We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Corona Hotel(Cannes)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Room Service
Reviews (2,402)
Filter reviews
2,402 results
Traveller rating
1,613
478
179
80
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,613
478
179
80
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmajestic barriereprivate beachsea viewroom servicefilm festivalstar hotelred carpetmacaroonsperfect locationfrench rivieralarge bathroomconcierge deskhotel guestsfantastic hotelmini bareuros per personcote d'azur
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
652 - 657 of 2,402 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We were a party of four ladies celebrating a birthday and stayed at the Majestic Barriere for 3 nights during the last week in August. We had only made the booking a couple of days before hand and were expecting it to be difficult to get rooms together since it was high season. From the minute we arrived we were bowled over by the friendly, warm and attentive service. Valeriya at check - in just could not have been more helpful. She found two adjoining rooms with a sea view for us and noted that it was a birthday for one in our party. We were shown to the most lovely, spacious rooms with striking contemporary decor. Half an hour later as we were settling in a complimentary birthday cake arrived with a beautiful basket of fruit. Such a lovely gesture.
The hotel maintained this standard of service from the lovely ladies cleaning our rooms, to the staff manning the pool in the evening being at the ready with luxurious towels,to the friendly waiters at breakfast. The standard of food in the hotel was excellent. All of our party had stayed in several 5* hotels in Cannes before and the Majestic Barriere is unquestionably the best with service in a class of its own. On our return we all agreed that the hotel had 'made' our short trip very special and memorable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction_hotels, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

Dear client,

Thank you very much for your lovely comments; we are thrilled that you enjoyed staying with us!

With warm regards from the team,

Yours sincerely,

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

This August, at the height of the season, we stayed at the Majestic Barrière in Cannes for 10 days. We learned during our stay that the hotel had received the title of “Best Hotel in France” this year. It is most well deserved and perhaps doesn't go far enough.

The Majestic Barrière is, beyond a doubt, extraordinary. There is no other way to describe it – other than “perfect”. It is hard to know where to begin. Shall I start with the fact that the hotel sent a chauffeur and a bellman from the hotel to meet us at the train from Paris? That they met us at the train on the track and entered the train and off-loaded our baggage?

Shall I continue with the group from the concierge desk, reception, group planning and management that welcomed us to the property – the warmth of the greeting, the attention to every detail?

Shall I continue with our room, which was large, spacious really, beautifully appointed, with a sumptuous balcony facing the Bay of Cannes overlooking the pool, with a table, chairs and a recliner? Or the welcome gift of fruit, chocolate, cookies and drinks brought to the room?

Then, of course, there were the amazing and wonderful dinners at the hotel, the incredible welcome for our group of 19 people with a dedicated reception team, the attention of the entire staff, from housekeepers to bell staff to desk staff and concierge and managers?

Speaking of which, the amazing work of the concierge team, helping us to find places to go and new experiences every evening of our stay continued the marvellous experience, along with the incredible meal at the Petite Maison de Nicole restaurant the first night for our team. The delicious breakfasts at the restaurant every morning, the way the entire staff remembered us from day to day, anticipating what we might need.

Then there was also the warm welcome from the people who work there, the “no request ignored” attitude to everything we needed, from a room change due to a broken air conditioning system (handled beautifully) to small things like an extra towel or a room needing to be made up late in the day.

And finally our perfectly prepared and served farewell dinner on the beach in front of the hotel, with, as a climax, the final night of the pyrotechnic festival of the summer.

Having stayed in many (we do this every year for our company) five star hotels in France, in the UK, in Italy, in Costa Rica, the US, and in Spain, I can say without any reservation that the Majestic Barrière is one of the best, if not the best, of them all.

Ah, me, as usual, and as happens to me a lot, I can’t understand the negative reviews. The hotel is graciously mature – it was celebrating its 100th birthday while we were there. It is not new construction to be sure, but we were grateful for that. It is stately, deliciously aged like a fine wine or elegant cheese, comfortably wearing the grace of its age. It reflects an ease and elegance with simplicity – the simplicity of simply just doing it right.

Stay there if you can. Tell them we sent you. Enjoy it. Don’t go home. We didn’t want to – we had to but… we would have stayed forever.

Room Tip: Stay in the delux seaview rooms - they are worth it.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wprensky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction_hotels, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Dear client,

It was a real pleasure to welcome you to the Majestic Barrière and we are thrilled that you enjoyed staying with us!

We would like to thank you for these wonderful comments and congratulations for our services and the team.

We look forward to welcome you again very soon; it will be a real pleasure to have another opportunity to welcome you.

Very sincerely,

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

This was our second year in Cannes. Stayed at the Majestic both years, each for two weeks. Staff, food, location and comfort is what will bring us back again. Ask for an oceanview room. It is out of this world.

Room Tip: Ask for an oceanview room.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mori E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction_hotels, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2012

Dear client,

Thank you very much for your lovely comments; we are thrilled that you enjoyed staying with us!

With warm regards from the team,

Yours sincerely,

The management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

I travel a great deal and have stayed in many top hotels; sadly the Majestic does not measure up. The bathroom ceiling has peeling and cracked paint, broken tiles in the shower, scratched paint surrround the mirror, and thin towels that are more appropriate to a pension than a world class hotel. Room service, even with a breakfast form filled out precisely, brought me the wrong food, and when I asked for room service tea with lemon and a still water, I was brought milk and sparkling water.

These mistakes are simply unacceptable in a top hotel. In addition, I was out of my room at 8 am and when I returned at 4 pm, housekeeping had yet to clean it.

I asked for a dress to be pressed that I need to wear in 48 hours, and you would have thought I was asking for the impossible. The best answer I could get was "We'll try to have it for you by then." Wow. Needless to say, this formerly grand hotel is just that, a fading beauty.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before accepting it. Corner rooms are small and do not have room for a sofa. They may be called suites, but one could not possibly entertain guests in them, as they only have room for two small chairs and a side table.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valhallapix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction_hotels, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

Dear Client,

You were kind enough to share your experience and we would like to thank you. Your comments are extremely important as they provide a motive for continuous improvement.

My staff and I have taken note of your comments regarding your lack of satisfaction concerning several malfunctioning. Please accept our sincere apologies.
You can be sure that we are taking measures to ensure this does not reoccur; particularly among all the Managers responsible of the service.

Looking forward to having the pleasure of seeing you again soon at the Hotel Majestic,

Yours sincerely,

General Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Stayed with my husband for 4 nights as part of our honeymoon. The hotel is lovely and the staff is really service minded and friendly. One style can not be everybodys taste, but I don't understand the comments about rooms beeing 80's looking. At least our room was nice and just like in the pictures. The location of the hotel is perfect and the private beach is great, with nice sunbeds, good food and impeccable service from the staff. We also visited the gym, which was well equipped. One thing to be prepared for is that you have to pay for everything, even internet and sunbeds by the hotel pool. However, as this was our honeymoon, we received a free upgrade and champagne, chocolates etc served in our room. That was very considerate and a nice surprise. We're hoping to return soon..

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Awj388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction_hotels, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

Dear client,

It was a real pleasure to welcome you to the Majestic Barrière and we are thrilled that you enjoyed staying with us!

We would like to thank you for these wonderful comments and congratulations for our services and the team.

We look forward to welcome you again very soon; it will be a real pleasure to have another opportunity to welcome you.

Yours sincerely,

The management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews