We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad customer relations.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
Ranked #7 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2011

My friend and I called in to MB for coffee as a treat. We ordered two cappuchinos which were served luke warm. I complained to the restaurant manager and he said, ' we push a button and that's what you get '. ! I then complained to the deputy manager who told me that there was nothing wrong with the coffee, it was just my taste. We discussed it but she said there was nothing at all she would do to rectify my complaint. We had to leave, after paying sixteen euros for the coffees, feeling very sad and dissapointed about the lack of good customer service.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Carmeltravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

670 - 676 of 2,180 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2011

I stayed at the Majestic on a business trip and was very disappointed by the quality of service. On the first night I found plenty of bed bugs on the comforter and had to change room at 3am in the morning. The room where I have been relocated had a very small window overlooking the air conditionning system, a broken closet with no door. The paint inside the bathroom was falling apart. I received no apologize for what happened on the first night until the end of my stay where I had to complain to get some apologies!
The hotel lobby and restaurant are nice but rooms and service of the hotel, compared to its price and rating, are not worth it.
Also, anyone going there on a business trip should be aware that Internet access is overpriced, even for guests of the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TaC80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voyageur_expedia, Manager at Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2011

Dear TaC80,

Firstly let me offer again our sincerest apologies for the problems and the lack of care that you have experienced during your last stay with us.
I am sorry about the unfortunate experience that you have encountered and to read that you have not been given the care that you were expecting under those circumstances.
Again I am sincerely sorry for this situation.
Upon your comments regarding bed bugs we had immediately called our pest control company which has performed a thorough investigation.
Although their conclusion is that there was no obvious presence of bed bugs a thorough treatment of the room was performed to eliminate any pest.
There was no other report of this nature.

Nevertheless I am sorry that your night had been marred and that we did not offer the apologies that you were rightly expecting.
I have also noted your comments concerning the room condition and can assure you that all rooms will be visited by maintenance department during ourforthcoming annual closure.

I reconfirm the offer I made to you upon check out for your next stay

Hoping that you will grant us the opportunity to give you a much better opinion of our hotel

sincerely

Béatrice Gagnaire
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2011

First of all, have to own up to the fact that we were not footing the bill for our stay. This said, this hotel is great - fantastic service, fabulous location, wonderful team. We had a room on the 7th floor and the view was heavenly. A great place to stay - as good as the Martinez where we stayed a couple of years ago.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caratania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2010

Stayed here for a conference with my spouse, it was great. Good staff and great location. Of course very expensive as it is very close to beach and conference facilities.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hans S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2010

We managed to get a sea view room with balcony which made a great difference to our stay. All the hotels along the Cannes coast offer a range of prices to match the view/non-view. There is city view (this is of the side of the building along the street), mountain view (sight of all the buildings that are built on the mountain). Sea view does not always mean you get a "full on" view, I recommend asking to see the room before you take all your luggage up.

The room was the best thing, the bed & pillows were huge and comfy, the decor was glamorous and modern.

You could certainly rack up a huge bill on top of the room rate. They charge extra for most things, 24 euros for 1 movie, 31 euros for a movie package, 15 euros per person for any room service meal (this is on top of the meal cost), 15 euros for the use of the internet for 1 day, charge for the sauna etc etc

We did use the movie package this gave us unlimited "new release" movies for about 18 hours. It worked out OK but we were happy to find out that Dubai TV had lots of free movies in English.

The buffet breakfast is definitely worth getting up for.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kezza17june
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2010

Very impressive hotel. Stayed for 4 nights with partner. Hotel is well located - walking distance to the port for the Lerin islands, Suquet, SNCF, various casinos and bus stations (#210 express service to and from Nice Airport-45mins). All the top end shops - Gucci, LV, Prada etc were just outside the hotel. It is also just a few minutes away from the Palais des Festivals where the Cannes Festival is held.
The lobby is very grand looking, very luxurious. The room (superior double) was a decent size, with a balcony and flat screen TV - France 24 was great for keeping up with news in English. We had a few nice surprises too - the room is cleaned twice a day, and there was a shutter which totally shut out all the light from outside... we didn't realise it was down, and slept until midday! All the staff we met were super friendly but we steered away from the private beach restaurant due to the bad reviews, so didn't find out what it was like for ourselves. Unfortunately, we didn't have time to use the in house gym facilities, but the shower experience looked pretty good, there is a charge though - I think it was c.€15.
The only mini let downs were: no iron/ironing board, although they do have an ironing service (prob for a charge), no kettle/tea/coffee facilties, vanity set not always replenished so we were short of cotton pads/buds. Other than that, we couldn't fault our stay really.
Lastly, we ordered a dinner on room service and the meal was wheeled in with rose in vase, we were really, very impressed with the standard.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Freckles25nw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

had a four night stay here in Aug 2010. Great location in Cannes which was buzzing at the end of August. Had a partial sea view room (good description) across the road from the Palais des festivals (the red carpet) .


Service was really good and on the ball although the hotel was busier than I expected. Amenities are great. you are in the centre of the action in Cannes but can avoid the crowds and hang out at the Pool o rthe small bar overlooking la Croisette. Breakfast was well presented and staff very attentive.

The fitness centre is small but well positioned and well presented with great knowledgeable staff.

Also quite a few kids at the hotel which surprised me initially as i hadn't expected i to be a kids friendly hotel. Overall i thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Only downside is that you are in the Centre of a very busy holiday town and the people and road noise is quite high even with the electronic blinds down. Also , you pay alot for anything extra including using the fitness centre or towels at the beach (which would normally be included at a hotel anywhere else in the world.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
0.1 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
552 reviews
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Cannes
JW Marriott Cannes
#14 of 126 in Cannes
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes

Address: 10, La Croisette, 06400 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Cannes
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#3 Spa Hotel in Cannes
#4 Family Hotel in Cannes
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
Price Range: £141 - £849 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes 5*
Number of rooms: 349
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic Barriere, icon of elegance and luxury, welcomes you into a world of refinement offering all the comfort of a legendary luxury hotel. The Majestic Barriere has a new look. Fully refurbished this winter, the hotel lobby and all of its rooms, suites and corridors reflect the latest trends bringing together luxury, tradition and modernity. In the near future, the Majestic 2010 will open a new wing, an extension of the existing hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Barriere Cannes Hotel Cannes
Majestic Barriere Hotel Cannes
Cannes Majestic Barriere Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing