We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Splendid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Splendid
Ranked #28 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Versailles, France
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

we had a very nice stay in the splendid hotel.Breakfast was fine and the view of the terrace in the morning just splendid.unfortunately the air conditioning was a bit too strong and coming directly on the bed,impossible to find the right regulation.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Anja R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    146
    46
    14
    14
See reviews for
47
177
18
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Velleron, France
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

We had a nice room with small balcony, allowing us to enjoy a drink in the sun overlooking the crowds. The room is somewhat dated, but that may also be seen as a special charm. Nearby parking is expensive, at over € 20 a day, but we know that parking fees are outrageous in many European cities, with the Côte d'Azur not being an exception..... Hotel staff most friendly.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra for a room with balcony and sea view, it's certainly worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuscania, Italy
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at Hotel Splendid over Valentine's weekend in room 507, seafront view with full balcony. Bed was most comfortable with extra pillows and bathroom had all the nice extras including bathrobe and slippers. We found it to be good value for the view and the location. Cleaning staff was very quiet in the morning. Reception Staff was always professional yet friendly and always helpful regardless of which person was there. Appreciated having the off-load parking space in front of hotel available at check-in/check-out...now if only they could make arrangements for some kind of special parking deal in the vicinity (hint-hint)! While public parking garages are close, they are pricey as well, as it is everywhere in cities on the Cote d'Azure. Since you can't find a more convenient location, old world charm, nor a nicer staff we look forward to another stay in the future.

Room Tip: room 507 seafront view, full balcony, bathtub (w/hand held shower) Great view of harbor and surround...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank klondike01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

This is a family owned hotel and it is a pleasure to be welcomed back by the same staff each year. The hotel is ideally situated looking out over the port (ferries to theislands), buses and trains handy for day trips, and a wide range of restaurants within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beirniad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPCannes, Responsable commercial at Hotel Splendid, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Google Translation
Merci pour votre fidélité et pour votre aimable commentaire.
A bientôt à l'hôtel Splendid,
Gérald Pisano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

I stayed for one night at this hotel in December 2013. I had previously visited Cannes for a week in the summer of 2013 and stayed at a different hotel that I thought was a better choice but it was sold out. This hotel is in a great location, right on the water and across the street from the casino (where I was working). There are many restaurants and shops within walking distance. The room was average and not as clean as I would have liked, I'm pretty picky. The bath was the strangest part, as it really was a bath and not a shower. You could unhook the shower head but you had to hold it in your hand as there was no head height place to hook it. We didn't eat breakfast but it was an additional cost. The front desk staff acted like we were putting them out when we arrived to check in and when we checked out the following morning. I would probably not stay here again if there was another option.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan49022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aix-en-Provence, France
Level Contributor
97 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

We just returned from a visit to Hotel Splendid. We booked the room through a site called "Very Chic". We chose a Superior Room with a Sea View that was significantly discounted with breakfast and internet included. The biggest complaint was the bed. It was not a queen size but rather a double size. This was very surprising for a superior room. The room was clean, staff very nice and location perfect for a stay in Cannes. We would return again if there are rooms with larger beds.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mary_gregoire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

The recent reviews sum it up but this place deserves all the accolades as the ideal hotel for a stay in Cannes. We booked for 10 nights but found our terrace room on the first floor had no view but we were able to move to room 204 which had a view of the old town/harbour (higher rooms would have been even better). It had a small balcony with table and chairs and inside a cupboard with a mini kitchen. Eat out if you wish but on rest days we we would head to their assocated beach club Belle Plage - swim, sunbake and have lunch in the beach restaurant, pick up chablis fresh seafood from Astoux and salad and cheese from nearby Forville market and have dinner on our terrace with the lovely view. The owners and stall are all lovely - one of our best travel decisions and we hope to return soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geewiz1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPCannes, Responsable commercial at Hotel Splendid, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments ))
We hope to see you soon in our house...
Best regards,
Gérald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
0.1 mi away
Hotel Renoir
Hotel Renoir
#10 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.5 mi away
JW Marriott Cannes
JW Marriott Cannes
#13 of 126 in Cannes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Canberra
Hotel Le Canberra
#7 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cezanne Hotel
Cezanne Hotel
#24 of 126 in Cannes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendid

Property: Hotel Splendid
Address: 4 & 6 rue Felix Faure, 06400 Cannes, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Splendid 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This residence was built in 1871 and became "Hotel Splendid" in 1905.Since 1974 its owner has been continuously developing the establishment, combining yesteryear charm with modernism. Hotel Splendid**** has an extraordinary location in the heart of Cannes, in front of the Palais des Festivals in the old Yacht Port, facing the "Suquet" at the beginning of la Croisette.The Splendid Hotel is a romantic hotel which really lives up to its name. The wonderful facade of this boutique hotel looks almost exactly like it did in the 19th century. Also inside this romantic hotel a lot of value has been placed on authenticity. Drapes, furniture, materials, fitting.The hotel has 62 bedrooms, most of them have a wonderful view of the sea. Breakfast is served in the "Offenbach" lounge which has a flower-decked terrace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Fastbooking and ACCOR so you can book your Hotel Splendid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing