We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, convenient, but a bit too clever for me”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Ranked #3 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Charming, convenient, but a bit too clever for me”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Charming, eager to please reception staff, quite a rarity in France. I had a suite (206) with a balcony facing an old church where Napoleon did something or other, but very atmospheric. I sat on the balcony drinking a bottle of vin rose, while down below in the narrow street two French teenagers snogged with style and abandon by his motorbike.

As Sarah H says, the room layout is slightly weird, the bathroom is almost part of the bedroom, and the toilet is entirely separate. Also, the bathroom is one of those trendy modern ones with two separate bowls, a bit like the 18th century, and no flat surface to put your stuff on. Still, let's not be picky, the shower was brilliant.

The high tech TV and wifi defeated me more or less completely, though I managed to send an email home without realising it. I also had to be shown how to open the room door. I couldn't see how to turn all the light off, so had to resort to pulling the room key out of the slot; that did it.

This was very much of a managed business trip. I did 12 meetings in a day, had breakfast, lunch, lots of coffee, snacks, glasses of rose, all served with efficiency and a smile. If I'd been staying longer than a night I might have worked out all the high tech stuff.

The location is great. Quite quiet, tucked away, but only a step from the madness of the Croisette.

I'd certainly stay here again, especially if someone else was paying!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andrewdaviesxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    110
    30
    9
    6
See reviews for
77
243
17
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
norwich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Great location, very friendly staff in reception and a great room, however the breakfast left much to be desired!! No one to meet and seat you, several staff around but they were not keen to serve after 3 days we got wise and actively sought staff to order a drink with- waited up to 20 mins to get some food- Despite pre warning them to allergies - no provision or flexibility of food provision. Made to feel like a nuisance for asking for fruit.... Not what you would expect of a five star hotel or 35 euro.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surfsarah13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Our first family holiday with our 3 month old boy was a total success at Five. We were upgraded to a suite during check in but no mention was made of this and this understated cool approach continued throughout our stay. Our room was high tech and very well considered and pleasing design wise. A cot was waiting in the room as requested at arrival as well as a few personal touches which were a nice surprise. Breakfast on the roof terrace followed by a swim and chill on the terrace was a daily treat. All staff were cool, relaxed, friendly, helpful and classy, you could argue a rare breed in France! I took parking, room service, bar drinks, house services and still felt that our stay was good value. The place really did strike accord with us and is our best 5 star experience to date, will be back soon i hope.

Room Tip: September is a great time to visit this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovestuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimmi78
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed here for a few nights and absolutely loved the property. The rooms was very large, great quality and pleasure to stay in. Reception staff were very attentive however we had a very bad experience with one of the bar staff who was very rude to us. Unacceptable for a hotel of this calibre. Also, the pool area is beautiful but too small and the sunbeds are always taken.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dimmi78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectionFive, Responsable réception at Five Seas Hotel Cannes, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Dear Mr Dimmi 78,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. I am most grateful for your feedback, which is such a valuable source of information for me, regardless of whether it is good or bad, and helps me monitor the service we provide.

I was delighted to read that overall you enjoyed your stay.
However, I was concerned to learn that you had a bad experience with one of our bar staff.
I have made my Restaurant Manager aware of your feedback in order for him to keep a close check on standards being returned.
It is also disappointing to read that you found the pool too small. The Five Seas Hotel is a Bootique hotel with 45 rooms and our swimming pool is adequate to our product.
Me and all my team well versed in solving all these issues, and are on hand should this be needed.
Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused.
Thank you once again for your feedback and for pointing out areas where improvement can be found. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Five Seas Hotel in the not too distant future.

Front Office Manager
Chiara Malaguti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

Had a wonderful 5 night stay here mid August.
Rooms very clean and spacious.
The comfiest bed and pillow I have had the pleasure sleeping in. I would have shipped it home if I could.
Very good choice at breakfast and I would highly recommend the freshly made omlette! Very good location, right on the doorstep to some lovely bars and eating places.
The staff were all very helpful and all had a good understanding of English.
If we had the pleasure of visiting Cannes again I would have no hesitation in staying here.
As a footnote - husband always has issues with air con in hotel rooms (too noisy/cannot get right temperature) this was by far quietest we have ever encountered. 10 out of 10!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julesmg62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectionFive, Responsable réception at Five Seas Hotel Cannes, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Dear Mister Julesmg62,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Five Seas Hotel.

It is fantastic to read that you liked the location of the hotel and that you were impressed with our breakfast offering especially by our omelette.

It is also wonderful to hear that you felt so well taken care of by my team.
They genuinely enjoy looking after all our guests and were thrilled to hear your comments when I passed these on to them.

Looking forward to welcoming you again,

Sincerly Yours,

Front Office Manager
Chiara Malaguti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

A super Hotel, GREAT staff and AMAZING rooftop pool, restaurant and terrace. They are also affiliated with a beach restaurant and bar which is super. Beware of the food and drink prices (but hey its Cannes) and also DON'T park your car there - Its super expensive. Other than that we had a brilliant 3 nights and would stay there again. Reasonably priced nights stay in comparison to other 5* hotels in such a good location.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeDavis79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We booked a stay in the hotel for 6 days in high season, so by policy no change is possible once you get to the hotel. The pictures looked great, but when it cam to trying to use the facilities the story wasn't all that great. With 45 rooms the hotel has exactly 6 deck chairs at the pool !! Always occupied ofcourse .... Once you insist they tell you they have an agreement to reserve chairs at the beach ..... The omitted to say you need to pay extra for that. The rooms are quite tight and when we wanted to discuss anything with the general manager, he was clearly notwilling to engage. Better to stay and a hotel at the beach. Better rooms and sometimes even a better price ....

Room Tip: Better to stay at the alternative hotels directly onthe boulevard. The cost is the same or often bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fhavoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectionFive, Directeur général at Five Seas Hotel Cannes, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Google Translation
Madame et Monsieur Voss,

Nous regrettons sincèrement que votre séjour au Five Hotel & Spa n'ait pas été à la hauteur de vos espérances. Nous avons pris connaissance de vos remarques.
Nous attachons une grande importance aux critiques négatives de nos clients, quand elles sont objectives, afin d'améliorer le service offert.
Nous répondrons donc point par point.
Il est vrai que nous avons un nombre limité de transats - que nous ne facturons pas contrairement à nos collègues de la Croisette - mais nous avons la piscine la plus grande proportionnellement à la taille de l'hôtel (pour votre information, trois des six « cinq étoiles » de Cannes n'ont pas de piscine).
Le Five Seas Hotel offre, par ailleurs, des chambres qui sont, pour la plupart, les plus vastes par rapport aux autres hôtels 5 étoiles de Cannes.
En conséquence les nombreuses photos des chambres, de la piscine et de la terrasse qui sont présentes sur nos sites et ceux de nos revendeurs, reflètent la stricte réalité.
Nous n'avons jamais reçu, lors de votre réservation, de demandes de votre part réclamant plus de détails sur la taille de notre piscine et sur les transats.
Vous conviendrez donc que nous ne pouvions pas supposer que la taille de notre piscine conditionnerait la bonne réussite de votre séjour.
Par ailleurs, notre politique d'annulation en haute saison qui indique que les Réservations peuvent être annulées ou modifiées 14 jours au delà , l’intégralité du séjours est facture.
Cette politique n'est pas spécifique à notre établissement et, avait été clairement portée à votre connaissance lors de la réservation.
Étant voyageur du monde, vous êtes certainement habitués à ces conditions...
Vous omettez de préciser dans votre commentaire que vous aviez fait une réservation pour 2 adultes avec une demande d'un lit supplémentaire pour une chambre de catégorie Exécutive (occupation maximale 3 personnes pour des raisons de confort et de sécurité).Pour autant, lors de votre arrivée, vous étiez 4 (2 adultes et 2 enfants de 10 et 7 ans).
Afin de rendre votre séjour plus agréable compte tenu de la présence de deux enfants et, sans que vous ayez à nous le demander, nous vous avons surclassé dans une suite So suite.
Le différentiel entre la chambre exécutive, que vous aviez réservée, et la suite so suite est pourtant importante soit 450 Euro par nuit !
S'agissant de notre proposition de bains de soleil sur notre plage partenaire, il nous parait non contestable que si nous omettions de prévenir nos clients que les matelas sont payants, comme il est par ailleurs d'usage général sur toutes les plages privées de Cannes, nous aurions des centaines de commentaires négatifs identiques a celui que vous avez décrit le 05 Août sur tripadvisor.
Hors, aucun autre commentaire concernant ces locations n'a été noté...
Enfin nous tenons à certifier qu'avant et pendant votre séjour nous avons toujours été à votre disposition, à votre écoute et que vous avez rencontré la chef de réception et l'assistant manager.
Comme mentionné à de nombreuses reprises, le General Manager en déplacement professionnel ne pouvait donc pas vous recevoir.......
Votre commentaire fait preuve, d'autre part, d'une particulière mauvaise foi. En effet, notre partenaire voyagiste par lequel vous avez effectué votre réservation nous a indiqué que vous étiez très satisfait de la qualité de l’hôtel.
Nous n'avons pas pour habitude de dévoiler les détails des séjours de nos clients mais la gravité de vos propos et leur manque d'objectivité nous obligent à vous répondre par la présente.

Gregor Mayoussier
Directeur Général
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Cannes
JW Marriott Cannes
#13 of 126 in Cannes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Provence
Hotel de Provence
#1 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Five Seas Hotel Cannes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Seas Hotel Cannes

Property: Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Address: 1 rue Notre Dame, 06400 Cannes, France (Formerly Five Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cannes
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#6 Business Hotel in Cannes
#8 Family Hotel in Cannes
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Five Seas Hotel Cannes 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the French Riviera, just two steps from the Palais des Festivals and the Croisette in Cannes, let you guide by a -Voyage Immobile- through the Five Seas Hotel, an elegant boutique hotel.A unique place with 45 rooms, half of which are suites. On the fifth floor, on the rooftop terrace, the Sea Sens restaurant and its new Sea Sens "Brasserie" are signed by Arnaud Tabarec. It offers classical but revisited menus for lunch & diner as well as gourmet dishes to dine in an exceptional setting with a beautiful view of the Suquet, the old city of Cannes. It also proposes some meeting facilities from 40 to 100 sq m composed of three contemporary and functional meeting rooms, to organize private or business events. Well-being is also honoured with the Spa by Cinq Mondes and Carita and its two saunas, a hammam, four cabins and a fitness centre. A yacht, a private beach and many others services are also available to live exceptional and unforgettable moments in the comfort of a luxury boutique hotel, on the French Riviera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Five Seas Hotel Cannes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5 Hotel & Spa
Five Hotel Cannes
Five Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing