We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location and Great Management” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
Ranked #5 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
miami
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Location and Great Management”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel was in a great location. Last hotel we stayed in-ended a two week France vacation. Room was nice size,we had a sea view-very nice, no balcony but still nice. Service at front great, front desk check in Matilda very nice and Caroline the manager very nice and helpful-took care of a minor problem immediately. Concierge was great and very helpful as well.
Went to beach twice, 1st day great experience. 2 day they were a little off. Beach c
Uh recently renovated and very nice.
Hotel in a great location- bfast was good. No complaints about this hotel. Would def recommend if staying in Cannes.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jss25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre Louis R, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Client,

Thank you very much for choosing the hotel Majestic Barrière and for taking the time to share your comments concerning your stay with us. We strive to provide exceptional service; therefore your feedback is exceedingly important as it acts as an indicator of how we are performing.

We are very lucky to enjoy such a good location in Cannes; few steps away from the Croisette and in the heart of city centre. So we are very happy to see that you have taken advantage of it.

It’s a real pleasure to know you spent a nice stay at the Majestic Barriere at the end of you France vacation and you appreciated front desk ’s staff service and especially Matilda’s and Caroline’s. With a great pleasure I will be pleased to forward them your kind comments in regards to service they provided to you.

I am very glad that you enjoyed our new sandy beach and you had a great experience the first day. We will do our best, next time it will be “one of the key thing” you will remember.

Again, we thank you for your time, and we are looking forward to welcoming you soon again for, this tIme really perfect stay with us.

All the best,

Pierre-Louis RENOU
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,901 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,243
    400
    151
    73
    34
See reviews for
312
894
62
360
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Level Contributor
104 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I came with high expectations only to be seriously disappointed by the size of the room we were given. It literally fit only the bed and 2 side tables. Our window faced an air conditioning unit and the irony was that our own air conditioning didn't even work! We complained downstairs and they sent up a bellboy who just messed around with the a/c knob but couldn't fix it of course. Seeing as it was the middle of summer it was very humid and impossible to sleep in the stuffy small room. They should've offered something in exchange for the night we missed but no such thing was mentioned for the inconvenience.

I would only go back separately for the breakfast but I wouldn't pay to stay the night there again when there are so many other good hotels on the Croisette.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank oneinfivebill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre Louis R, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear guest,

We can see from your comments on TripAdvisor that your stay with us the last July didn’t live up yours expectations. We are sorry that your guest experience disappointed you.

We are concerned about your comment regarding the air conditioning. It is unacceptable that it did not working. Please accept our sincere apologies about it. To deliver the highest service to our customer is our prority, be assured that your comments have been carefully noted and measures have been taken to prevent such situation from occuring again.

We hope you will give us the chance to welcome you back at the Majestic Barrière in order to make you discover other types of rooms and to demonstrate the quality of our service.

Yours faithfully,

Pierre-Louis Renou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
97 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

The hotel is located on La Croisette in dead center of Cannes, lots of restaurants and shopping very nearby, the promenade just outside the door, and the old city center just a walk away.
Lots of space to arrive with a car, be prepared that the hotel would charge 42 EUR for parking per day, and the garage seemed to be very small. We parked outside (at the train station - gare SNCF), 300m away in a clean parking lot for 30 EUR a day. This is southern France...

The hotel rooms are not brand new, but ok and clean. Overall a bit old French style with a very large bathroom. Our room was the cheapest room (230 EUR), and we ended up in the 4th floor to the back - it was ok, no noise and view to the city. Beds are French style - big and very soft, and we slept well. It was sufficiently quiet in the night.

The hotel lobby and the pool area are very elegant, but be aware of the prices - 2 cafe au lait = 19 EUR at the pool. We did not use the beach, unfortunately, because there was a clean up from the Cannes Festival and the beach accesses of most hotels were closed within the 3 days we were there.

So overall, we enjoyed our stay, the hotel gives you that French old fashion style feeling, is reasonably priced (for southern France standards for a 5 star hotel). The service at our departure was a little poor as we had to wait 30 mins for someone to pick up our luggage, so we finally did it by ourselves. Apart from this, the service was ok. Needed to check the invoice because there were a lot of items charged incorrectly, but they removed it immediately.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bavaria70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre Louis R, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your comments on TripAdvisor, our guest’s comments are always welcomed as they help us to improve our service and enhance our guest’s satisfaction.

Of course, we have well noted your comments and lead all the necessary investigations to understand the failures you faced, especially regarding the thirty minutes you had to wait on your departure. Nevertheless, we are very glad to read that you enjoyed your overall stay and the “ french” atmosphere of our hotel.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you once again and make you discover our new beach,

Yours sincerely,

Pierre-Louis Renou
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I’ve had the pleasure of attending the Cannes Film Festival over several years and have worked out of the Majestic hotel but never have I had the opportunity to stay overnight in a guest room!
I finally had the chance the week prior to this year’s Film Festival, and it was a very lovely experience!
This is a property with a very storied past and I am certain some very well kept secrets from Film Festivals of years gone by! The images on the walls help you relive the beauty and glamour of the French Riviera
This is a very beautiful Art Deco property although it looks like a palace it has a very comfortable and airy feel! The employees definitely add to the ambiance, I was impressed with their attention to detail in everything they do and their willingness to accommodate your requests. For example; although the hotel was at a high occupancy they were able to provide me with an early check in – having just arrived on an overseas flight.
The Concierge were always available to help with suggestions for wonderful restaurants (Le Maschou), directions to easily find the closest super-marché, etc
The chambermaids always addressed me by name, with a happy “Bonjour”! It was rather lovely to be greeted in such a friendly and genuine manner. Tip: The chocolates provided with the turn down service are divine!
If you are a Champagne lover, there is no better way to start the day than the breakfast at Fouquet, everything is nicer when there's bubbles involved!
I was in room 321, referred to as a Deluxe Sea View it came with a beautiful view of the Mediterranean! The bathroom is a girls dream with a large sized tub and an oversized shower with really, really hot and steamy water! And there was pretty good space for all of your toiletries!
This may seem like an unusual observation, but for those of us that turn in late you will appreciate the importance of having dark curtains; this room, with its two views of the sea had amazing light blocking drapery, so sleeping in was a breeze!

Thank you Majestic Barriere Cannes for being a wonderful experience!

Room Tip: The view from room 321 is lovely and the bathroom was excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Passionpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre Louis R, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, thank you for sharing with us this wonderful feed-back about your last stay at the Majestic. It is really appreciated and a huge source of motivation for our entire team.

We are thrilled that we made your stay in Cannes unforgettable and that our service was upon your expectations. As soon as you are satisfied, our goal is achieve!

We hope that you will be able to renew the experience the next time your plan include the French Riviera.

Yours sincerely,

Pierre-Louis Renou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juscreativ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed at The Majestic in May right before the Cannes Film Festival. Upon arrival we were walked to our room, and given such a grand arrival we felt like celebrities. They were aware that we celebrating our 15th anniversary and treated great during our entire stay. We enjoyed a wonderful Breakfast each morning which was included. I emailed the concierge prior to our arrival regarding day excursions and they set us up with liven tours and it was perfect. Loved every minute at this hotel, will absolutely stay here on our next visit to Cannes.

Room Tip: Use American Express and you may be eligible for a room upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juscreativ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre Louis R, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear guest,

It is a pleasure to read such a nice comment about your stay at the Majestic Barrière on TripAdvisor.

We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards. Our objective is to provide you a memorable experience, and I’m glad to read that experience came through in your comments.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon,

Best regards,

Pierre-Louis Renou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Cannes does not have top of the line luxury hotels. Most of the buildings are old, so there is not much room to work with.

Service wise majestic was very nice, their rooms were refurbished and comfotable. We stayed in a terrace room and both the room itself and the terrace were very spacious and had great sea views. Only complaint was the size of the tv. TV was far from bed and screen was very small. Big tv's are not expensive anymore so I do not understand why they put such small tvs in the bigger size rooms.

Also breakfast was very poor considering how much they charge for it.

As I said this is not a very good looking structure from the outside. But it has good service and rooms are ok. Do not expect anything special, consider it like a 5 star city hotel, which I believe is the best you can get in Cannes.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank memch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre Louis R, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you very much for your feedback on your visit to the Majesic Barriere. We know your time is valuable and we appreciate the time you take to compliment us on the good aspects of your stay, as well as the parts that need to be improve.
To live up your expectations is our priority.

We look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to the French Riviera,

Sincerely,

Pierre-Louis Renou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

I was so happy with my decision to stay at the Majestic Barriere while visiting Cannes on vacation with my husband. After reading many reviews on TripAdvisor it was a close call between this hotel and the Carlton. The Majestic Barriere had a very boutique hotel feeling even though it is a large hotel. The rooms are unique and the hotel is in a great location! We enjoyed having lunch and wine on the beach as well as walking to the nearby restaurants and shops. The only odd thing I would mention about this hotel was the lack of shower. Our room only had a bathtub. I am not sure if this is standard for most rooms, but it was unexpected.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alisontraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre Louis R, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for making the Majestic your hotel choice during your last stay to Cannes !
I am happy that you had a pleasant stay with us. I do hope that we will welcome you back and will exceed your expectations once again.

Best regards,

Pierre-Louis Renou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
0.1 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#2 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
0.1 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Cannes
JW Marriott Cannes
#13 of 126 in Cannes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes

Property: Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
Address: 10, La Croisette, 06400 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#3 Spa Hotel in Cannes
#3 Business Hotel in Cannes
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#4 Family Hotel in Cannes
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes 5*
Number of rooms: 349
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic Barriere, icon of elegance and luxury, welcomes you into a world of refinement offering all the comfort of a legendary luxury hotel. The Majestic Barriere has a new look. Fully refurbished this winter, the hotel lobby and all of its rooms, suites and corridors reflect the latest trends bringing together luxury, tradition and modernity. In the near future, the Majestic 2010 will open a new wing, an extension of the existing hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Barriere Cannes Hotel Cannes
Majestic Barriere Hotel Cannes
Cannes Majestic Barriere Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing