We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
Ranked #5 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
quebec
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2010

I absolutely loved this hotel and it's really worth the splurge!!!! The lobby area as you walk in you feel like you are in Cannes which i love! THe rooms are so clean and modern and the bathroom is just amazing!! A good bathroom is so important to me! THe location of the Hotel is perfect as you are right in the heart of the shopping area and the beach. Obviously if you can stay at the Carlton go for it, but if you can't stay there the Majestic is the second best on the strip. The restaurant inside the hotel was excellent And the Breakfast are excellent!!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T13791379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,279
    407
    154
    73
    35
See reviews for
321
914
63
372
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
190 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2010

First of all, as you might expect, this hotel is beautiful. From the outside. From the inside. When you walk through the front door you really do feel like you have entered a world of beauty, style and glamour.
Of course, The Majestic has all the things you expect in a five-star hotel. Great restaurant, hip bar, gym, spa, pool and private beach.
The staff is extremely helpful and courteous. Language never seemed to be a barrier. No problem too daunting.
If you are in Cannes to attend an event at the Palais (as I was) the location is fabulous; just walk across the street.
My room (superior) was large and well appointed. A great bathroom, comfortable bed, huge closets, large flat-screen TV and a great working desk. Even though I was only a few metres away from all the action on the street the room was extremely quiet. And, with early summer sunrises, it remained peacefully dark in those early hours.
If you're travelling on a tight budget, this probably isn't the hotel for your situation. Rooms are not cheap and all those beautiful amenities come at a cost. In addition to your room charge (plus taxes, etc.) you will pay extra for average-speed internet access, access to the gym, pool and beach. If you need to print out a boarding pass, it will cost about 7 Euro. And then there are all the usual extras; phone, mini-bar, laundry. As I was checking out I was thinking about all these charges as I reviewed my bill . . . feeling a bit down, I confess. And then Isabelle stepped in to help me check out and the everything changed. She was friendly, interested, helpful, charming and warm. It reminded me that this was a very special experience; one certainly worth paying for.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jetalcott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bombay
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2010

It was the chance of a lifetime to stay at the Majestic. I've never stayed in a hotel as opulent and grand. The presence of movie stars during the Cannes Festival didn't hurt either, as the Majestic was THE meeting spot. The super tight security was a bit of a hassle, but added to the glamour element. Our sea-facing room was just WOW! Even being a seasoned traveller, I was dazzled.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank goabum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2010

We selected this hotel based on the fact that it had gone through renovation and it would be a fantastic comination of modern comfort and old times charm. We expected to see a fully reconstructed space with top-end service. Unfortunately that was not the case. First of all, the room is tiny. We are used to the size of the rooms in France but the room in Majestic seemed smaller due to a very low ceiling (probably 2.4 m). The bathroom was not renovated, the marble tiles are old as well as taps. And believe me there is no "old times charm". The quality of the new furniture is quite poor. Tthe hotel with such history deserves something better.
As for the service, unfortunately it also leaves much to be desired. We gave a shirt for pressing asking to deliver it back by 7 o'clock. At 8 we had to call the front desk and remind them. However we never received it in time and my husband had to wear a T-shirt instead.
Another example, I made a reservation for the spa treatments both for myself and for my husband. When we arrived in the spa it turned out that they had only booked me in and not my husband.
In the morning when we had to check out there was literally a queue. I do not know whether it is normal for the hotel of such level...
As for the positives, the hotel's location is great and the breakfast was not bad.
So, after spending two days in a newly renovated Majestic Barriere we decided that next time we would stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annaov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2010

stayed here for the film fest because of its central location. service, especially in the cafe was horrible. the entire place was a rude, ripoff machine, with cramped, overpriced, dirty rooms.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrtravelsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2010

We spent two nights at the MB while traveling from Provence to Villefranche. I have stayed at the hotel before they renovated the rooms, and I didn't like it very much. I booked it again because the Carlton doesn't have a pool, and I don't like the Martinez at all (those are the only other deluxe hotels in Cannes.) My expectations were low, and I was really pleasantly surprised, the new rooms are tasteful and comfortable. I booked the lowest room category, and thanks to the American Express Platinum Fine Hotels & Resorts program, we were upgraded to a lovely room with a view of the sea. The bedding was so fantastic I would like to replicate it at home. Thick, pristine white duvets and nice crisp sheets, with a perfect mattress. The bathroom was huge with a large shower and a tub. We didn't eat lunch or dinner at the hotel, but I have in the past and it has always been good. Breakfast is fine, hot and cold buffet with efficient service for coffee and tea. The concierges are superb, I lost my blackberry charger and they charged mine for me. One of them recommended a great restaurant for dinner in the old town of Cannes, and provided directions to everywhere we need to go. I think the hotel provides good value, and its impossible not to have fun there. I highly recommend the Majestic Barriere. Bon voyage!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMLondonNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights on a girls weekend away.... the hotel is gorgeous, in red, gold and sparkling chandeliers, there are photographs of movie legends on all the walls... there are glass cases with jewellery and exquisite looking shoes in the lobby...
Location: this hotel is set slightly back from the main strip, La Croisette, but benefits from a very grand entrance frequented by Bentleys, Ferraris & Porches. The best shopping is a 2 min walk, the best restaurants are in the old town about 10 min walk (the wonderful concierge can advise the best local food). The bus/train station is about 15min walk if you want to head out.... I recommed going to the perfumery in Grasse to formulate your own...
Rooms: we got a great deal on our room, it was gorgeously decorated, extremely comfortable bed and a nice bathroom.
Value: as the hotel was undergoing renovation, we weren't able to use the pool. But, this worked out fantastically as we had free use of the private beach instead... hello sunbeds.
Tips..... depending on your bank balance, you may want to avoid eating on the Croisette and instead go into the old town. The food there is amazing and much better value. Also, ask for tap water... Evian is extraordinarily expensive!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maypoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
0.1 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
0.1 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Cannes
JW Marriott Cannes
#14 of 126 in Cannes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes

Property: Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
Address: 10, La Croisette, 06400 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#3 Spa Hotel in Cannes
#3 Business Hotel in Cannes
#4 Family Hotel in Cannes
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes 5*
Number of rooms: 349
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic Barriere, icon of elegance and luxury, welcomes you into a world of refinement offering all the comfort of a legendary luxury hotel. The Majestic Barriere has a new look. Fully refurbished this winter, the hotel lobby and all of its rooms, suites and corridors reflect the latest trends bringing together luxury, tradition and modernity. In the near future, the Majestic 2010 will open a new wing, an extension of the existing hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Barriere Cannes Hotel Cannes
Majestic Barriere Hotel Cannes
Cannes Majestic Barriere Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing