We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Ranked #3 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
2 reviews
“A Real Surprise”
Reviewed 24 August 2012

I spent 4 wonderful nights at Five. From making the booking through to the departure, the staff made it a very warm experience. Nothing was a problem... ever. The position is great and the interior design of the hotel is cool. The only negative is that the gym is tiny (if that is important to you). This hotel was a pleasant surprise as you weren't surrounded by the the Black Amex carrying type that ruin most high-end hotels with their ostentatious tastes and overbearing presence; just those that appreciate the good things in life.I look forward to returning

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVID M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    110
    33
    9
    6
See reviews for
78
250
17
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

My wife and I along with two other couples stayed at Hotel Five in early August of 2012. All three couples are Amex Black Card carrying members with a lot of travel experience including stays at fine hotels all over the world. At first we were impressed with the modern look but then we started to realize that this hotel can be described as a nerd given an extreme makeover. At first he looks like a cool dude but after you speak to him for a while, his real personality comes out.

- The rooms are small
- They overcharge for what the hotel is
- The rooms have cheap furniture (our vanity wasn't even bolted to the wall)
- Everything is for sale (literally, you can buy the desk in your room if you want)
- They nickel and dime you to death
- The food/bar service at the pool was SLOW. We kept walking to the bar to get our own drinks.
- There is NO view - it's situated behind a building
- Of the three couples, two had problems with no water pressure and a leaking shower

However, the biggest problem was at checkout. Because we each booked our own rooms we realized we were charged three different rates for the same size rooms. The rates ranged from $400 euros to $950 euros per night. The hotel wasn't willing to comprise on the price as the six of us were standing there disputing it at checkout.

I would HIGHLY recommend not staying here. Their quality and service definitely do NOT live up to the American Express Fine Hotels & Resorts that we're use to staying at. We toured the Carlton while we were there. The Carlton is THE hotel to stay at. It was much fancier with a fantastic looking lobby and it was right on the water with beach access.

Enjoy Cannes!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel. If you have to stay here only room 601 has a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JesseBiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

This really is a superb "uber-chic" Hotel in the centre of beach front Cannes, just where you would want to be. We stayed 5 nights & didn’t want to leave.
We hoped for an early check-in & arrived early... but this is peak season. Our valuables were stored, beach towels given, beach restaurant & sun beds kindly booked by the Concierge & so we set off for the day map in hand.
We returned late afternoon & our bags were in the spacious deluxe room which we were delighted with, a dressing room, separate toilet, superb bathroom, hugh very comfortable double bed, desk, large great TV, music system, coffee machine etc. I would normally moan about having no separate shower but everything was like new & high end quality.
The breakfasts were GREAT with everything you could want. We booked the Gourmet package & had our best meal here in Cannes with some splendid wines recommended by the charming wine waiter "Sandray?".
The roof top pool is a feast to the eye but not really practical for a proper swim set but within a stones throw you have the sea for this.
All the staff were great they could not do enough for you, even the friendly bell-boy took the trouble to ask his father-in-law for a good place for us to cycle too. And it was great. All the staff seemed to want to go that extra mile to ensure you had a wonderful stay.
A late check-out was not possible but noon isn’t bad. We were being picked up at 1830 so had a shower in the wonderful spa which our friend raved most favourably on about.
Maybe I could mention the small gym with only 1 running & 1 cycling machine but please don't be put off as this is a FAB Hotel.
This is not some old large stuffy Hotel living off past long gone glory days. This friendly place is uber stylish, very slick & ultra chic.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christianbutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Stayed at Five with my husband in July and loved every second. It was family friendly, party friendly, shopping HEAVEN and I loved the interior design. The room had Nespresso and logoed condoms. The breakfast was delicious and I found the barmen at the rooftop bar-lounge pool area super nice and the cocktails tasty. yummy. A girls dream in Cannes

Room Tip: Try to get a view of the Marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPHangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ederveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
76 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

This was our first time in Cannes and we could not have stayed in a better place then the Five Hotel. It is not a very cheap hotel, but then again nothing is in Cannes, but it is worth it.

Rooms are great, nice and spacious and very nicely decorated. Although the room was very cool you did not feel or here the airco unit, very nice.

Breakfast is great, served at the rooftop bar with a nice view over Cannes.

Hotel is situated close to anything you would like to see. If you want to go to the beach, ask the reception they will sort you out.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeB92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2012

I recently stayed with my partner at the Five Hotel and Spa in Cannes for an extended weekend and had an executive room. The rooms were impeccably prepared, stylish and fit the norm for this category hotel.

The breakfast buffet was extremely well presented and I was delighted it was included in the room rate as some hotels do make you pay extra. The quality of the food was superior, like the staff that waited on us. The hotel has a friendly, open and expertly trained team. Some of them made you feel rather ‘at home’ and their level of English was fantastic given that the French have a bad reputation with speaking English.

The only aspect we found rather odd was that the Head of Kitchen (the chef?) was taking orders from clients and his English was rather poor. If you are striving to maintain your 5* status, why would you the chef do this? In addition to that, we heard him berate his staff (a young girl) while she was standing at the buffet. Frankly, there’s a time and a place for that and again – if you want to represent your hotel as a 5*, act like one. A good hotel is only as good as its team!!!!

I would like to give the breakfast a better than average (as everything else is very good!!!) ranking but watching the chef act that way, kind of made us feel bad for that girl.

Overall, we loved the hotel and will stay there again when we come back to Cannes!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loverboy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012 via mobile

Simple review- everything excellent, first class, brilliant, helpful, top rate, couldn't be better!!!! Will definitely come again! A real pleasure to stay there and I really can't fault it. All the staff helpful and smiling, always saying hello- rooms absolutely tip-top and after a lifetime of staying in hotels for business and pleasure, this really is the best I've experienced. Thank you Hotel V!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustmeJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
0.6 mi away
Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Cannes
JW Marriott Cannes
#16 of 126 in Cannes
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Five Seas Hotel Cannes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Seas Hotel Cannes

Property: Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Address: 1 rue Notre Dame, 06400 Cannes, France (Formerly Five Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cannes
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#6 Business Hotel in Cannes
#8 Family Hotel in Cannes
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Five Seas Hotel Cannes 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the French Riviera, just two steps from the Palais des Festivals and the Croisette in Cannes, let you guide by a -Voyage Immobile- through the Five Seas Hotel, an elegant boutique hotel.A unique place with 45 rooms, half of which are suites. On the fifth floor, on the rooftop terrace, the Sea Sens restaurant and its new Sea Sens "Brasserie" are signed by Arnaud Tabarec. It offers classical but revisited menus for lunch & diner as well as gourmet dishes to dine in an exceptional setting with a beautiful view of the Suquet, the old city of Cannes. It also proposes some meeting facilities from 40 to 100 sq m composed of three contemporary and functional meeting rooms, to organize private or business events. Well-being is also honoured with the Spa by Cinq Mondes and Carita and its two saunas, a hammam, four cabins and a fitness centre. A yacht, a private beach and many others services are also available to live exceptional and unforgettable moments in the comfort of a luxury boutique hotel, on the French Riviera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Five Seas Hotel Cannes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Five Hotel Cannes
5 Hotel & Spa
Five Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing