We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, clean, lovely staff and a great location...”
Review of Hotel America

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel America
Ranked #32 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Comfortable, clean, lovely staff and a great location...”
Reviewed 28 November 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Hotel America. The staff were very helpfull with directions, reccomendations, and helping us to book car hire. The room did not have free wifi, but you could use the computer near reception for free. The room was comfortable, the bed was very soft, the room was perhaps a little small but this did not matter since we did not travel to Cannes to sit in our Hotel Room all day! This is a great choice for the price.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shelly_8181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    105
    22
    9
    4
See reviews for
35
170
17
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Once again, I was extremelly pleased with my stay at the America hotel. A 5* customized level of service, in the best location for a super affordable fare. The hotel is right by the Palais des Festivals, in the heart of the shopping area, walking distance to the train station, yet an oasis of peace. It is boutique sized (28 rooms), spotless, and very warm. The cosy and simple rooms have the best beds with great linen, a flat screen TV with many channels and the bathtub in the marble bathroom delivers high pressured warm water. Abundant and fresh breaksfast is being served downstairs or in the bedrooms (pastries & bread, deli meat, cheese, Bonne Maman jam, orange juice & coffee...). The five girlfriends I travelled with could definitely appreciate the welcoming and professionnal yet discrete staff work. Thank you for a magic week-end!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julastar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2012

My partner and I had the pleasure of staying at The Hotel America for three fabulous nights. The hotel is perfectly located in the heart of Cannes, with the beach just steps away, and Rue Antibes just around the corner! Our room was beautifully decorated and the bed was extremely comfortable with top notch sheets and coverings. Really well done! The staff were all very warm and welcoming and extremly helpful with recomondations for sights and dining! Really have to give this place 5 stars!!!


We will definitely be back !

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsbdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The facts: a lovely little hotel close to the end of the Marathon Alpes-Maritimes, very helpful staff, good price. It has a bit of an 80s style, but has been excellently maintained and was no worse for it. As an oddity they have hand prints from Bo Derek from 84 hanging on the wall.

The story: I staggered here after the end of the marathon, was made to feel very welcome, provided with an umbrella to get to a nearby restaurant, well stocked mini-bar (for rehydration), bed about as comfortable as I could expect given the state of my legs...

Good:
Location
Price
Staff

Bad:
Not a lot actually - rooms aren't huge, but that's France for you!
Decor might look slightly dated to some

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newsheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012 via mobile

Hotel America is Fantastic!! It's in the heart of Cannes. Beautiful Beach just few minutes walk and Rue Antibes Shops just right next door to you. Me and my friends have been there few times. Staff are very friendly and i highly recommend it . I am coming back again very soon. Job well done Hotel America.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liezel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I stayed at the Hotel America as part of a group trip at the weekend and it was superb.

Here's what I liked:
Swift check-in, even for a group of 20, who arrived en masse. Pleasant, airy if compact lobby. Superb cleanliness everywhere, reliable if a little small lift. My room was small, perfect for one person but for two very snug. The bed was large and comfortable, a large, modern safe, plenty of coat hangers, large wardrobe space, well-stocked and reasonably priced mini bar, modern, clean bathroom, sympathetic lighting, powerful shower, nice desk and a little chair right by the window to enjoy looking at the world going by on the street below. Service was friendly and swift in all areas. The hotel is fantastically located just off La Croisette.

The not-so-good bits (a short list):
Noise from the street at night - pack earplugs if you plan to leave the window open. The breakfast area was very small and if everyone arrived at the same time there would not be room for everyone. Choice of food for breakfast was a little limited. There was also only one large and one small towel in the bathroom and no iron.

Overall, I like the Hotel America very much and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Pack ear plugs, just in case!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisonJCowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012 via mobile

Great location. You head right out and you are in front of the Cannes film festival theater Bohr lobby is nice and spacious and the staff is friendly. However the rooms have a chemical smell and the sheets are not comfortable at all. Also bathrooms very small and cramped. If you are driving tho, it is right by a huge underground parking structure which is helpful.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jimbomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Mondial
Best Western Mondial
#21 of 126 in Cannes
121 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Renoir
Hotel Renoir
#12 of 126 in Cannes
433 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#39 of 126 in Cannes
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Okko Hotel Cannes Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#8 of 126 in Cannes
177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Provence
Hotel de Provence
#1 of 126 in Cannes
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel America

Property: Hotel America
Address: 16 rue Notre Dame, 06400 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Cannes
#15 Business Hotel in Cannes
#16 Family Hotel in Cannes
#27 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#28 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel America 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 1-mn walk from the Palais des Festivals and the Congress Centre, between the Croisette and rue d'Antibes, just a few steps from the beaches, the marina and the casinos, Hôtel AMERICA means memorable stays in the heart of Cannes, an "international village" on the French Riviera. Air-conditionning, Minibar, Satellite TV, free Wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America Hotel Cannes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing