We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a hidden gem”
Review of Hotel Le Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Le Canberra
Ranked #9 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Finland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truly a hidden gem”
Reviewed 22 April 2009

We stayed at Le Canberra for four nights and were really pleased. The staff is very helpful and polite, the hotel & rooms are clean and modern, the location is really good. The standard rooms aren't too big though but for use they were big enough. The breakfast was really tasty and plentiful, even though it is a bit pricey ar 21€ per person. From the nice cote d'azur, take the 210 direct airport bus. It arrives at the train station, couple blocks from the hotel. Bus fare is about 15€ per person.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heikki81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    237
    49
    16
    4
See reviews for
118
337
27
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2009

This hotel is totally over priced. We stayed there for 6 nights in a superior room that was tiny. They had advertised twin beds but it was two singles pushed together. We arrived at 10am hoping for an early check in. The front desk said the best they could do was mind our bags until 2pm, the regular check-in time. We were exhausted after a transatlantic flight but this was our only option. We arrived back at the hotel at 2pm, the room was not ready. We sat in reception for over an hour until finally, exhausted and losing patience they finally gave us our room at 3:20pm. It was tiny and not what we expected for the price we were paying, we were told this was what we had paid for and that was all they had available anyway. It took thie shine off our trip as we felt we had been ripped off. The hotel has a nice interior but the unfriendly front desk staff and general bad attitude would definitely put me off going to this hotel ever again. We did not feel welcome once during our stay, and felt as if we were in the way by just being there.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter_Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albenga, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2009

We stayed at the Canberra Hotel for just one night. The hotel is centrally located, on the Rue d'Antibes, the main shopping street of Cannes. On the back of the hotel you will find a little garden with a small charming pool. The hotel is very new and the design is modern and classy. The room was a bit small but everything was well appoinyed. The receptionist told us the hotel had reopened some months earlier after an extensive renovation....Unfortunately the furniture were already marked in some parts. I guess they will have to spend a lot of money to maintain them! For the moment, in any case, if you can get a good deal as we did, it one of the most interesting hotels in Cannes.
If you need a modern place, perfectly comfortable and near everything, this is the place to book!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank luxuryhotelsdreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2008

This hotel is great. It is centrally located on Rue d'Antibes which is the main shopping street and is about 2 minutes walk from the sea.

The rooms were modern and very comfortable. The room had a plasma TV, a balcony overlooking the small swimming pool and a very luxurious bathroom.

The people at the reception desk were very friendly and helpful.

As it was November we did not take advantage of the swimming pool but there is a fairly small pool at the back of the hotel surrounded by a beautiful wooden terrace - we can see how great it would be to have drinks on a summer evening there.

All in all, a fabulous boutique hotel!

  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FH_BLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2008

I booked this hotel as a surprise trip for my boyfriend's 40th birthday after reading the reviews here on Tripadvisor. Neither of us had visited Cannes before and I wanted something a bit different and exclusive. We were not disappointed. The hotel was beautifully presented with a gorgeous bar, modern room and glamourous black bathroom. We arrived early (11am) and checked into our room with no problem. The pool and garden were a welcome bonus as many hotels I had looked at did not have this facility. The hotel is centrally situated on the Rue d'Antibes with its huge array of shops and cafes along the many side streets branching off it. It is about a 5 minute walk to the beach but with so much to see on the way it often took us a bit longer after we'd stopped off to buy some pastries and grab a coffee. My boyfriend is very fussy about the hotels we stay in so I knew I had to do something special for this landmark birthday - he agreed he could not have chosen a better place himself!

  • Liked — Cool & modern design, location
  • Disliked — Nothing at all!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2008

I recommend this hotel unreservedly.
Recently redecorated and renovated it is a very nicely presented hotel. The room was generous in size and most comfortable and the bathroom very well appointed. The hotel breakfast was typical european continental and served with a touch of class in the lovely dining room. The hotel has a lovely (small) green area which adds to the ambience of the dining area. In an expensive destination such as Cannes this hotel is value for money in a very handy location. Parking in the nearby public carpark. You will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GR1NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
China
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2008

Before I went to Cannes, I had read much review at tripadvisor.com and finally booked the Canberra.

This hotel is located almost at the end of Antibes, which is the main commercai streat. Its postion is ok but not next to the beach. This is small supermarket nearby, where you can buy the water and fruits.

Prons:
1) Everything is new.
2) Quiet
3) Free WiFi

Cons:
1) Too Expensive!!!
2) Small room
3) Small bed

If you do not pay much attention to its high price, it could be your choice for your trip.

  • Liked — WiFi
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tiddybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
0.4 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
510 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel de Provence
Hotel de Provence
#1 of 126 in Cannes
786 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel  Le Cavendish
Hotel Le Cavendish
#2 of 126 in Cannes
766 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Canberra

Property: Hotel Le Canberra
Address: 120 rue d Antibes, 06400 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
#19 Family Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming 4 star Boutique Hotel, the Hotel Le Canberra offers a highly elegant environment. Unrivaled in their refinement, the rooms and suites overlook the prestigious rue d'Antibes or the garden with swimming pool. This very glamorous and resolutely modern decor was inspired by the style of the 1950s. The 'classic chic' style of decoration joins forces with the superior comfort of the accommodation. Share a few moments of relaxation in the Le Cafe Blanc lounge bar and restaurant (opened from April to October). On the patio or terrace, you'll find the very same on trend and glamorous atmosphere. Then, you can head to the hotel garden and the swimming pool surrounded by bamboo and bougainvillea, or else the gym to keep yourself in shape, before finishing off with a session in the sauna. Quiet and ideally located, the hotel offers top-of-the-range services for an incomparable stay. Close to the hotel, you'll find the famous Croisette, the prestigious rue d'Antibes and its luxury shops, the Palais des Festivals, the TGV train station and sandy beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fastbooking, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Le Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Canberra Hotel
Le Canberra Cannes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing