We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charged to use the pool!?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
Ranked #19 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful and the couple that sing in the evening Are wonderful. the rooms are not stunning but nothing to complain about. It's all as would be expected in a 5* hotel.


However what i didnt expext os to use the hotels beach as a resident is 35 euros, which although a bit Steep I got
Over as it's a very nice
Beach club, today I am at the hotels pool (for guests only) and I have been charged 17 euros for the pleasure of using the pool area! Which is unbelievable, and it's not like the drinks are discounted!

If you have more money than sense and paying on top
Of your room for the use of the pool seems ok then you will love it, if not then maybe look for an alternative which we will be Next year.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krywald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amvmartinez, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Martinez.

We have taken notes of your comments and will share it with our team.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel Martinez.

With all our very best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,843)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

557 - 563 of 1,843 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

I had two rooms, one for me and my wife, and one for my adult sons. It just wasn't what I expected, particularly at such prices. I should add here that I'm used to high prices, because I usually stay at Four Seasons hotels, and am traveling four months each year. What I'm not used to is high prices without correspondingly good service. The prices were exceptionally high--$200 to $250 for a simple light lunch for four, for example. We also had to pay $68/day for chairs and umbrellas on the beach every day. I'm not used to that, either. I've traveled throughout the world (over 65 countries) and stayed, always, at some of the world's top hotels, but never had to pay for beach chairs when I was a guest at the hotel. But that's not all. One pair if socks costs $15 to get washed--and returned the FOLLOWING day. For the same day, there's an extra charge. Anyway, I could probably live with this kind of thing, but there was more, such as room service, the beach restaurant and the bar all having exactly the same menu. After a couple of days, we were tired of it. The one Five Star comment I could make is about the Concierge. The Concierge desk could not possibly have been better. Still, I wouldn't go back b

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amvmartinez, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Martinez.

We have taken notes of your comments regarding the pricing at the hotel and will discuss it with the management.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel Martinez.

With all our very best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We had a good experience at the Grand Hyatt (Hotel Martinez) in Cannes. The hotel is not for the faint of heart, however - prices (even off season) are stratospheric, and they include NOTHING. Everything you might like to enjoy is a la cart - breakfast is 40 euro, a chair by the pool is at least 15 euro, a chair on the beach is nearly 20 euro, a soda will cost you nearly 10 euro. This, despite commanding very healthy (read expensive) room rates. That's OK - as long as you know this going in. We had amazing rooms on a high floor with amazing ocean views. Decor of our room was modern with light wood. Beds were very good. The rooms made the trip for us. Service was excellent from the hotel staff - very attentive and not too snooty. The hotel is in need of renovations - Hyatt just took over management of the property in April 2013 - and from the reviews I read they have their work cut out for them. Aside from all of the add-on charges, my biggest complaint was the internet service/wifi - which was so slow, it reminded me of dial-up speeds from over 10 years ago. Despite the negatives, we'd return to the Hyatt for the location, service and views - but I sincerely hope that Hyatt renovates the property so it can do more than live off the reputation of the Hotel Martinez and the prime location that have surely endeared it to many travelers.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BK-1K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amvmartinez, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

Regarding the renovations at the property, I can confirm that from winter 2013 the hotel will undergo a full and extensive renovation phased over three winter seasons and be fully refurbished within end 2016. Prior to this full renovation the hotel has already undertaken a soft renovation relating to the replacement of furniture, curtains and carpeting throughout the parts of the hotel.

As for the internet connection, our refurbishment program include a complete renewal of our internet set up, plus a faster internet supplier. The new system should be running this fall 2013.

Please rest assured that the comfort and the satisfaction of our guests are our first preoccupation. We thank you for your understanding and for helping us to improve the quality of our service.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We enjoyed our stay a lot ! The hotel has a great location directly at la croisette so all shops and restaurants are close by. It is infront of the beach and has its own beach club where you can enjoy the sun and a great club sandwich ;) ! The rooms are nicely decorated and the hotel has a super nice ambiance. As well the service was friendly and helpful and all in all we can only recommend it to others !

Room Tip: You should definitely choose a room with sea view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anina_Lin82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amvmartinez, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review and are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Martinez.

Your satisfaction and your comments are an encouragement to us in the pursuit of making each stay a memorable one.


We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel Martinez.

With all our very best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We have stayed at the Majestic, the Carlton and the Martinez, each a few times. The Martinez is our favorite because of location, beach, service, and ambience. Hyatt purchase did not change anything.

Good evening entertainment with Maycol and Lilian.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Preston T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amvmartinez, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review and are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Martinez.

Your satisfaction and your comments are an encouragement to us in the pursuit of making each stay a memorable one.

Please note that Hyatt has been managing the Hotel for a few months only and the new projects are to come very soon.


We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel Martinez.

With all our very best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The hotel is imposing and is exactly what you picture when you arrive.

I think it is great news for the hotel that Hyatt has taken over the management. They know how to run a hotel.

The lobby and public areas seem to have gone through some form of renovation. The rooms, lifts, lift lobbies and hallways need a lot of love and attention. The rooms too are getting tired, although the bed was comfortable. The TV is a flat screen but it is too small and a few years old.

I understand the hotel is gong through a makeover so expect to see the Hyatt touch coming through.

If you want top shelf then check into the Carlton. If however you want a reasonable hotel in a great location then stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank thehopster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amvmartinez, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review and are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Martinez.

There is a refurbishment going on and the best part is to come.

Your satisfaction and your comments are an encouragement to us in the pursuit of making each stay a memorable one.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel Martinez.

With all our very best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Due to some mixed reviews we were uncertain whether to stay at this storied landmark hotel. But after some email exchanges and phone calls with Valerie, the Front Office Manager, in advance of arrival, we felt assured that our accommodations would be nice. We are very happy that we chose to stay at the Grand Hyatt Cannes. Navila, from the front desk, personally showed us some of the recently renovated rooms we were offered, both of which were very nice. We chose a slightly smaller room but one with a full ocean view. The fireworks display on Saturday night was a big factor since we were able to watch it from our room. A wise choice since their summer fireworks display is the best we have ever seen anywhere in the world.

In addition to a great room, every one of the staff was very friendly and eager to serve. We felt so welcomed and appreciated. The on-site dining is excellent and among the best in all of Cannes. The location is easy walking distance from the most interesting parts of Cannes and the beach access is superb. The only way we could have enjoyed our stay more was to have stayed an extra day or two.

Room Tip: Some suites have a nice and very large veranda with personal lounge chairs and a sense of privacy, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amvmartinez, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review and are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Martinez.

Your satisfaction and your comments are an encouragement to us in the pursuit of making each stay a memorable one.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel Martinez.

With all our very best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Cannes
JW Marriott Cannes
#15 of 126 in Cannes
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
568 reviews
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
0.6 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez

Address: 73 Boulevard de la Croisette, 06400 Cannes, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Cannes
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#23 Business Hotel in Cannes
#30 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
#32 Family Hotel in Cannes
Price Range: £169 - £739 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As part of our renovation program, our hotel will be closed to the public from October, 30th, 2017 to March, 4th 2018. The entire property, public areas, rooms, restaurants & bar, meeting rooms, spa will be closed during this period. Looking forward to welcoming you on March, 5th, 2018. Situated on the exclusive Boulevard de la Croisette, overlooking the Mediterranean Sea, the Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez is one of the most iconic hotels on the French Riviera. Built in 1929, this legendary Art Deco hotel has 409 elegant rooms and suites, including a 1 000sqm Penthouse suite with breathtaking views over the Bay of Cannes. Renowned for its exquisite gourmet cuisine, the Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez boasts a variety of restaurants including the only 2-Michelin star restaurant in Cannes. During summer, the iconic Zplage private beach offers a beach club with a large pier, a bar and a restaurant. Leisure and activities include a spa and a fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martinez Hotel Cannes
Hotel Martinez Cannes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing