We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A splendid time at the Hotel spendid”
Review of Hotel Splendid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Splendid
Ranked #29 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A splendid time at the Hotel spendid”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My daughter and I had a week's stay in early July and selected this lovely old hotel. Our room was on the 4th floor facing the Marina, it was clean and very comfortable, the mattresses, bed linen and pillows were of good quality and we had no problem sleeping very comfortably. We particularly loved the tiny cupboard kitchenette and put it to good use!

The Splendid is a grand dame of an hotel and very charming, it could do with modernising and refreshing if there is one thing I would change it would be to add another lift, for a discerning traveller this hotel is perfect.
The staff were very helpful and made every effort to ensure we were looked after. I will definitely go again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadeema M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
splendidcannes, Responsable commercial at Hotel Splendid, responded to this review, 7 January 2015
Google Translation
Merci beaucoup et toute l'équipe espère avoir le plaisir de vous recevoir à nouveau à l'Hôtel Splendid.
Meilleurs vœux 2015.
Gérald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    147
    46
    14
    13
See reviews for
46
179
18
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel as a last minute change to our holiday plans. We were having an early dinner looking straight as it so was a perfect location especially as we had already parked nearby (parking is an issue). Booked a room on the 3rd floor and had great views over the harbour, nicely decorated room (the wallpaper is material and spongy to touch very unusual) and the bed was very comfortable it had all the toiletries you could need a razor toothbrush and lovely olive oil bath products all very handy. Went out for drinks everything is local to this hotel, everywhere on a Sunday was very busy totally enjoyed the ambience of Cannes can't wait to go back and enjoy the lovely beach clubs and night life next time.
This hotel has lots of character with a old school feel from the old days - very French ooh la la. Will go back!!!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dollyncrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The only great thing about this hotel is its location. It's conveniently located closed to the beach, the shops, the restaurants and if you're planning to be out and about then that is great. The rooms are the size of a shoe box and seem to have a bathroom in them. The furnishings are old and there is absolutely no room to move around.

Room Tip: Not sure about a good room, stay away from room 201!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kasia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southcoast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Charming hotel with friendly staff in an ideal location. Just two minutes from Marina and shops. Would really recommend a front sea view room, ask for a larger room on 4th 0r 5th floor and a balcony if you're lucky. Our room 407 had juliette balcony with beautiful views. The room was very clean with good air con and fridge, robes, slippers, toiletries etc. Would recommend and will return. With this location excellent value for money. A real bonus was the firework festival on the 9th July.

Room Tip: 5th floor balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glj8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel Splendid is perfectly located across from the ocean, near the airport bus drop off/pick up point, and within walking distance from plenty of shopping and dining options.

The staff was very friendly and accommodating, and spoke perfect English which is a great help when my less than functional French fails!
All-in-all a great first experience in the Côte d'Azur!

I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DanaWelch13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london england
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This hotel is perfectly located for the Palais. All else is quite poor. The communal spaces are dated and shabby. Paint is chipping, decor is tired and needs refreshing. The bedrooms are small overcrowded and lack any personality or charm. A small balcony with plastic furniture. The terrace for breakfast is pleasant with a good selection. For festival season the rates are extortionate for what is an unexceptional, joyless and plain hotel. I found the staff to be unhelpful when checking out and I needed a taxi, they were discourteous and dismissive verging on rude.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noplacelikehomegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
333 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

I love this place and am shocked it is not ranked higher.

We did not want to stay by the croissete (we don't travel to see Chanel, Dior and Ferraris...). But we wanted to be walking distance to it. I literally found this hotel by google walking!!!

Right on the port, between the cute little old town and Croisette.

The Port was so pleasant and unlike the one in Nice. Very lively, tons of people, lovely huge square with fountains and pétanque courts. (boules?)
The square is lined with cafes and has a view of the casino.

The hotel fronts to the port and square and back to adorable shopping streets.

The rooms with balconies and views of the port with gorgeous yachts are a must!

Service was also good and room clean and a decent size.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doby47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Renoir
Hotel Renoir
#12 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
0.5 mi away
Cezanne Hotel
Cezanne Hotel
#23 of 126 in Cannes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Canberra
Hotel Le Canberra
#8 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel  Le Cavendish
Hotel Le Cavendish
#3 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Cannes Croisette Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendid

Property: Hotel Splendid
Address: 4 rue Felix Faure, 06414 Cannes, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Splendid 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This residence was built in 1871 and became "Hotel Splendid" in 1905.Since 1974 its owner has been continuously developing the establishment, combining yesteryear charm with modernism. Hotel Splendid**** has an extraordinary location in the heart of Cannes, in front of the Palais des Festivals in the old Yacht Port, facing the "Suquet" at the beginning of la Croisette.The Splendid Hotel is a romantic hotel which really lives up to its name. The wonderful facade of this boutique hotel looks almost exactly like it did in the 19th century. Also inside this romantic hotel a lot of value has been placed on authenticity. Drapes, furniture, materials, fitting.The hotel has 62 bedrooms, most of them have a wonderful view of the sea. Breakfast is served in the "Offenbach" lounge which has a flower-decked terrace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Fastbooking, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Splendid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing