We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price for a 4 star hotel”
Review of Hotel Le Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Le Canberra
Ranked #10 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I think the 4 star goes to its interior design and decoration, which are modern and new.

In one of the main street where there are numerous hotels and shops.

Price is 88Euro when I stayed which is really a good bargain.

Room is large. Bathroom, particularly the shower area is large. Light inside the room and in the corridor is too dim in my mind.

Interuppted in the morning by maids for no reasons - not cleaning but asked me something which I could not figure out even now.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LucerneSau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (663)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 663 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2013

Spent my Birthday weekend in the Canberra Hotel in Cannes, which was a good experience. The hotel is on the main shopping street but still only 5 minutes from the beach. It is small and the front desk staff is helpful and friendly. They even sent a personal email a couple of days ahead of our arrival asking if we want to be picked up at the airport.

When we arrive, our room smelled like cigarette smoke, which they apologized for profusely and gave us another (actually nicer) room right away. The rooms are small but clean with lots of light. I recommend you try to get a room towards the back of the hotel as those have balconies.
Breakfast is decent but nothing to write home about. They could do with a bit more fresh fruit.
The pool is small but was not busy throughout our stay so it was not problem to get a chair there.
The Canberra has arrangements with a couple of the beach clubs (Long Beach, Royal Beach) at a discounted rate. However, I would recommend using different clubs as the Royal Beach feels a bit down-scale in terms of people and the facility overall. However, the Salmon Tartar I had was divine and worth going back!
(On a side-note: on the other two days, we went to the Martinez Beach club (too expensive for what you get but good people watching, comfortable beds, and great food), the l’Annex (medium experience overall) and walked by the Baoli Beach Club which looks very cool.)
Overall a good value-for-money.

Room for improvement:
The lighting in the bathroom is really bad when trying to shave or put on make up. One cannot see anything. Please get a lit mirror or spot light that allows one to properly groom.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back have balconies, room to the front do not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AE-traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in July with my daughter for 3 nights. I was checked in by Antoine, who was very polite and vwry helpful and a real gentleman. The evening waitress, a lady with short blonde hair was also lovely. The rest off the staff need to learn what a smile is and have a few more manners, as everything seemed an effort, I was actually told off by a waitress for taking a clean glass off the table, even though I had waited some time for one, very slow in replenishing water and juices at breakfast. The poor service and snobbery of the staff ruined my stay. Poor menubin the evening and food and drinks were very over priced for what you recieved. Rooms were immaculate and the pool was clean also. Probably wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRoberts0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

My Girlfriend and I spent some days here in July 2013 after reading the ratings on TripAdvisor. Our aim was to travel allong the Cote d’Azur and visit the towns around Cannes.
The Hotel was real nice! The rooms were clean, rather new and well kept. The black and dark bathrooms were not really my taste – but I guess that’s just me. The breakfast on the other hand was rather disappointing. Not that it wasn’t good – but for the choice they offered it was simply overpriced. My opinion is, that they should either increase the size of the buffet or lower the price.
The service was not always the same. While the people at the bar and restaurant were very friendly and helpful, the people at the reception were unfriendly and arrogant. When getting back from a swim at the beach in our flip-flops and shorts we were even asked whether we were staying at the hotel.
The hotel location and facilities however, where very pleasant. We enjoyed the pool and relaxed at the bar after some strenuous sightseeing. Well located and still rather quiet we considered the hotel a good choice for its purpose. :)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grischun85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The hotel is located right in the centre of Cannes - on the main shopping street and only a couple of blocks from the beach. Parking is right across the street and is quite reasonably priced at 14eur a day.

Check-in was smooth and we got upgraded to a suite which was a nice touch. The room was clean and spacious and more like a large hotel room, it's not really a suite to be honest but it was very nice. The bed was very comfortable and sleep quality was great.

Overall the hotel is nice, we spent some time by the pool and enjoyed the room however service is seriously lacking for a 4* property. Food is only available at specific times of the day, they don't know how to make cocktails and lied to us about it. In particular one of the bartenders was just plain rude. When you're paying high prices for food and drink the least you would expect is a reply and a smile. We were ignored while he attended to the till or worked in the backroom. We also came back to our room after a day out at the beach and it still hadn't been made at 4:30pm. The cleaning staff then hounded us out of our room so that they could clean it before they had to finish their shift.

A decent hotel in a good location unfortunately let down by incompetent and sometimes rude service.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jarrell112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Coming for a wedding in Cannes where the bride and groom had booked some rooms for their guests in that hotel, we really enjoyed our stay. Staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms were of contemporary design and very glam. Swimming pool was great and quiet garden and poolside restaurant and terrace a plus in this busy town in summer season. Discreet entrance on the main street as it is probably an old townhouse renovated into a boutique hotel so don't miss it if you arrive by car. Parking all round + a few spots at the back of the hotel for 25E/day. Plenty of charm but with all the modern comfort except a limited fitness room that could be improved. The rest was perfect and we would definitely come back or recommend it to our friends when visiting Cannes. Plus the Croisette is literally a 5 min walk away. Loved it!

Room Tip: Ask for the swimming Pool Side, worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lauradezil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This really is an amazing little hotel in the centre of Cannes. The staff are attentive and friendly and always there when you need them. The hotel amenities are really good. The Restaurant serves great food and even better wine and the breakfast was good too. I can't recommend this hotel more highly to anyone who is looking for a great little hotel in Cannes. I loved it so much I hope to return before the end of summer.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Cazbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
0.4 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
566 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel de Provence
Hotel de Provence
#1 of 126 in Cannes
816 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel  Le Cavendish
Hotel Le Cavendish
#2 of 126 in Cannes
815 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Canberra

Address: 120 rue d Antibes, 06400 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
#19 Family Hotel in Cannes
Price Range: £82 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming 4 star Boutique Hotel, the Hotel Le Canberra offers a highly elegant environment. Unrivaled in their refinement, the rooms and suites overlook the prestigious rue d'Antibes or the garden with swimming pool. This very glamorous and resolutely modern decor was inspired by the style of the 1950s. The 'classic chic' style of decoration joins forces with the superior comfort of the accommodation. Share a few moments of relaxation in the Le Cafe Blanc lounge bar and restaurant (opened from April to October). On the patio or terrace, you'll find the very same on trend and glamorous atmosphere. Then, you can head to the hotel garden and the swimming pool surrounded by bamboo and bougainvillea, or else the gym to keep yourself in shape, before finishing off with a session in the sauna. Quiet and ideally located, the hotel offers top-of-the-range services for an incomparable stay. Close to the hotel, you'll find the famous Croisette, the prestigious rue d'Antibes and its luxury shops, the Palais des Festivals, the TGV train station and sandy beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Splitty, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Canberra Hotel
Le Canberra Cannes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing