We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel America

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel America
Ranked #37 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Simply perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2010

Conveniently located in the heart of Cannes and steps away from the "Palais des Festivals", Hotel America is a hidden treasure on the French Riviera. Great hospitality and helpful service from the staff make you feel right at home. The rooms are modern with comfortable beds, and the linens are hand-pressed! Overall a wonderful place to stay at a great price, whether for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    99
    21
    9
    3
See reviews for
32
163
16
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2010

Overall, very good hotel.

Room was fairly large for France. Bed was excellent. My wife is sensitive to bed quality and thought it was great. Bathroom was good, although the shower was a converted tub and you had to step up a solid 18" to get into it. Good water pressure.

Very good location, close to all the restaurants and the beach. The hotel is right behind the Majestic... which is also the only real flaw for the hotel. Our room faced the back of the Majestic and outside it was a little noisy late at night after the restaurants closed.

The room included a mini-bar which was great in case you had a bottled soda or extra food you wanted to snack on. The service was very good and we were pleased with the choice.

Internet costs 8 euros a day... a little expensive, I thought. Unfortunately, there were no other pay wifi hot spot options available within the hotel. Breakfast was expensive at 15 Euros a day.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dwitkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2010

This hotel is great great great the staff are so helpful and kind, the rooms are spotless and the beds, O the beds, I didnt want to get up they are the most comfortable beds I have ever slept on.
Well done HOTEL AMERICA and thank you for making our trip so special.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UKCustomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2010

I loved this hotel. It was clean and staff was very nice. Cassis is one of my favorite cities in the world!! Such great memories here.

Stayed March 2007, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BillyFrenzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2010

I was initially sceptical about booking this place because "Hotel America" doesn't sound very French and I wasn't sure what to expect. Having read all the positive reviews on TripAdvisor I thought I'd give the place a go.

The hotel is excellent and we couldn't believe how well situated it is! It's located only one road away from the main stretch where all the shops and restaurants can be found. The staff are very helpful and they have free internet access if you need look anything up or print flights home etc. We didn't book breakfast as there's a plethora of cafes and a boulangerie around the corner so we preferred to have something outside.

For those travellers who'll be hiring a car please note that there's no parking outside the hotel and you'll have to use one of the main underground car parks. The closest one to the hotel is €26 per night but the concierge desk told us there's another one for €19 a day which further away.

In summary if you're going to Cannes I'd say book this place. For €85 a night it's a bargain for its location and very comfortable!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DoobyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2009

This hotel was such a great find! We moved from another hotel that we had a horrible experience at the first night in Cannes. This hotel truly made up for it!. This hotel is a true gem! The rooms are simple, but the service and location were completely amazing. I would love to stay here again, so easy to walk to the train station, shopping, restaurants and just a block away from the beach. Also you can use the computer in the lobby free of charge to print boarding passes etc; Love the Hotel America in Cannes!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claris22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2009

Everything that other guests have written about this fantastic little hotel truly reflect what you get. A great location, just behind one of the premier hotels in Cannes, spotlessly clean throughout the hotel, great service and friendly welcome and help, well prepared breakfast, good rooms ( if a little on the cramped side) and a really good hotel experience. If you need to be amongst the bling - Jean Paul Gautier is 50 metres from your front door one way, and Gucci is 50 metres the other - straight on to La Croisette. It's 50 metres from the door to the stop for the direct bus to the airport (12.5 euro one way per person - ouch!!) and there are some great bars / restaurants and shops within easy walking distance.
Travel by local bus or train if you want to cut back on the costs, the local bus to Antibes / Nice is only 1 Euro, and you can get off and back on again on the same route/ day with no extra charge. Use the train for longer trips to Monaco / Monte Carlo. Take good shoes - you'll be doing lots of walking - but you've got to do this in order to people watch and wander round the harbour looking at all the hardware that the hedge fund managers and investment bankers used to spend their bonuses on in the good old days.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weenieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mondial
BEST WESTERN Mondial
#21 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#28 of 126 in Cannes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Renoir
Hotel Renoir
#10 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Univers
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Canberra
Hotel Le Canberra
#7 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel America

Property: Hotel America
Address: 16 rue Notre Dame, 06400 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Cannes
#15 Business Hotel in Cannes
#16 Family Hotel in Cannes
#28 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
#29 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel America 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 1-mn walk from the Palais des Festivals and the Congress Centre, between the Croisette and rue d'Antibes, just a few steps from the beaches, the marina and the casinos, Hôtel AMERICA means memorable stays in the heart of Cannes, an "international village" on the French Riviera.* Air-conditionning* Minibar* Satellite TV* Wifi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America Hotel Cannes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing