We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A warm welcome at The Martinez”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
Ranked #17 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Lichfield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A warm welcome at The Martinez”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Over the last 11 years we have visited The Martinez on an annual basis - the welcome and excellent customer service has never wavered. It is right and the management recognise that some if the rooms are looking tired and need refurbishment - but we understand this is to be undertaken through the winter months under a 3 year refurbishment project. We had booked this year as usual a deluxe room and were concerned re trip adviser reports - we emailed the guest relations director (Veronique) with whom we have a very long standing and good relationship - she emailed back to say she had arranged an upgrade to a sea view room - we were very pleased with the quick and positive response. When we arrived on 15th September we were shown to our room - absolutely beautiful and the views were magnificent - as usual The Martinez were very generous with gifts - a lovely touch. We see the same staff year in year out - a credit to the hotel - all of them welcome us back & make us feel extremely valued. Veronique and Karine are marvellous and extremely helpful, the bar/restaurant managers and staff are also attentive as are the concierge and pool attendants. We were introduced to Mr Ceccherelli this year the new General Manager and it was obvious to us his priority is his guests. We will return next year to our favourite hotel and location where they never fail to deliver - well done The Martinez

Room Tip: Sea view are fabulous
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amvmartinez, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review and are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Martinez.

Your satisfaction and your comments are an encouragement to us in the pursuit of making each stay a memorable one. Rest assured that we shared your comments with Véronique and Karine.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel Martinez.

With all our very best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    728
    463
    272
    125
    96
See reviews for
299
734
51
331
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Martinez this July for 10 days. Its true the rooms are "tired", waiting for a much needed renovation, but the staff is excellant with real Old World 5 star professionalism. Special thanks to Housekeeping who returned a lost object after we left, and much appreciation to the Manager Mr.Claudio Ciccereli who smoothed over my complaints with gracious charm.

Room Tip: Sea view with balcony a big plus
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kuzari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amvmartinez, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

We are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and shared your comments with both the housekeeping and Mr. Ceccherelli.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to the Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez.

With all our very best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Our experience was terrific. The staff is extremely helpful. Talk to the concierge Gael and he will recommend some "non-touristy" places to visit. Also, Sabine in the restaurant is very polite and always happy. She was our waitress most evenings. It was also my birthday during the stay, the staff and GM treated me with presents and drinks. I don't know many hotels that will provide such a nice touch. I recommend staying in a remodeled room. The negative reviews tend to be from people who stayed in a dated room.

Room Tip: Ask for a remodeled room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 8Avidtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amvmartinez, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review and are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Martinez.

Your satisfaction and your comments are an encouragement to us in the pursuit of making each stay a memorable one. We will forward your comments to Gael and Sabine who, I am sure, will be delighted to hear from you.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel Martinez.

With all our very best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My views about Hyatt remain quite simple; never good enough but not really that bad. Not too expensive but never cheap by any occasion. If you are passionate about your gold passport, you could also ask receptionist whether you can save the mileage in airliners program too! My affection to Grand Hyatt has fell apart, which makes me sad. It was absolutely one of the finest hotel in 1970's but they seem to have chased up profits after profits. The receptionist welcomes me always like a robot. Always greet as manual says. Not by heart but by manual. Let's talk about this hotel. I felt quite familiar when I entered into the room. A bit like 70's tacky p**** movie style bed and very odd combination of furniture. Odd and imbalanced light strength in the corridor. Food in this lovely Cannes based hotel added disappointment. View was spectacular and location was pretty good though. I'd probably stay in the motel next time I visit Cannes.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amvmartinez, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

We are sorry to hear about your disappointment and took notes from all your comments.

Regarding the condition of the hotel, please note that Hyatt took over only 6 months ago and focused on the refurbishment project as soon as possible.
This refurbishment program has already started and will be phased over three winter seasons to metter match your expectations.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back to the Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez.

With all our very best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The rooms are very tired, i had a partial sea view which was an upgrade and you nearly cricked your neck actually peering for the sea from this side street! The hotel is very corporate and soulless in the common areas and bedrooms, but the staff were very sweet and helpful. The best bit i felt was the pontoon above the beach where the loungers are all placed as if you are flying first! The beach restaurant was ok but nothing outstanding.Good people watching on the beach and fabulous shops nearby but wouldn't visit again

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexandra h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amvmartinez, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

We have taken notes from your comments and shared it with our teams.

Regarding the condition of the hotel, please note that from winter 2013 the hotel will undergo a full and extensive renovation phased over three winter seasons and be fully refurbished within end 2016.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back to the Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez.

With all our very best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This is one of the most expensive hotels I have stayed in but far from being one of the best. Not only were the room rates expensive, almost everything was extra, which practically doubled the amount spent. Even if money was no object, you'll find the decor in need of renovation and the place is so big that it's souless. And the famed bar is certainly not the best in Cannes. However, the pier is a great way to spend a day but also very expensive. There are no discounts for guests and many of the people I came across were either staying in another hotel or renting an appartment (which I will do next year). The whole place lacked class but then so do a lot of the people holidaying in Cannes these days.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank DocDread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amvmartinez, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

We are sorry to read about your disappointment and would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused.

Regarding the renovations at the property, we can confirm that from winter 2013 the hotel will undergo a full and extensive renovation phased over three winter seasons and be fully refurbished within end 2016. Prior to this full renovation the hotel has already undertaken a soft renovation relating to the replacement of furniture, curtains and carpeting throughout the parts of the hotel.

Concerning the private beach fee, please note that there are different rates wether you are a guest of the hotel or not.

We sincerely hope to see you back to the Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez.

With all our very best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Of course expectations were high, maybe to high..We stayed here one night after walking three days in the Gorge the Verdun. It was July 14th, the national celebration day, because of this the swimming pool was closed earlier, like the beach..because they had to prepare diner tables, they sold to people watching the fire works later that night. No problem, but they could have compensated this somehow, or at least mentioned this at the time of booking the room... you would expect this from a hotel with such a reputation. Rest was fine, and of course the place on the boulevard of Cannes is spectacular!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markvandegrift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amvmartinez, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We took notes from your comments regarding the 14th of July and measures will be taken to avoid such an inconvenience.

We sincerely hope to see you back to the Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez.

With all our very best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
0.6 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.6 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#2 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Cannes
JW Marriott Cannes
#14 of 126 in Cannes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Grand Hotel
Le Grand Hotel
#16 of 126 in Cannes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez

Property: Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
Address: 73 boulevard de la Croisette, 06400 Cannes, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cannes
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#23 Business Hotel in Cannes
#30 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
#32 Family Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the exclusive Boulevard de la Croisette, overlooking the Mediterranean Sea, the Grand Hyatt Cannes Hôtel Martinez is one of the most iconic hotels on the French Riviera. Built in 1929, this legendary Art Deco hotel has 409 elegant rooms and suites, including a 1 000sqm Penthouse suite with breathtaking views over the Bay of Cannes. Renowned for its exquisite gourmet cuisine, the Grand Hyatt Cannes Hôtel Martinez boasts a variety of restaurants including the only 2-Michelin star restaurant in Cannes. During summer, the iconic Zplage private beach offers a beach club with a large pier, a bar and a restaurant. Leisure and activities include a outdoor heated swimming pool, a spa and a fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martinez Hotel Cannes
Hotel Martinez Cannes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing