We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleased with our choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Le Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Le Canberra
Ranked #7 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Pleased with our choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

My Girlfriend and I spent some days here in July 2013 after reading the ratings on TripAdvisor. Our aim was to travel allong the Cote d’Azur and visit the towns around Cannes.
The Hotel was real nice! The rooms were clean, rather new and well kept. The black and dark bathrooms were not really my taste – but I guess that’s just me. The breakfast on the other hand was rather disappointing. Not that it wasn’t good – but for the choice they offered it was simply overpriced. My opinion is, that they should either increase the size of the buffet or lower the price.
The service was not always the same. While the people at the bar and restaurant were very friendly and helpful, the people at the reception were unfriendly and arrogant. When getting back from a swim at the beach in our flip-flops and shorts we were even asked whether we were staying at the hotel.
The hotel location and facilities however, where very pleasant. We enjoyed the pool and relaxed at the bar after some strenuous sightseeing. Well located and still rather quiet we considered the hotel a good choice for its purpose. :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grischun85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    226
    48
    16
    4
See reviews for
110
325
27
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

The hotel is located right in the centre of Cannes - on the main shopping street and only a couple of blocks from the beach. Parking is right across the street and is quite reasonably priced at 14eur a day.

Check-in was smooth and we got upgraded to a suite which was a nice touch. The room was clean and spacious and more like a large hotel room, it's not really a suite to be honest but it was very nice. The bed was very comfortable and sleep quality was great.

Overall the hotel is nice, we spent some time by the pool and enjoyed the room however service is seriously lacking for a 4* property. Food is only available at specific times of the day, they don't know how to make cocktails and lied to us about it. In particular one of the bartenders was just plain rude. When you're paying high prices for food and drink the least you would expect is a reply and a smile. We were ignored while he attended to the till or worked in the backroom. We also came back to our room after a day out at the beach and it still hadn't been made at 4:30pm. The cleaning staff then hounded us out of our room so that they could clean it before they had to finish their shift.

A decent hotel in a good location unfortunately let down by incompetent and sometimes rude service.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jarrell112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Coming for a wedding in Cannes where the bride and groom had booked some rooms for their guests in that hotel, we really enjoyed our stay. Staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms were of contemporary design and very glam. Swimming pool was great and quiet garden and poolside restaurant and terrace a plus in this busy town in summer season. Discreet entrance on the main street as it is probably an old townhouse renovated into a boutique hotel so don't miss it if you arrive by car. Parking all round + a few spots at the back of the hotel for 25E/day. Plenty of charm but with all the modern comfort except a limited fitness room that could be improved. The rest was perfect and we would definitely come back or recommend it to our friends when visiting Cannes. Plus the Croisette is literally a 5 min walk away. Loved it!

Room Tip: Ask for the swimming Pool Side, worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauradezil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

This really is an amazing little hotel in the centre of Cannes. The staff are attentive and friendly and always there when you need them. The hotel amenities are really good. The Restaurant serves great food and even better wine and the breakfast was good too. I can't recommend this hotel more highly to anyone who is looking for a great little hotel in Cannes. I loved it so much I hope to return before the end of summer.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cazbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

The hotel was very modern and clean - a small but nice pool. Restaurant in hotel is good but very pricey. Concierge was super helpful and rest of the staff was great. Location was very good - a couple blocks off the beach but close to everything!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidiganahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London England
Level Contributor
154 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

Found this hotel on tripadvisor so went with the reviews and wow!!! Stayed there with my teenage daughter for 3 nights and just loved it! A perfect position - shops one side and beach the other. A 2 -3 minute walk to the Croisette and near The Carlton Hotel and just surrounded by lovely shopping and great restaurants. The garden/pool area is lovely but not many bed so if you want time by the pool you have to be lucky - but its very tranquill. Lunch at the hotel was delicious and great service. The Hotel staff are so welcoming, helpful and friendly. I couldnt really find fault. Plus the shower room and bedrooms are really elegant and tasteful and a good size.

Room Tip: All rooms were quiet but the back rooms overlook the pool and garden and some have a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

We arrived the night of the Palm d'or, which meant that driving to the hotel was quite _interesting_ giving all the road closures, but it also meant that we saw lots of glamorous film types!

We parked in an underground car park (the turning to the right before the hotel on Rue d'Antibes - 15 Euros a day) and walked to the hotel.

The hotel itself - very nice! The ambient music is Chillin' - no musak here! Staff are great - attentive without being in your face. We ate in the restaurant when we arrived, we have two children (6 and 10) and I have never seen such beautifully presented children's food ever, the adult food was good also.

We had a junior suite which had two TVs, and a (very) small balcony - his and hers basins, separate bath and shower, all stylishly done (reminded me of the Malmaison brand in the UK)

The pool is small, but heated.

When I go back to Cannes, this hotel will be my first choice!

The hotel is on a parallel road to La Crosiette and the road has LOADS of great shops ;-)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.4 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel de Provence
Hotel de Provence
#1 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
0.5 mi away
Hotel  Le Cavendish
Hotel Le Cavendish
#2 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Canberra

Property: Hotel Le Canberra
Address: 120 rue d Antibes, 06400 Cannes, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
#19 Family Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming 4 star Boutique Hotel, the Hotel Le Canberra offers a highly elegant environment. Unrivaled in their refinement, the rooms and suites overlook the prestigious rue d'Antibes or the garden with swimming pool. This very glamorous and resolutely modern decor was inspired by the style of the 1950s. The 'classic chic' style of decoration joins forces with the superior comfort of the accommodation. Share a few moments of relaxation in the Le Cafe Blanc lounge bar and restaurant (opened from April to October). On the patio or terrace, you'll find the very same on trend and glamorous atmosphere. Then, you can head to the hotel garden and the swimming pool surrounded by bamboo and bougainvillea, or else the gym to keep yourself in shape, before finishing off with a session in the sauna. Quiet and ideally located, the hotel offers top-of-the-range services for an incomparable stay. Close to the hotel, you'll find the famous Croisette, the prestigious rue d'Antibes and its luxury shops, the Palais des Festivals, the TGV train station and sandy beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Fastbooking, TravelUp, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Canberra Hotel
Le Canberra Cannes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing