We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hotel with wonderful view”
Review of Hotel Splendid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Splendid
Ranked #29 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
new york
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“hotel with wonderful view”
Reviewed 26 September 2012

one of the hotels on the promenade where one can stay at a reasonable price. The sea view room was very nice although perhaps some minor renovation to be done. I remember with great pleasure the breakfast on the table on the terrace with fabulous desserts and superb croissants.
we were very good. cannes is wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ms lukino l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    147
    46
    14
    13
See reviews for
46
179
18
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Hotel location is excellent,we booked the Hotel via email and the communication was so rapid and easy.Hotel Building is Old and standard room sizes are too small.Room Service was ordinary.hotel rates during MIDEM Music show and Film Festival is too high and not acceptable for this kind of Service.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aardavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We have returned to the Hotel Splendid in Cannes for the third time. Yet again they have up trumps!
The location is perfect for all parts of Cannes.
Good service and a good room.
Buffet breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gnphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We were only in Cannes for an evening and chose the Splendid for its location and view. On that front, this hotel did not let us down. We overlooked the marina and were right in the thick of the action.

Unfortunately, I found the price far too high for this room. The bath was too small to bathe in and there was no way of having a shower without holding the shower head! The decor was a mish-mash of eras (although it did make us smile) and the mini-bar was empty.

Getting to our room on the 4th floor was a challenge with the tiny lift that was available, but this wasn't really a problem as long as we were the only ones trying to use it.

We didn't eat breakfast, so can't comment on the food or the service.

All-in-all, if you are looking for a basic hotel to sleep in while you party in Cannes, this is an okay option. We wanted a little more and were left a little disappointed.

Room Tip: We had room 408 which had a window that looked right out over the marina. Excellent if you want to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corker99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

The staff was rude the air conditioning was broken and someone entered our room while we were out and used the bathroom in a chair (and I don't mean number 1) and to top it off the manager/employees blamed us and made us pay for the chair. It was the most horrifying experience ever. DO NOT STAY HERE. EVER.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lw1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPCannes, Responsable commercial at Hotel Splendid, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
We don’t understand you complain.
Nobody, coming from outside, can get into the room without a key.
We have a way to check like all hotels in the world, all the in and out coming from your room and we can attest that nobody, except you go into your room that night.
So that’s why we have charged for the damages.
We are sorry to hear that you had a bad experience in our hotel.
Gérald PISANO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
461 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012 via mobile

The hotel splendid
Extremely rude front desk staff
Was given a key to my room but it did not work from 3 pm until the next day after 4 attempts of walking up and down the stairs to get it fixed with rude front desk staff that were unhelpful and on the next day 12 hours after check in I received a working key.
The room is clean but my room facing the street was noisy and was too bright despite the curtains.
Breakfast is expensive and not worth it.
Hotel is centrally located which is good.
But rather pay extra and stay elsewhere and receive better service.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Canadiatravelgoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
233 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,761 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Stayed here for 1 night. Love the location, the staff, and the room. It has tea making facilities, lots of olive shower gels and shampoos, air conditioned and medium hard beds. Staffs were friendly and cheerful. View is good, but we got a lower floor room so it was a bit blocked by the trees. Lots of restaurants and ice cream cafés around the hotel. We didn't try their breakfast as we were rushing to take a train. Overall, a good 4 star experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Danish H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Renoir
Hotel Renoir
#12 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
0.5 mi away
Cezanne Hotel
Cezanne Hotel
#24 of 126 in Cannes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Canberra
Hotel Le Canberra
#8 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel  Le Cavendish
Hotel Le Cavendish
#3 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Cannes Croisette Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendid

Property: Hotel Splendid
Address: 4 rue Felix Faure, 06414 Cannes, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Splendid 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This residence was built in 1871 and became "Hotel Splendid" in 1905.Since 1974 its owner has been continuously developing the establishment, combining yesteryear charm with modernism. Hotel Splendid**** has an extraordinary location in the heart of Cannes, in front of the Palais des Festivals in the old Yacht Port, facing the "Suquet" at the beginning of la Croisette.The Splendid Hotel is a romantic hotel which really lives up to its name. The wonderful facade of this boutique hotel looks almost exactly like it did in the 19th century. Also inside this romantic hotel a lot of value has been placed on authenticity. Drapes, furniture, materials, fitting.The hotel has 62 bedrooms, most of them have a wonderful view of the sea. Breakfast is served in the "Offenbach" lounge which has a flower-decked terrace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Splendid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing