We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ideal location but dated and overpriced”
Review of Hotel Splendid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Splendid
Ranked #39 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“ideal location but dated and overpriced”
Reviewed 27 May 2012

you will pay for the location of this one, which is arguably worth it. i paid £80 for 1 night in july so the view was worth it but glad that i only stayed the 1 night. hotel styled in a classic french way but even considering this,its very dated. if you want the view you wont beat it but probably wouldnt go back unless it was crazy cheap.

Room Tip: defiitely pay for a balcony room, this is the best thing about the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noodleboxrecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    153
    46
    15
    15
See reviews for
48
185
18
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Interesting hotel, small reception area with very small lift. There was a computer available in the reception area for public use. Older hotel with a boutique french style. Staff spoke enough English to check us in and out. Our room had a tiny balcony that faced the port with a nice view. The room was small with twin beds, small kitchenette in a closet that had refrigerator, stove and dishes, and small kitchen table. Location was good about a 15 minute walk to the beach but about 25 minutes away from the upscale "Cannes" beachfront. Parking was about a10 minute walk to a public lot that was expensive. McDonald's was across the street and there were a lot of restaurants near the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pattiangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Condamine, Monaco
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

I am giving this an "Excellent" rating as it is not overpriced, the location is fantastic and the style is done is a traditional elegant French way - I am tired of all these new minimalist hotels all done in chrome and glass. You can park in the underground parking lot in the port.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GRIJNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and we enjoyed our stay! We'll be back in Cannes in a few months and we'll stay at Splendid hotel again :)
Disregard the bad reviews, some people just don't appreciate the classic french style called boutique..we loved it and we had a great view of the port of yachts and the old town..
It's a historical building and it looks so beautiful.
The location was perfect, just at the beginning of the Croisette Blvd and very close to the old town with the little gorgeous restaurants!
By the way, you need to try some of the restaurants from teh Suquet part of the city, the ones on the little streets like St Antoine are simply gorgeous and the food is really good!!!
Cannes if a great place to spend some quality time :)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruxandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bursa, Türkiye
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Nice location, a very good breakfast. The first impression in the reception and the small lift may be a disappointment but the rest is better...

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gucuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Nice old-fashioned hotel located right in the middle of Cannes - very accessible to Croisette and shops. We had a 5th floor room with a balcony, which was comfortable and gave a good view over the sea-front. Breakfast buffet very good, and staff friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Room with balcony worth paying extra for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Perfect location with great view to the sea and Palace de Festivals (if you have room with "sea view"), interesting original old-style interior. Breakfasts on terrace are charming. And by the way - one of the nicest buildings in Cannes.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PragueLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Renoir
Hotel Renoir
#12 of 126 in Cannes
434 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
0.5 mi away
Cezanne Hotel
Cezanne Hotel
#25 of 126 in Cannes
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Canberra
Hotel Le Canberra
#10 of 126 in Cannes
646 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Mondial
Best Western Mondial
#20 of 126 in Cannes
121 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#8 of 126 in Cannes
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendid

Property: Hotel Splendid
Address: 4 rue Felix Faure, 06414 Cannes, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Splendid 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This residence was built in 1871 and became "Hotel Splendid" in 1905.Since 1974 its owner has been continuously developing the establishment, combining yesteryear charm with modernism. Hotel Splendid**** has an extraordinary location in the heart of Cannes, in front of the Palais des Festivals in the old Yacht Port, facing the "Suquet" at the beginning of la Croisette.The Splendid Hotel is a romantic hotel which really lives up to its name. The wonderful facade of this boutique hotel looks almost exactly like it did in the 19th century. Also inside this romantic hotel a lot of value has been placed on authenticity. Drapes, furniture, materials, fitting.The hotel has 62 bedrooms, most of them have a wonderful view of the sea. Breakfast is served in the "Offenbach" lounge which has a flower-decked terrace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Fastbooking, ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Splendid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing