We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A first rate non chain hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel de Provence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel de Provence
Ranked #1 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A first rate non chain hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

A well maintained, clean room and bathroom. A little on the small side. Lovely garden. Cozy bar.
Friendly and well informed staff. Arranged very reasonable transport to St Tropez. Good car and driver.
Close to shops, restaurants, markets. Easy access to trains, buses. Walking distance to beach.

Best part - aroma of freshly baked bread as you wake up.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sumathy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryJuliedub, Propriétaire at Hotel de Provence, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Google Translation
Cher monsieur ,

Nous vous remercions d avoir pris le temps pour ce beau commentaire ,
nous sommes contents que tout ce soit bien passé ,
nous vous remercions également pour votre belle recommandation ,
amicalement,
Jerry and julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    593
    141
    20
    5
    5
See reviews for
112
349
53
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jurong, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

Pros:
- Near to the TGV railway station
- Near to the coastline
- Near to the shopping district

Cons:
- AWFUL smell in the room, like decomposed fish
- A lot of flies circulating the room when we entered. I killed about 6 of them by using the bathroom slipper to swat at those flies

We requested a room change but all the rooms were full so we had to deal with it. We asked the staff to come up to the room and he agreed that there was a very bad smell. Gave us air freshener instead. We used almost half of the bottle to keep the smell down.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank poji23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryJuliedub, Propriétaire at Hotel de Provence, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Good morning Sir ,
We are very sad about your review, you have booked a double room without balcony, and you have been upgraded in a balcony room, you have a funny way to say thank you.
You have decided to eat in your room while it is forbidden, you prefered to continue and flies came into the room. You wanted to move into another room but we were fullybooked, you were very irritated !
You asked me to make a nice price and I said no as you were already upgraded, after which you said I will kill you on Tripadvisor !!!
It is not nice !!!
Have a good day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

Delightful, family run, hotel in the heart of Cannes. Close to shops, beach, rail and bus stations. Clean and fresh rooms with very comfortable beds. Beautifully maintained decor and garden. Jerry and Julie, the owners, and all the staff are welcoming, friendly and helpful. It is a joy to stay here and we visit each year.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneandMike142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryJuliedub, Propriétaire at Hotel de Provence, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Google Translation
Chére Anne
cher Mike ,

Nous vous remercions pour votre charmant commentaire mis sur trip advisor ,
Nous sommes trés content que tout ce soit bien passé ,
et nous espérons déjà vous acueillir prochainement ,
car vous serez toujours les nienvenus chez nous ,
amicalement ,
Jerry and julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

I felt compelled to e-mail the owners after my stay, thanking them for a wonderful experience. Jerry and Julie (My apologies if I spell either of your names incorrectly), you are lovely people, and your hotel is equally as lovely. Thank you for a great stay. I will be sure to recommend you to others, and will most certainly return next time I find myself in Cannes.

Thank you!!

Room Tip: Stayed in the room with the walk out terrace. Lovely room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isaac P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryJuliedub, Propriétaire at Hotel de Provence, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Google Translation
Cher Isaac ,

Nous vous remercions pour votre top commentaire mis sur trip advisor ,
pas de probléme d avoir inscrits nos prénoms sur le site ,
car tous nos clients deviennent nos amis ,
nous vous remercions également pour votre belle recommandation ,
amicalement ,
jerry and julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

We had a lovely few days here, the room was great, and the hotel perfectly located, and managed to be quiet too. We slept brilliantly, which is saying a lot. Great value for money, staff were good and breakfasts in the little garden were nice. I'd highly recommend this place, and would definitely stay here again if we came back to Cannes.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Saskia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryJuliedub, Propriétaire at Hotel de Provence, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Google Translation
Chére saskia ,
nous vous remercions pourvotre beau commentaire ,
nous sommes contents de voir que tout s est bien passé ,
et nous avons déjà hate de vous accueillir prochainement ,
car vous serez toujours les bienvenues ,
nous vous remercions également pour votre belle recommandation ,
amicalement ,
jerry and julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

I have only been in England ten hours and thought i should write the review of the hotel to share with others. Firstly this hotel is not just ranked as the number 1 in Cannes it is actually ranked as no. 1 in the Cote d'Azur. This would be for a reason. I have been coming to Cannes since i was three years old (29 now) and have mostly always stayed in The Martinez. While staying there i always complained that i wanted to find a family run hotel which was small, had fantastic service and didnt charge the earth. I have finally found one!!

The hotel is perfectly positioned about thirty seconds walk from the Croissette and is a hidden gem. A complete paradise from the crazyness of the front line. As you enter you are greeted by beautiful gardens which are so well looked after. There is a little seating area with lovely garden furniture which at night is all light up and is an oasis of calm. As waiting for your girlfriend to get ready at night is painful i waited in this area while quenching my first on the family wine from their vineyard near St tropez. Delicious!!

The staff are superb and i cannot even think of one criticism for them. Infact we even mentioned at breakfast that none of them have an attitude problem as seen at so many hotels and they seemed so happy to just please you. One example was that the lady at breakfast remembered i liked lots of orange juice at breakfast so when i sat down she brought me two!!! small, but every little touch x10 creates something special which this place is.

The rooms are gorgeous. you can look for a fault but you will not find one. Seats in the shower which are rain showers and are so powerful. Comfortable beds, free mini bar drinks, plasma tv, Sound proof balcony doors, safes, free luxury toiletries i could go on!! My father came with me and he complains about everything. This time he was silent which i found most amusing.

This hotel is not a five star because it is small and has not got the facilities. It has five star service and five star rooms with a five star location. if you are using this hotel as a base for somewhere to explore Cannes you will be so so Happy! If you want facilities then you will need to book elsewhere but the sea is only 30 secs away.... The price is fantastic too. You just dont feel like you are being ripped off. When you wake up in the morning you will feel happy to have paid what you did!

I have always searched for Hotels like this but never really found them. This a must visit. Please feel free to look at my other reviews to see that i am not that easily pleased so you can really understand that this review is the way it is.

Thank you to all the staff and the owner for making this a great stay!!!

Get booking as they sell out fast! We had to leave as we could only book four nights as they were booked up.. we then went to a shocker in Juan les pins which i am about to write which is not so glowing!

I hope the hotel does not change a thing and does not raise their prices like so many others once they get popular as it is perfect the way it is!!

thanks

Room Tip: Front balcony rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlieg628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryJuliedub, Propriétaire at Hotel de Provence, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Google Translation
Chére charlie ,

nous vous remercions d avoir pris tout ce temps pour nous écrire ce top commentaire sur Trip Advisor ,
Nous sommes en effet 1er sur trip advisor depuis début 2012 et 3 éme en 2013 sur toute la cote d azur ,
nous en sommes fiers mais nous savons bien que tout ça est grace à notre superbe clientéle,
nous avons hate de vous accueillir prochainement avec votre papa ,
car vous serez toujours les bienvenus chez nous ,
amicalement ,
Jerry and julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

Wife and I stayed here for four nights just before the start of the film festival. Lovely - seemingly newly renovated - perfectly located hotel in a quiet street mid-way between the Rue d'Antibes and La Croisette. We had rooms at the back which were exceptionally quiet, but think the rooms at the front would have been just as quiet too. The rooms (not spacious, but quite big enough) were spotless when we arrived, and were kept that way throughout our stay. The beds were exceptinally comfortable too.

All members of staff were most welcoming and helpful, and the breakfasts (which we chose to have in the front garden).were really delicious.

We really enjoyed our stay, and can thoroughly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: The hotel is in a quiet street, so all rooms are quiet; the ones at the back probably the better cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tin-Double-Two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryJuliedub, Propriétaire at Hotel de Provence, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Google Translation
Chére madame ,

Nous vous remercions pour votre sympathique commentaire mis sur trip advisor ,
Nous sommes ravis que votre chambre vous ait plu surtout pour son calme .
La prochaine fois essayez nos chambres doubles avec balcon , un peu plus chers mais trés agréables ,
nous avons hate de vous accueillir prochainement ,
cordialement ,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.3 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel  Le Cavendish
Hotel Le Cavendish
#2 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Canberra
Hotel Le Canberra
#8 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Provence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Provence

Property: Hotel de Provence
Address: 9 rue Moliere, 06400 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Provence 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de Provence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing