We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice hotel with room for improvements”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Ranked #2 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A nice hotel with room for improvements”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This five star boutique hotel in the center of Cannes is very nice, with good rooms and a great restaurant. Unfortunately the impression was reduced by small technical problems (lamp in room not working, flooded bathroom) and an understaffed breakfast restaurant. However, the hotel is nice and has a nice spa/fitness room, a beautiful roof terrace with a small pool, live music and a good atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OyFyJe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    110
    30
    9
    6
See reviews for
77
242
17
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Beautiful hotel located in a perfect spot, just a very short stroll to the beach and surrounded by great restaurants and shops. We booked a executive room which was just perfect. Bathrooms were great and the bed was huge and so very comfortable. Pool was great and even had a little kiddie pool which we didn't know about so it was a nice surprise for ou 1 and 4 year old. Breakfast was just perfect and the restaurant was beautifully set up. The desert shop that was attached to the hotel had sweets to die for, the also served some of their cakes and cookies for breakfast yummy. Above all the service was awesome. Front desk, housekeeping, valet and concierge were all fantastic. Highly recommended...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickyk777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Rooms are well designed and clean. Swimming pool on the roof is nothing special. Except nice view, has absolutely nothing else to offer. One very unpleasant incident destroyed our positive opinion about this hotel. We thought that any five star hotel in Cannes doesn't have to use somebody's expensive car to improve its own prestige. Apparently yes. We stayed in Five Seas hotel for two nights and also paid for private parking which cost 35 euros a night. On the last day of our stay we came back to the hotel very late at night to see that our car had being parked in front of the hotel as a marketing bait instead of being at the parking place that one had paid for!!! I have to add that we also mentioned that we didn't allow anybody to touch the car under any circumstances during our stay. We parked it ourselves when we arrived and we asked the service not to collect it on our departing as we would also do this ourselves.On the morning of our departure when we asked why our car was left for whole night in front of the hotel we had been told that it was there since early morning, which obviously wasn't true. At that stage we demanded to speak with general manager of the hotel. Unfortunately he wasn't very helpful either. First of all he didn't speak english very well and secondly and more importantely, instead of trying to solve the problem in a satisfactory way, he offered us..PASTRIES, strongly believing that it will sort the whole situation! We never felt more insulted and disappointed like in that moment. Concluding, we would never recommend this hotel to any of our friends and especially not to anybody who comes here witha car.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cafelatte15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We spent a night while travelling through southern France.

Our room on the first floor was spacious and lovely. The bed was huge and comfortable and the bathroom as large and of high standard. There were various drinks and snacks complementary in the room.

The female conscierge who showed us the room was extraordinary. English and service instinct perfect. The receptionist could improve her English though.

The gem of this place is the rooftop, however. We dined at the Seasense restaurant. The maitre' d was a witty, interesting and impressive. We asked for a three-course "surprise" menu with corresponding wines, where we made no preference. I cannot overstate how impressive this meal was. While the restaurant was not gourmet, the chef was certainly aspiring. The sous-vide eggs with mushrooms was the best meal I've had in a long time. While only buying three, we ended up with what can only be described as five courses. The wines were excellent. The price was very reasonable at only 55 euros and 10 per glass of wine.

The rooftop terrace had live music, with a trendy trio who sang indie-like songs. The overall experience was some of the best I've ever had.

We also used the gym facilities and was able to get a great breakfast in bed even though we called room-service as late as 11. If you want anything except the normal french breakfast, remember to ask.

Summarized: Great value for money and an incredible experience.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLRasch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolding, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Five Hotel & Spa is just completely out of the ordinary. My daughter of 19 years and I had an overnight stay at the hotel and it was simply not enough time.
When we arrived we were offered something to drink right away, and we could sit and have time to look at the cozy and modern decor, we were warmly welcome by and calm down before we were shown to our room.
Our host introduced us the hotel and would have told us about the surroundings in Cannes, if it were not because I had been to the city before.
When we did relax a bit, we went exploring on the roof and was also there undercut welcome. There was such a good atmosphere, everywhere.
The room and especially the bed was just great and we slept so well.
The breakfast was super delicious and we sat on a sofa on the patio, which in turn made ​​our stay very special.
We will be glad to come again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We spent two nights here during our honeymoon and during the whole trip this was the only hotel to disappoint. Simply put, this is not a five star hotel.

The room was large, but it was very dark (don't be fooled by the pictures on their website and ask for a view of the church and not the other side) and very cold. The latter became a real problem as the AC was clearly malfunctioning.

When we wanted to order a meal we got told that as it was Sunday, the kitchen was closed so we could only get club sandwiches or smoked salmon from the room service menu. We opted for the sandwiches and we got them... pre-made and cold, directly from the refrigerator... at the cost of €52 in total.

When we complained, we got shrugged off. Somebody was sent to our room to show us how the AC controls work (which of course we knew). We got a note of apology and a bottle of wine sent to our still cold room.

Ultimately we got them to remove the cold sandwiches from the bill, but it did take some persistent arguing on our part. The thought of some form of compensation for the terrible experience had not crossed their mind.

A minor complaint compared to the other things, but still worth mentioning is that like most other hotels they put together two beds to make one larger. They do it without adding a common top mattress so if you like to sleep close one of you will inevitably end up in "the gap" between the beds.

The breakfast was good as was the service at breakfast, but that was apart from its central location about the only positive thing about this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanary-sur-Mer, France
Level Contributor
125 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

This hotel looks very nice on the surface but the numerous faults soon become apparent.
The so-called valet parking service we had booked (the only type of parking available) did not materialise until one of us got out of the car and went inside to try to find a member of staff. The hotel entrance is in a narrow one way street, so it is impossible to just stop in front of the door since you would block traffic behind you. So you're forced to keep circling the block. No valet was visible to welcome us and take the car off our hands. I went inside to find him, none to be seen, only one lone receptionist in lengthy conversation with a customer. The "valet" costs 35 Euros a day. What am I paying this for if I have to do the legwork myself?
It appears their valet man doubles as bag porter as well.

The room we had was OK, it was quite big, however the shower was leaking water all over the floor due to poor workmanship on the shower door which has a several mm gap at the bottom. TV not working very well, interference with the digital signal, remote control apparently dead.
Spotlight in room entrance above the safe was broken.
Nespresso machine comes with 3 capsules, all decaf.
Tea bags are 7 Euros a piece.
Faults with leaky shower, broken TV and broken light were all reported to reception, never fixed.
Cleaning staff threw a dirty paper handkerchief on the floor after turndown one evening, leaving the room messier than they found it.
Breakfast chaotic, again understaffed, buffet not being refilled, eggs undercooked, tables not cleared.
Checkout slow and without any curiosity as to how our stay went.
A general feeling of staff couldn't care less, they are either totally overworked or simply slow.
Do not be fooled by the glossy surface of this place, there is no substance here once you scratch the surface.
Stay away!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Cannes
JW Marriott Cannes
#14 of 126 in Cannes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Provence
Hotel de Provence
#1 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Five Seas Hotel Cannes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Seas Hotel Cannes

Property: Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Address: 1 rue Notre Dame, 06400 Cannes, France (Formerly Five Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cannes
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#6 Business Hotel in Cannes
#8 Family Hotel in Cannes
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Five Seas Hotel Cannes 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the French Riviera, just two steps from the Palais des Festivals and the Croisette in Cannes, let you guide by a -Voyage Immobile- through the Five Seas Hotel, an elegant boutique hotel.A unique place with 45 rooms, half of which are suites. On the fifth floor, on the rooftop terrace, the Sea Sens restaurant and its new Sea Sens "Brasserie" are signed by Arnaud Tabarec. It offers classical but revisited menus for lunch & diner as well as gourmet dishes to dine in an exceptional setting with a beautiful view of the Suquet, the old city of Cannes. It also proposes some meeting facilities from 40 to 100 sq m composed of three contemporary and functional meeting rooms, to organize private or business events. Well-being is also honoured with the Spa by Cinq Mondes and Carita and its two saunas, a hammam, four cabins and a fitness centre. A yacht, a private beach and many others services are also available to live exceptional and unforgettable moments in the comfort of a luxury boutique hotel, on the French Riviera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, ACCOR, Priceline, Odigeo, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Five Seas Hotel Cannes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5 Hotel & Spa
Five Hotel Cannes
Five Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing