We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
Ranked #19 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The hotel is run very well. The staff are attentive, professional and friendly. The hotel is very clean. I found that although my room was clean as a whistle, it seems a bit worn. The 'gym' is terrible if you want to work out with weights. There are no free weights and a single multifunctional machine that I found very awkward to use. Basically, it was useless. There is bike and a treadmill, maybe two or three. There are no coffee makers in the rooms and no iron/boards. The food is outrageously priced. A hamburger costs 32 euros. This is a luxury hotel so I would not recommend it if you have a budget.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TwoHavlesofCoconuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amvmartinez, Responsable relations clients at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your comments after staying at the Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Hyatt has taken over the Martinez since April 2013. We have begun to make light renovations, changing carpets and fabrics in several rooms each time the occupancy of the Hotel gave us the opportunity to do so. We are now planning a full and extensive renovation.

We have taken good note of your remarks concerning the Fitness.
Otherwise, we would like to inform you that iron and board are available upon request (without extra charge).

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best Regards

Karine
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,827)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

510 - 516 of 1,827 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

So far this is the best five star hotel I have visited in France. The guest relations manager was excellent in resolving a problem at check in, and the concierge service was outstanding offering five star service throughout the stay. Room Service were quick to pick up what I needed them to do. Although there are areas that need attending to: Reception at check out for example, a queue and only two of the three reception desks were open! When I mentioned this to a member of staff nothing was done. Very poor for a five star hotel. Also, the drinks cabinet in my room was not serviced properly. As glasses and cups were used, they were not replaced, despite me mentioning it, nothing improved, not sure if that was Housekeeping or Room Service! I hope my next stay is a true five star experience!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarrenE2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amvmartinez, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comment after staying at the Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. However, we feel sorry for inconveniences you have had.

Please rest assured that the comfort and the satisfaction of our guests is our first preoccupation.
You will be always more than welcome.

Best Regards,

Karine,
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This hotel is ridiculously expensive. Minibar prices are 4-5x typical 5 star hotels. For example small Pringles cost €15. Gin and tonic at the hotel bar €25. Even I was travelling on expenses I didn't want to waste money on this. The hotel itself is well located and has history linked to the Cannes film awards. It's only 10min or walk to the city center.

My room was quite large and the bed was comfortable. Daily service was good with a nice turndown service that left free water (luckily as the minibar water would seriously eat into your holiday budget. The room itself was ready for upgrade but bathroom was in surprisingly good shape.

The conference facilities in my view had seen better days. Swimming pool was nice as it was nicely heated allowing for a relaxing splash outside even in January.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank Xymyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amvmartinez, Responsable relations clients at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments.
We feel sorry for not having fulfilled your expectations.
Hyatt has taken over the Martinez since April 2013. We are planning a full and extensive renovation including meeting rooms
Please rest assured that the comfort and the satisfaction of our guests is my first preoccupation.

Best regards,

Karine
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I stayed at the hotel for 4 nights. Here are my pros & cons
Pros:
1. Excellent location, just across from the promenade and all the luxury shopping, small walk from the old town & shopping district
2. Fabulous breakfast, 2 thumbs up, may be a bit pricey though depending on how much you can eat
3. Excellent view from the room on the front side (my friend had the view)
4. My room was on the back side with the back view of the hotel and wasn't the biggest, the bathroom though was pretty big and well accommodated with plugs & switches in the right place.
5. Wi-Fi worked well at most locations
6. Super concierge (I wish I could remember his name), he recommended us a fabulous local restaurant and helped us plan our island tour. Thanks to him we had a great day.

Cons:
1. Room décor was a bit dated; the carpets could use a change
2. I’m not too sure about the restaurant, they looked pricey which is why we did not try it. Not to worry though, many great eateries at walking distance
3. The bar was extraordinarily expensive; I suppose it the priced for movie stars not a common man, 20euros for a drink is expensive, again a super affordable & great bar just across the street from the hotel.

We got a great deal on the price since it was off season and enjoyed every bit of our stay. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: try to get a room with a view, you wont regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SapnaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amvmartinez, Responsable relations clients at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your comments after staying at the Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Hyatt has taken over the Martinez since April 2013. We have begun to make light renovations, changing carpets and fabrics in several rooms each time the occupancy of the Hotel gave us the opportunity to do so. We are now planning a full and extensive renovation
We look forward to welcoming you again

Karine
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

A very well situated hotel, with a great bay view, with ample conference and meeting facilities, but a bit of tired hotel, showing wear and tear in rooms and bar. Staff provides or is trying to provide excellent service. Some rooms may be like the pictures on the website, many are not, so take care when booking. Famed two star restaurant was closed unfortunately. Biggest surprise was the lack of real espresso both at breakfast and on the terraces.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank TheHappyCamper2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amvmartinez, Responsable relations clients at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments after staying at the Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez.

We are sorry that your experience did not meet your all your expectations.

It is true that all our rooms are not yet completely renovated. However, the rooms and public areas are in constant renewal periods. 45 rooms and suites have been completely re-decorated. The Art Deco spirit of the Hotel has been carefully preserved by the interior designer, Marc Hertrich. Pictures of "See View Deluxe" room and Suite are available on our website. Pictures of all other room categories are also available.

In addition, we are pleased to announce you that further work will be planned, soon.

Otherwise, we are sorry to hear that you have not been informed that the Espresso, Café Latte and Cappuccino were served at breakfast, on request, at the Relais restaurant and on the terraces.

For information, our Gastronomic Restaurant, La Palme d'Or, will re-open on March 5th with a new Menu.

Please rest assured that the comfort and the satisfaction of our guests is our first preoccupation. You will be always more than welcome.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed here along la croisette very nice room, great service all round check in smooth less , the beach bar restaurant very good overall great place will return. The children loved the beach and there were plenty of beach toys for them to play with.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martino B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amvmartinez, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your satisfaction following your last vacation Grand Hyatt Hotel Martinez Cannes. We hope to see you soon. Summer is near, and as usual, our team will reserved a warm welcome for families.

Best regards,

Karine
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I Liked :
+ Location - closer to city centre (abt 10 mins walking), right in front of the promenade with great view and a couple of good Italian restaurants right outside the hotel
+ Staff - very cooperative and professional staff as expected from a Hyatt hotel....Gregory at the concierge desk deserves a special mention for his perfect tips on tourism in Cannes and his smiling face ;p
+ Property - good property nicely spread out with spacious rooms (ensure you ask for the right room and view)

I Expect:
- Food & Bar - more options (particularly in vegetarian menu...due to which few of my colleagues had to struggle) and better pricing (bar n food was pretty expensive)
- No complimentary f&b items were offered (expect for a small bottle of water) especially considering we had a 2 week long corporate booking from our company

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank TK_explores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amvmartinez, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your comment after staying at the Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Your comments have been taken into account.

We look forward to welcoming you again, maybe next time during a family holiday.

Best regards,

Karine
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Cannes
JW Marriott Cannes
#15 of 126 in Cannes
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
552 reviews
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
0.6 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez

Address: 73 boulevard de la Croisette, 06400 Cannes, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cannes
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#23 Business Hotel in Cannes
#30 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
#32 Family Hotel in Cannes
Price Range: £165 - £943 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the exclusive Boulevard de la Croisette, overlooking the Mediterranean Sea, the Grand Hyatt Cannes Hôtel Martinez is one of the most iconic hotels on the French Riviera. Built in 1929, this legendary Art Deco hotel has 409 elegant rooms and suites, including a 1 000sqm Penthouse suite with breathtaking views over the Bay of Cannes. Renowned for its exquisite gourmet cuisine, the Grand Hyatt Cannes Hôtel Martinez boasts a variety of restaurants including the only 2-Michelin star restaurant in Cannes. During summer, the iconic Zplage private beach offers a beach club with a large pier, a bar and a restaurant. Leisure and activities include a outdoor heated swimming pool, a spa and a fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martinez Hotel Cannes
Hotel Martinez Cannes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing