are also great places (hot waiters!)
Dont be put off by all the building work outside Cannes Station (they really need to clean it up!!) but a short walk to the hotel and its like another world!
Also worth a trip to Monaco on the train if possible as its great there as well!
I can not recommend this hotel enough as we both loved it. Booked through BA and still managed to get a great deal. The hotel offers luxury at an affordable price.
Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask for a pool facing room for a great view and sun! any upgrades they can do too. Even though its o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimmyboy1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We are a mature couple and my wife and I had a very pleasant three night stay in October 2012. Though the price was higher than we would have liked it proved value for money. The desk staff all spoke English and were friendly and helpful. The location is about ten minutes walk from the railway station and is well located for all areas of interest and only a few minutes to the water front. The bathroom was elegantly appointed as was the room, though perhaps a little small to accommodate the oversized arm chair provided. A much smaller chair would have made the room feel more open and less crowded. Regardless it was ample for my wife and myself with adequate storage for our two large cases, carry-ons and camera bag etc. There are many fine restaurants nearby and window shopping was a delight as we returned from our evening meals and strolls.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frequenttravello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel de Provence
Hotel de Provence
#1 of 126 in Cannes
827 reviews
0.4 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
579 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Canberra

Address: 120 rue d Antibes, 06400 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
#16 Family Hotel in Cannes
Price Range: £77 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming 4 star Boutique Hotel, the Hotel Le Canberra offers a highly elegant environment. Unrivaled in their refinement, the rooms and suites overlook the prestigious rue d'Antibes or the garden with swimming pool. This very glamorous and resolutely modern decor was inspired by the style of the 1950s. The 'classic chic' style of decoration joins forces with the superior comfort of the accommodation. Share a few moments of relaxation in the Le Cafe Blanc lounge bar and restaurant (opened from April to October). On the patio or terrace, you'll find the very same on trend and glamorous atmosphere. Then, you can head to the hotel garden and the swimming pool surrounded by bamboo and bougainvillea, or else the gym to keep yourself in shape, before finishing off with a session in the sauna. Quiet and ideally located, the hotel offers top-of-the-range services for an incomparable stay. Close to the hotel, you'll find the famous Croisette, the prestigious rue d'Antibes and its luxury shops, the Palais des Festivals, the TGV train station and sandy beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Le Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Canberra Hotel
Le Canberra Cannes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing